We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1716 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6635   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Fleetwood, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing to say the least.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was under extreme renovation and should have let customers know upon making renovations what was going on. The odors and sounds were overwhelming and make people with allergies and multiple chemical sensitivity very ill. It's just courteous to let people know so they can opt for another place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask when making a reservation if they are renovating, and also how up to date their facilities are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. We take very seriously the comments posted here and will address your concerns. We are nearing completion of our renovation and invite you to come back and enjoy our brand new hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    59
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
66
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a goup of approximately 25 for a conference. The stay was for 3 nights and we never had any complaints. The hotel was clean, the free breakfast was great, and the staff was awesome! We'll definitely be staying here in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for using our hotel. I will pass your kind words along to our staff. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

convenient location, many food places near by there is liquor store in walking distance to pick up some brew. Room is bit smaller than typical Hampton inn but expect same quality and service. Place is under construction and can small paint in the hallway but not enough to complaint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are located near many restaurants and outlet shopping. Our lobby renovation is complete and the rooms will be finished shortly. Thanks for the review and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just a quick overnight trip to attend a volleyball tournament. The management team greeted us (2 adults, 2 teens) upon arrival. The service was top-notch. The room was excellent!! The complementary breakfast was all the goodness I've come to expect from Hampton Inn. The only detractor was the renovations in the lobby area which are currently underway. Those renovations impacted the availability of the breakfast and lounge area...ONce they are complete, the place will look beautiful!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem removed from the main road...so any room is a good room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our lobby and breakfast area are completed and it did turn out beautiful. Thanks again for staying with us and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TICONDEROGA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We used this hotel because it was available for the number of Hilton Honors points that we had. However, it is completely on the opposite side of Hagerstown from I-81 on which we were traveling. It is also not necessarily near any of the restaurants recommended by Tripadvisor. There was some construction going on in the lobby area, but it did not cause any inconvenience. Since we were there the night of January1, there were not many customers. There was convenient parking at the rear of the hotel. Otherwise, the hotel was certainly up to the standards that I expect of a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: I have found that the mechanical works on the roof of a hotel cause the top floor rooms to be unusua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are located right off of Interstate 70 but several miles off of interstate 81. Our "top to bottom" remodel will be completed shortly and we believe that we will have the nicest accommodations in Hagerstown. Please try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I´ve choosen Hotel Hampton Inn when I travel as alway before it has been very nice and we have had a pleasant stay. But me and my husband arrived very late to this hotel in Hagerstown on our way to the Lakes, And to stay for only one night! There were bugs everywhere - I didn´t unpack anything which was not my intention, so it didn´t matter. But early morning I was so glad to get away from this hotel as I only stayed couple of hours! Never ever again! This hotel definately needs a renovation ASAP!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and have addressed the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for our trip to Antietam. It is an older facility and probably needs updates. The hot and cold water is reversed (glad I didn't have kids with me), the bathroom exhaust was not the great and overall the rooms were small. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to comment on our stay. I hope you enjoyed your time at the Antietam Battlefield. Please stay with us again on your next trip to Hagerstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hagerstown

Address: 1716 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#2 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in the area for business or pleasure, the Hampton Inn Hagerstown is the perfect place to stay. A short 10 miles from the Washington County Regional Airport and 2 miles from downtown, this hotel provides easy access to any Hagerstown destination. Start your day with a free hot breakfast before hitting the town to talk in all the historical attractions. When the day is done, wind down with a dip in the pool or a run in the fitness center before settling in your clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Hagerstown
Hagerstown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.