We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverrun Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverrun Bed & Breakfast
7 South Taney Street, Hancock, MD 21750   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hancock B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A friend and I were biking the B&O canal and needed a place to stay close to the trail. This is right between the Western Maryland Rail Trail and the Canal Path and in the center of town. The B&B is run by Sinclair and his wife Sue. Sinclair met us and got us settled in. We were the only guests that night. The room and bathrooms were very clean. The locked bike storage area was in the basement with pumps and bike cleaning rags. Both the kitchen and the upstairs common area have great views of the canal. It is tastefully decorated. We enjoyed our 1 night stay! Sue cooked us a nice breakfast of eggs, Canadian bacon, with English muffins and coffee.

Room Tip: We slept in the minimalist room. It was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Riverrun is perfectly located between the C & O towpath and the Western Maryland Rail Trail, with views of the canal from the rooms, a cheery open kitchen and a beautiful common space. Our room was impeccably clean and well-appointed. The host was interesting and friendly while remaining respectful of our personal space. He even helped us fix a flat on one of our bikes--truly above and beyond!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are biking or hiking on the C & O Canal, this is the only place in Hancock you want to stay. The entire place was converted to a B & B about three years ago and it's all new inside. While it isn't fancy, it is bright and cheery. And it sits right on the WMRT and the C & O. The day we arrived there were snacks waiting for us, along with a nice storage area for our bikes. This is a low key place. The owners don't live on site and they are willing to leave you alone.if that is what you prefer.
While our host - Sinclair - was willing to make breakfast, he had no problem with us using the kitchen and making our own.
The only problem we had was finding a decent place to eat in Hancock. Since the kitchen facilities are available at Riverrun, so will find it better to buy groceries and cook at the B & B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was doing a trip from DC to Pittsburgh and stayed at the Riverrrun B and B for one night. The facilities were f=very good and the rooms were clean and large. We had encountered a storm between Harpers Ferry and Hancock and were covered in mud and the storage room and bike wash facility was a true bonus.
Breakfast was delicious and the owners were a great help for allowing me to download my Garmin data onto Garmin connect so that I did not lose the information on my bike computer which would have overwritten the previous data. Anyway if you need to connect your Garmin the computer is now able to do it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We biked the C&O canal from DC to Cumberland and our second night's stay was in Hancock.
The Inn was clean, and we washed our bikes out back.
The iced tea was exactly what we needed after a hot, humid day on the C&O canal.
Room and ammenities could not have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My friends and I biked 60 miles from Cumberland to Hancock for part of a two-day trip. We were delighted to find this bed and breakfast within view of the canal (previously researched, but readily located). It was clean and pretty. It is three years old (as of 2012) and was renovated by the owners. There are pretty, dark wood floors, tall ceilings and nice furniture. We added a fold-up bed ($25) to the chimney room so the three of us could stay together. While the beds were not plush, they were adequate. The bathroom for the chimney room was well-lit by a large window and was very clean. There was shampoo/conditioner/soap in a dispenser that all smelled wonderful (products from Aromatics)! There are about 8 rooms in the B&B. There were only two rooms occupied by bikers, which surprised me a bit, especially on a holiday weekend. We stored our bikes in the locked basement. After dinner, we passed some time playing boggle. It was the only game available in the great room. I wouldn't have minded a few more options. However, the great room was comfortable and pretty with a small balcony overlooking the canal. There is an interesting set of books on the bookshelves reflecting the artistic preferences of the owners. I enjoyed perusing the titles. Breakfast was good. It started off with grapefruit, bananas and a little bit of orange juice in a pretty glass cup. Then, fresh english muffins, warmed canadian bacon, deviled eggs, and yogurt.

Room Tip: We stayed in the chimney room. It is on the main floor, next to where breakfast is served and near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

After a long day biking through some mud on the C&O, it was nice to pull into the Riverrun. Got a key to the back to wash and store the bike while Sinclair walked over to show me my room. Had the place to myself for the stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the common rooms had a great view just looking out on the Canal. Watched a little Internet TV on the computer. Had late lunch at Weavers. Walked a bit of the Canal.

Breakfast was a little disappointing. Instead of fresh cooked eggs or something, it was refrigerated deviled eggs and some warmed bacon. But good enough for the fuel tank I guess.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinclairHamilton, Owner at Riverrun Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I am sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast. We do note on our website that we serve a continental breakfast. Our typical "extended" continental breakfast includes deviled eggs, cereal, locally smoked canadian bacon, cheese, vegetarian sausage, muffins, toast, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverrun Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverrun Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 South Taney Street, Hancock, MD 21750
Location: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverrun Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riverrun Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list