We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for bikers and anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverrun Bed & Breakfast

Riverrun Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverrun Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Riverrun Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
7 South Taney Street, Hancock, MD 21750   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for bikers and anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very much enjoyed my stay at riverrun. very convenient to both c&o canal and western md railtrail. clean room, updated room, loved the mac with the big screen. Breakfast was solid. Overall strongly recommended. cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: stayed in room 5 but good only for solo
See more room tips
Green Features: seemed very eco friendly with rain water sourced garden hose, etc. nice touch.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Alistair and Susan are the perfect hosts. They are just kind enough to be interested in conversation, but never are overbearing. The bedrooms are perfectly sized and the private bathrooms are impeccably with showers, soap, shampoo, conditioner, over-sized towels, ect. The frig is always well stocked and Susan's breakfast is just right, not too heavy to get back on the trail. The basement (and air conditioned) storage for bicycles with water hose and clean rags is perfect. This is our second stay and won't be our last.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Susan,

Thank you for accomodating us in your wonderful Bed and Breakfast. I know it was short notice and we are so grateful. The breakfast was great and the Cherry Preserves were THE best. I am still thinking about them.

What I like about this Bed and Breakfast:
1.) Use of washer and dryer
2.) Sitting room on the upper floor - quite nice.
3.) Use of computer in the common area - Love
4.) The Building faces the Canal and is a block from the C&O Bike Shop - Love
5.) The bathrooms are generous

The building use to be a warehouse and the remodel was done well. Bike storage is secure. A plus! riverrun is right around the corner from Weaver's.

Room Tip: We had the queen room which is on the parking lot side of teh building. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

All of the previous comments we say "DITTO" to!! Would come back here for sure while exploring all of the surrounding hills, towns and destinations. Came off the trail too, loved bike storage, parking, hardwood, sparkling walls, bedding, beds and fluffy towels. I do like a hearty, hot breakfast but simple and light is ok too with fruit dish, and english muffins, deviled eggs, coffee and juice. We will recommend...5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Two of us stayed here on Pittsburgh to DC trip. Nothing but good to say about the place and the hosts. However, if you get to Hancock too late you might have trouble finding a place to eat, we did. we each had a room with ensuite bathroom. We were the only ones there. There was a washer and dryer near the rooms on second floor. Bike wash and secure storage on site. Perfect location on trail, bike shop one block away. Very quiet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Three of us spent the night here recently on our way down the C&O canal from Cumberland to Washington. This place was a sight for sore eyes as we entered Hancock, it is literally right on the canal. The building used to be a whiskey warehouse back in the day. The owners did a great job renovating the space to provide modern living space. Each room has a private bath. The family room is on the top floor overlooking the canal and is a very comfortable place to read a book or play the acoustic guitar that is there. The Inn Keepers are very nice and provided everything we needed to be comfortable and an excellent breakfast before we left the next morning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night during the week during a Pittsburgh to DC bike trip. Location couldn't be more convenient, right off the trail, and Sinclair was right over to help us get settled in. The secure basement for bike storage and hose for washing down muddy bikes were easily accessible and the house (an old whiskey storehouse) is beautifully restored inside and out. The lounge room on the upper level was perfect for taking it easy in the evening and there's a nice iMac for Internet use and DVD or Netflix movies. There's even a balcony right off the lounge overlooking the canal. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very nice and clean and the beds comfortable. Sinclair was over in the morning to make a tasty breakfast of eggs made to order, canadian bacon, english muffins, fresh fruit salad, juice, and coffee. The house is only a few blocks from the main drag and conveniences like a liquor store, grocery store, and a Sheetz. There's one restaurant (closes at 8pm though), a Subway, and a place to order pizza delivery. Overall a great place to stay and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverrun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverrun Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 South Taney Street, Hancock, MD 21750
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverrun Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.