We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed -” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Hagerstown
Crisfield, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed -”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lobby looked great upon arrival but proved to be the "Lipstick on the Pig". Was assigned to a second floor room only to find out the hotel did not have ANY elevators. Lugged my cooler and baggage up to room via the stairs. Room was adequate but certainly nothing to write home about. The complimentary breakfast was bargain basement stuff. The most disturbing thing was the dirty floors throughout the halls and other tiled areas. They looked as though they hadn't seen a good mopping in quite some time and dirty, rounded corners were the norm. I'll not be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
21
31
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It is not only dirty, but this haunted! believe it or not, I was in the room. 255 and my husband heard noises in the bathroom mirror and wall, went out to look for the hotel's bar, but the atmosphere in the corridors were desolate and very heavy atmosphere. The most gloomy was early in the morning around 3:00 am when I saw that the light was turned on, and left it as well, but there was music that only I listened to and didn't let me sleep. When we finally left the hotel in the morning, to my surprise my son tells me that the saw a girl dressed in white against the bathroom.. .mi son is very analytical and if he says that 100% i believe him...so scare! i will never return to that hotel, much less room 255 never I will forget that horrible experience

Room Tip: never pick room 255 unless you want to sleep with a girl ghost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Front lobby looks good. I am handicapped and was never even offered help with baggage. Room smells damp and mildewed, reported this and was told its new air freshener. Stay away. Avoid this dump. Clarion is taking lessons from Motel 6. TV remote is broken. They have some ordered. Black mold on bathroom ceiling and the room refrigerator is not working also because the ice box is frozen solid. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Knoxville last night, like two different worlds. Never again will i stay at a Clarion or any of their affiliates

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention. The conference center next door is a fine. The lobby is lovely. After that, the hotel is a dump. Start with only one soft drink machine in the entire hotel. The front desk actually told me "we had to remove them all due to vandalism". No gift shop up front to buy drinks. No full time restaurant available.

One elevator in the very, very far back corner of the hotel. Halls are very hot. The elevator is worse - Dante's Inferno. Bathtub stained and dirty. Shower curtain stained and dirty. Hotel halls stink. Do Not Stay Here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location and friendly service at a very reasonable rate. My girlfriend and I have stayed here several times, and we plan to return. The rooms are spacious and clean and the complimentary breakfast is very good. The location puts you very close to shopping and great restaurant choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are choice hotels members and if we have a choice of a Clarion vs Others in group for a reasonable price, we choose Clarion. We were on our way home from a two week trip including a civil war reenactment in Gettysburg, visit with family in Chattanooga TN and Somerset KY and we stayed at Comfort Inns along the way. We knew we could not make it all the way to CT so I booked this hotel, it was late so I did not check Trip Advisor, big mistake! We booked a king room, there was a wet dirty wash cloth in the shower, the bed was very soft, the bed ruffle was dragging on the floor, the refrigerator was old, the freezer section was open and filled with ice which was leaking into the refrigerator. They offer you a continental breakfast which is near the indoor pool, it was so hot in there that if you wanted to eat the rubber eggs you couldn't! The juice machine was broken, there was no coffee and no one around. There was garbage overflowing into the parking area. They claim they just completed a $5 million renovation, other than the lobby I do not know what they spent it on! The parking lot has pot holes which was not repaired but covered over. They claim to be right off I-81 but they are not, you have to drive through less desirable sections of Hagerstown to get to it. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here, it is definitely not up to expectations for a Clarion!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel to begin with was an inconvienent place to get to but I thought it was going to be nice buy the look of the lobby. The pool is beautiful but VERY hot and humid but it still is nothing compaired to the hallways, elevators, and computer room which were like a sauna. The beds are comfy but the blankets barely fit on the beds so if you like to have blankets when you sleep be prepaired to wake up every few hours to put them back on your bed. Breakfast was another disappointment. You have to eat next to the pool so you smell chlorine the whole time and the only hot thing there is to eat is plain oatmeal. The hotel is dirty too. Over alot of the doors i saw spider weds and there is i big mirror in the hallway and that was just filled with handprints. There are also no exaust vents in the bathrooms so in my room at least there was mold growing on the wall because it never got dryed out, the shower curtians dont quite fit the tub so if you take a shower be ready for a ton of water on the floor. There is no maintanence after ten at night either so if something breaks at night you're screwed until morning. The personal are about as rude as can be also. I will NEVER stay at this place again and I recomend you don't either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Hagerstown
Clarion Hagerstown
Hagerstown Clarion
Address: 901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel under $3 million renovation to be completed end June 2008. Located on the edge of downtown historic Hagerstown, MD. Off I-70. Minutes from I-81 Complimentary Deluxe Continental breakfast. Pool Bar. Landscaped gardens with rare water features. Beautiful new meeting rooms. Executive Business Suite and Board Room. Many choices available for meetings of all sizes and types. Full food and Beverage service. Perfect for Weddings, Receptions, Reunions, Business Meetings or just relaxing with the family and swimming in our heated indoor pool. Private Parking. Beautiful tropical atrium with heated indoor pool. Free Internet. Business Center. Want comfort and Luxury -as well as friendly and hospitable service - then come stay with us. New Photos will be posted as renovation proceeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.