We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but so-so accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Mineola, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice staff but so-so accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was there for a conference with a large group of friends in September 2013. The hotel is musty smelling and not easy to navigate. Apparently the indoor pool used to be an outdoor pool in the center atrium of the hotel and when they renovated they didn't do enough to ventilate the heat and smell of chlorine coming from that area. The hotel itself is a maze and very hard to get around.
I had to ask to change rooms the first night I was there because our room window faced an indoor hallway where people would smoke and the smoke came in our room through the air conditioner making everything in the room smell like smoke, including our clothes.
The staff is awesome as they did everything in their power to make our stay a better one.
The conference will be there again and I will stay, but this time I am prepared .

Room Tip: Make sure your room window faces the outside, not an inside hallway. Try to get a room far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    17
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
32
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were on a bus tour and we stayed there on two different nights within a weeks time. Great Bar and very friendly people. Good food/ Breakfast was okey for a quick bite. Indoor pool was very nice.Easy access from our destination.

Room Tip: Good hotel, nice indoor heated pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms have been updated at least on 1st floor. Nice decor, good mattress, new bathroom. Breakfast is served by the pool which can be somewhat humid. The red brick building behind the Clarion, labeled building E, is not very attractive and detracts from the appearance of the rest of the hotel. The restaurant next door, Barefoot Bernies, has good food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped for one night while heading south on 81.[ Hotel was about 3 miles from the exit. Easy to get back to 81 via 70 W.] Good value with senior discount. Senior rate for king rm was $63. Linens were spotless, comfortable pillows and mattress top, room smelled fresh and AC was quiet. Appliances all in working order. We had dinner at the restaurant on site, which was very convenient after a long day on the road. Breakfast was not as good as some choice hotels, but enough to start our day for sure. For that rate, we can forgive the breakfast buffet being average. This is an interior corridor hotel. We had first floor and that was convenient. Not sure about upper floor access. Did not use pool or exercise areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in my way from Washington DC to Morgan town WV. The hotel is located just before entering the town in a large shopping street. The lobby is nice and the rooms are large but have some moisture smell. The hotel has small swimming pool. The breakfast is included in the price and was OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here while driving a large rental truck cross-country. The good thing I can say about this hotel is that the parking lot was large enough for our truck. As for the hotel interior, the corridors are not air conditioned, so on the hot, humid day we were there, the air was stifling. In the center of the hotel is what they call the "Atrium." It houses the pool and the breakfast area. It was impossible to eat breakfast in such a hot, humid location, so we skipped the free (and not very-good looking) breakfast and headed down the road to Cracker Barrel. Our room as dingy, but not dirty. The hotel served its purpose--a place to sleep with room to park a truck--but nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lobby looked great upon arrival but proved to be the "Lipstick on the Pig". Was assigned to a second floor room only to find out the hotel did not have ANY elevators. Lugged my cooler and baggage up to room via the stairs. Room was adequate but certainly nothing to write home about. The complimentary breakfast was bargain basement stuff. The most disturbing thing was the dirty floors throughout the halls and other tiled areas. They looked as though they hadn't seen a good mopping in quite some time and dirty, rounded corners were the norm. I'll not be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Address: 901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel under $3 million renovation to be completed end June 2008. Located on the edge of downtown historic Hagerstown, MD. Off I-70. Minutes from I-81 Complimentary Deluxe Continental breakfast. Pool Bar. Landscaped gardens with rare water features. Beautiful new meeting rooms. Executive Business Suite and Board Room. Many choices available for meetings of all sizes and types. Full food and Beverage service. Perfect for Weddings, Receptions, Reunions, Business Meetings or just relaxing with the family and swimming in our heated indoor pool. Private Parking. Beautiful tropical atrium with heated indoor pool. Free Internet. Business Center. Want comfort and Luxury -as well as friendly and hospitable service - then come stay with us. New Photos will be posted as renovation proceeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Hagerstown
Clarion Hagerstown
Hagerstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.