We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The 1828 Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1828 Trail Inn
10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Nebo, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here during my 2009 C&O Canal adventure. Good location, center of town, close to restaurants and bike shop. Rooms were clean, there is laundry service and a generous breakfast with the price of the room. Will stay again. Highly recommended for those who are hiking or biking the local trails. The Town Tavern is across the street. I am sad to report that the best restaurant in town, The Lockhouse, is closed and now an antique shop. What a loss. Weaver’s is a block west and the Triangle Tavern-Restaurant and the Park-n-Dine are ½ mile east.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was on a 3-day bike ride from Cumberland to Washington, DC along the C&O Canal Trail. My first night's stay was in Hancock. Bill and Darlene the couple who runs the inn couldn't have been more hospitable. My bike was locked in a garage on the property. My room, the Canal View room , was quite spacious as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Even better was the private deck right off the bedroom.

There was a laundry room along with a refrigerator stocked with cold drinks.

Late in the afternoon cheese and crackers and cookies along with coffee and hot tea were put out for snacking. Breakfast the next morning was just perfect before hitting the trail for a day of riding. Not only were Bill and Darlene quite gracious, but Bill is one helluva cook/baker. I highly recommend staying at the 1828 Trail Inn over the run of the mill motel you might find in Hancock.

I would not hesitate to stay here in the future and highly recommend to any bikers or travelers staying overnight in Hancock, MD.

Room Tip: Canal view room has private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was riding as part of a group of five men riding from Pittsburgh to Washington DC on the GAP/C&O Trail. It was my second stay at the 1828 (the first was on a ride with my wife from DC to Pittsburgh the previous year) and it will NOT be my last.
I describe the 1828 Trail Inn as the ONE place on the trail that I MUST stay at, and I will arrange my trips to make sure we stop there! The rooms are VERY comfortable, regardless of if you are here for a stop on the trail or for a get-away weekend. The owners are very experienced in catering to bike riders and hikers, and provide a locked garage, a hose to clean off both bikes and body (if needed after a muddy ride), a convenient laundry room, extremely comfortable beds with private baths, and above all, their hospitality is unmatched.
The breakfast itself is worthy of high praise, and you will be delighted with the personally made and delicious offerings they serve. They ask in advance if you have any food allergies and go out of their way to make sure you will be pleased with your breakfast. It is my favorite breakfast on the trail.
The Inn is located about two blocks from the C&O Trail, and if you want to FIND something wrong with your stay, it is the steep hill standing between the trail and the lockable garage behind the Inn. However, taking on the hill is WELL worth the trouble, even after a long ride, and I highly recommend the 1828 to ANYBODY traveling through Hancock, regardless of their purpose.

Room Tip: The Doctor's Office is our favorite, but ALL of the rooms are very comfortable. If you want din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of a 3-day ride on the C&O Trail. This place is MADE for cyclists. Great shed to park the cycles and lock them up so they are secure. Great little guest room with laundry and drinks...and a first aid kit :) We stayed in "the doctor's room" with a wonderful king size bed. We slept like babies. Breakfast was outstanding with a nice egg soufflé with a little bite to it. The muffins we took to go were amazing. Treat yourself to a great night and a super starting in the morning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Traveling with 7others, riding the trail, we stayed here for 1 night. The hostess was very welcoming, we had cheese and biscuits, cake and coffee on arrival in the afternoon. The rooms were large, very well equipped and clean.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at 1828, 2 nights ago, a starting point for a 2nd leg to our C and O canal towpath ongoing adventure. We weren't able to show up until 11pm (meet up and dinner with biking partners prevailed)and I don't know if they'd want me to say they were still receptive and welcoming at that late hour, but they were!! Our loss as we didn't get to take advantage of the amenities...the living room, porch, our 2nd floor deck or our friends sitting room, but we delayed our start the next morning a bit to do so. I would advise you to arrive early enough to enjoy the close of the day. Our room (Canal Room)was huge with a gas fp and a door out to top deck with chairs, and a large bathroom. Queen leather and wood sleigh bed, very comfy...very quiet and spotless place! I hate to give up this jewel but I don't ever want them out of business! Oh and the southwest casserole with peach muffins were amazing, thanks Bill and Darlene!!

Room Tip: Come early to sit on decks or porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days riding our bicycles on the Western Maryland Bike Trail through Hancock. We stayed at The 1828 Trail Inn and we could not have chosen a more perfect place. The owners were very hospitable (cookies and tea late PM) and the breakfast was wonderful. AND the room we stayed in, The Doctor's Office, was fun and exciting - very comfortable.
I say exciting, because the B&B was actually a Doctor's residence 50+ years ago and his office was attached to the house - our room (no tools of the trade anymore). But, my wife recalled we had a friend in Baltimore that was originally from Hancock - we called her upon our return and she told us that at age 5, 75+ years ago, she had her tonsils out in that very room!
You will enjoy this place!

Room Tip: Ask fir the Doctor's Office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 1828 Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1828 Trail Inn

Address: 10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1828 Trail Inn overlooks the historic Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Potomac River. Named for the date of the beginning of the race between railroad and canal builders to open up commerce between Maryland and the Ohio River Valley, our Craftsman style home offers a comfortable base for biking, antiquing, sightseeing, or just relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, and we provide special services for bikers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1828 Trail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The 1828 Trail Inn to your Saves list