We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence at a reasonable price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1828 Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1828 Trail Inn
10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellence at a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days riding our bicycles on the Western Maryland Bike Trail through Hancock. We stayed at The 1828 Trail Inn and we could not have chosen a more perfect place. The owners were very hospitable (cookies and tea late PM) and the breakfast was wonderful. AND the room we stayed in, The Doctor's Office, was fun and exciting - very comfortable.
I say exciting, because the B&B was actually a Doctor's residence 50+ years ago and his office was attached to the house - our room (no tools of the trade anymore). But, my wife recalled we had a friend in Baltimore that was originally from Hancock - we called her upon our return and she told us that at age 5, 75+ years ago, she had her tonsils out in that very room!
You will enjoy this place!

Room Tip: Ask fir the Doctor's Office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fairfax
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spent the weekend at this wonderful B&B while biking on the western Maryland Rail Trail and the C &O canal. The inn keepers Bill and Darlene were professional, gracious and friendly; delicious wholesome breakfasts, muffins to take on the trail:). The inn is very clean and comfortable, we stayed in the Railroad Room which has a porch and its own door outside- very comfortable. You can lock your bikes in a safe shed overnight- they are used to folks biking through town and are very accommodating. I highly recommend this Inn if you are in Hancock MD.

Room Tip: Loved the porch on the Railroad Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a wonderful oasis after a long day on the C&O. Secure bike storage, a wonderful room, spacious bathroom, cold water and Gatorade in the room. Darlene is very welcoming and handled our reservation very professionally. In the late afternoon we were able to visit with other guests in the living room and meet with Bill. The front porch is also a very comfortable and inviting space. Bill and Darlene are veteran hosts and are very welcoming. Bill fixes a great breakfast using locally grown and raised ingredients. We enjoyed talking to them about the Inn and the story of the place. This is a place to sit and relax, but we had more trail to cover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Darlene and Bill operate an outstanding B&B that I would return to every time I'm on the C&O Canal trail. Not only is the property well maintained, the home is large and very accommodating for bikers and others. They have a secure facility for washing and storing the bikes. The amenities including Gatorade and water in every room as an extra benefit. Finally, Bill provided all guests with the best breakfast I have EVER tasted at a B&B. So, if you are in the area, stop and say hello to Darlene and Bill - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I first stayed at the inn in September of 2012 while biking from Pittsburgh to D.C. and loved it. We decided we wanted to go back to the area and visit the attractions you just have to pass by while biking to your next destination and we knew exactly where we were going to stay. We were welcomed back like old friends and able to enjoy the Inn a little bit more because this time we stayed two days. We biked the Western Maryland Trail and biked down to Fort Fredrick and spent a few hours there. We also spent some time in Fredrick and then left the Inn and traveled to Harpers Ferry for the day. It was a wonderful place to stay while enjoying the plethora of history in the area. Thanks Darlene and Bill I'm sure we will be seeing you again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful decorated it just depends on your needs they have a very basic room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our experience with Darlene at 1828 Trail Inn has been exemplary. From our first call to inquire about reservations until we checked out after our stay, she was incredibly helpful.
She advised us of the Western Maryland Rail Trail that parallels the C&O Towpath for the last twelve miles into Hancock from the west. It was a welcome relief to be on a paved pathway after 210 miles on the gravel paths of the Greater Allegheny Passage and the C&O. There was locked strange for our bicycles and free use of a washer and dryer.
Her husband prepared a wonderful breakfast of a croissant omelette and Darlene was his server and sent us on our way with some oatmeal raison muffins for a snack. What a great way to begin the day.
Steve and Diana

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We discovered the 1828 Trail Inn during our bike trip from Pittsburgh to Washington DC in 2009. To our delight, the Trail Inn (within easy walking distance of the WMRT and the C&O Towpath) provided generous accommodations. We stayed in a spacious, beautifully appointed, second floor room which overlooks the C&O Canal as well as the surrounding parkland. Even the bathroom is spacious! A laundry and refrigerator are literally across the hall. Bikes can be locked up in a clean outbuilding. There is a wrap-around front porch for relaxing as well as a comfortable commons room.

We have returned to the Inn several times. Its close proximity to Berkeley Springs is an additional draw. Even with all of the accommodations in Berkeley Springs has to offer, we would never consider staying anywhere but the 1828 Trail Inn. It has started to feel like a second home to us. And, NEW THIS YEAR, 2013 – a private deck and entrance were added to our room! Talk about another luxurious treat! The deck is spacious and a great place to enjoy the view (probably best view in the place) while sipping a glass of wine at the end of a long day.

Bill and Darlene are indispensable to the charm of the Trail Inn. They do everything possible to make our stays pleasant and comfortable. A phenomenal breakfast awaits guests each morning. Bill has a real gift for the kitchen. We love his Southwest Casserole! In season, there are even homegrown strawberries. No one goes away hungry. Bikers, have no fear, this place is for you. Once when I suffered an ankle injury, Darlene kept the ice packs coming until the swelling had gone down. My own mother couldn’t have done a better job. We have never experienced the same level of genuine friendliness and hospitality at another bed and breakfast anywhere we have traveled.

After all these years, we thought we should share our experience with others. Whether you are a trail rider or just looking for a pleasant place to spend a leisurely weekend, we enthusiastically recommend the 1828 Trail Inn.

Room Tip: While some rooms may suite personal needs and taste more than others, all are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 1828 Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1828 Trail Inn

Address: 10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1828 Trail Inn overlooks the historic Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Potomac River. Named for the date of the beginning of the race between railroad and canal builders to open up commerce between Maryland and the Ohio River Valley, our Craftsman style home offers a comfortable base for biking, antiquing, sightseeing, or just relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, and we provide special services for bikers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1828 Trail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The 1828 Trail Inn to your Saves list