We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B on the GAP/C&O route” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1828 Trail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 1828 Trail Inn
Save
You added The 1828 Trail Inn to your Saves list
10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B on the GAP/C&O route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We're a middle-aged couple, rode from Homestead PA to DC, lots of rain and mud along the way. This was the best stay on the way, not even close. Bill came out to meet us, invited us to hose off our bikes and store them in the shed, gave us towels to wipe down panniers, showed us to laundry, newspapers for shoes, etc. The suite, and the whole place, is beautifully decorated with real antiques and really clean. Darlene makes sure you have everything you need to get you to your next stop. Breakfast is like a good country restaurant. We would stay here even if we weren't riding the trail, but it is a must for trail riders.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We showed up at the B&B after a day of riding from Cumberland in the rain and our bikes and us were covered with mud. We went to the B&B to get a suggestion of where to go to get cleaned up and Darlene came up with a hand full of towels and showed us where the hose was and had us cleaned up in 20 min. It also took me about that long to go from feeling so out of place showing up at the beautiful B&B covered in mud to feeling like I was staying with one of my good friends. Darlene was able to make you feel right at home helping us get cleaned up and giving us info on the trail. Our room (The Doctors Suite) was beautiful and we had lots of room. The next day Bill cooked us a fantastic breakfast an egg dish keeping in mind we would be biking for the day. This is the place to stay in Hancock you will leave with a smile on your face.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the 1828 Trail Inn in early August in route to Pennsylvania. Darlene and Bill are fantastic hosts. Darlene went above and beyond in making sure we were very comfortable! The afternoon snacks were great and Bill's egg breakfast and pumpkin pecan muffins were delicious. We hope to go back in October to ride the Western Maryland Trail.

Room Tip: The Railroad Room was very comfy and has a private porch to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We biked all the way from Pittsburgh, and stayed in Meyersdale the previous night (103 miles away). By the time we got to 1828 Inn in Hancock, we were very tired but made it by 7 pm, the check-in time. Darlene met us in the entrance with a big smile. She was very helpful with lots of advices before we arrived. She showed us to a shed where we kept our bikes overnight and then to a lovely dining room with the coffee and crackers waiting on the table. The house is beautiful (Southern style) and very clean. Our suite had a large comfortable bed, a large bathroom and a small sitting room with a TV, very convenient to unpack our bags. There was also a laundry room (a great asset!) and a communal fridge stocked with sports drinks etc. Very thoughtful! The only problem was the dinner as the nearby restaurants were closed already and we walked ~1.5 mile along the dark road to Tri-Angle, a local pub. Food turned out to be surprisingly tasty, but the real bonus was to meet local people who were very friendly. They even offered us a ride back to our inn. If not for this ride, we would have been quite miserable…our leg muscles were really aching by then. In the morning we had a hearty breakfast (egg soufflé), Southern style, and blueberry muffins. Darlene kept on smiling…Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: we stayed on the side which was quieter than the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a really beutiful B&B very near the C&O aboult half way between Cumberland and Harpers Ferry. They are accustomed to cyclists, ready with a hose for the mud and a separate locked shed for bikes. The room are very nice, with clean modern bathrooms. The innkeepers are very friendly, really seem to enjoy meeting new guests, and rightfully proud of this restored building. The breakfast was delicious, and thoughtfully came with a baggie to pack up an extra muffin for the trail.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Everything about the 1828 Trail Inn was enjoyable. Darlene was a most gracious host. The inn was beautiful, peaceful, and simply pleasant blade to be after a long day of biking. Breakfast was delicious and the laundry facilities were a were a wonderful bonus, much appreciated because the canal trail is often muddy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I (blistered feet) stayed at the 1828 Trail Inn a week or so ago during our hike of the C&O Canal. Great decision. It is located just off the canal near restaurants and shopping. The owners were unobtrusive yet very accommodating. Never having stayed at a B&B, I was leery. Now I am a convert. The price is reasonable when you factor in a great breakfast, free, convenient laundry service and other extras not available in motels. It is great for bikers also.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms (2) near laundry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1828 Trail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1828 Trail Inn

Address: 10 West Main Street, Hancock, MD 21750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1828 Trail Inn overlooks the historic Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Potomac River. Named for the date of the beginning of the race between railroad and canal builders to open up commerce between Maryland and the Ohio River Valley, our Craftsman style home offers a comfortable base for biking, antiquing, sightseeing, or just relaxing. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance, and we provide special services for bikers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1828 Trail Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.