We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel to begin with was an inconvienent place to get to but I thought it was going to be nice buy the look of the lobby. The pool is beautiful but VERY hot and humid but it still is nothing compaired to the hallways, elevators, and computer room which were like a sauna. The beds are comfy but the blankets barely fit on the beds so if you like to have blankets when you sleep be prepaired to wake up every few hours to put them back on your bed. Breakfast was another disappointment. You have to eat next to the pool so you smell chlorine the whole time and the only hot thing there is to eat is plain oatmeal. The hotel is dirty too. Over alot of the doors i saw spider weds and there is i big mirror in the hallway and that was just filled with handprints. There are also no exaust vents in the bathrooms so in my room at least there was mold growing on the wall because it never got dryed out, the shower curtians dont quite fit the tub so if you take a shower be ready for a ton of water on the floor. There is no maintanence after ten at night either so if something breaks at night you're screwed until morning. The personal are about as rude as can be also. I will NEVER stay at this place again and I recomend you don't either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    18
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
32
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was disappointed from the get go by not receiving much of a greeting. The young lady barely looked up as we stood at the counter. We were advised to drive to the back of the building although our second floor room was closer to the middle of the hotel. We found out that was because the ONLY elevator in the building was in the back (see photo).None of the exterior doors are secured. The hallways were sultry (no sign of a vent anywhere). Paint chipped off the door. Unknown stains in the room (see photo) and the refrigerator doesn't appear to be working. Freezer needs defrosted, yet refrigerator area is warm. The safe in the room doesn't work (may just need batteries). Furniture is marred and dated. Old fashioned TV (not flat screened) Air condition is great, very cold. Bed is comfortable. Overall, disappointing for the price and brand name.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel it was obvious that it was an older Clarion, the outside was dated and not attractive. However entering the lobby, it was well maintained and clean, but for their prices you would think they could afford air conditioning in the public areas. The hallways and elevator was like a hot box, and don't even think of sitting around the indoor pool. It was like a sauna walking around in the pool atrium. The design of having inside balconies with a scenic overlook of the pool was a great idea in theory, but in practicality, it stinks. Having all those a/c units blowing warm air into the pool area only added to the heat. The rooms were clean and well proportioned. The breakfast was another disappointment. Powdered eggs and fake sausage, wow. But it was so hot, because the breakfast area is beside the pool, it was impossible for the limited food choices to get cold. I would not choose to stay at this property in the future unless it was mandatory or no where else to stay. Customer service was some of the worst I have ever encountered and they didn't seem to care. Buyer/traveler beware.

Room Tip: One with a really good a/c unit, you'll need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

our recent stay at this hotel for a convention was quite enjoyable. The staff was so over-the-top in accommodating our needs that I had to write a review. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot rate their restaurants. I would def stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As far as this type of hotel goes several things were well above average and expectation, Received a lot of help and great service from Karen. Rooms clean, well appointed, pool rather over chlorinated the smell of which permeated everything. Someone needs to learn to make coffee, the breakfast and all day comp coffee was so weak it was really just colored water.
Everything else though good, and in a good state of repair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Parking lot had some parts that were lit up but some parts were dark and could use the lighting. Check In, we had to wait until we were acknowledged. If you had prepaid, they didn't care for you, as they already had their money. Room could have been cleaner. The door in our hotel had a huge gap around the frame, especially at the bottom and on the side, at least one inch. The floors had not been vacuumed very well, as the dirt was thick within the crevices. The bathroom tub was heavily stained black and mildewed. The bathroom set up was very cramped. When the door opens, it's right at the toilet. Barely slept in the bed as the sheets were itchy and smelled. The A/C was a window unit that blew out smelly air. Definitely not a noise proof hotel. Breakfast wasn't bad, but played it safe by eating cereal and fruit. Do yourself a favor and sleep/stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for a little getaway. We had planned on going to dinner, shopping and possible out for a few drinks, so we didnt want to drive all the way home. When we arrived to check in, the front desk attendent was very rude. It had seemed like we were interrupting her for some reason. She handed me our key cards and sent us on our way. The hotel is fairly large, so I had no idea where I was headed. Had to ask, on several separate occasions, where and when things were located (including our room). After some exploring, we found that there is a bar/resaurant and a night club attached to the hotel itself. This would have been good to know upon check in. However, we did have a wonderful time in both. We didn't even have to leave the hotel in order to enjoy an evening out! There is also a very large pool in the very center of the hotel. Our room was poolside so all we had to do was go through the sliding glass door in our room. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy! All in all, we had a wonderful time and were very happy with our stay. At checkout, the manager was very friendly and apologetic about the rude employee the night before and assured me she would address the issue. Needless to say, we will defiitely be back for another stay.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Address: 901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel under $3 million renovation to be completed end June 2008. Located on the edge of downtown historic Hagerstown, MD. Off I-70. Minutes from I-81 Complimentary Deluxe Continental breakfast. Pool Bar. Landscaped gardens with rare water features. Beautiful new meeting rooms. Executive Business Suite and Board Room. Many choices available for meetings of all sizes and types. Full food and Beverage service. Perfect for Weddings, Receptions, Reunions, Business Meetings or just relaxing with the family and swimming in our heated indoor pool. Private Parking. Beautiful tropical atrium with heated indoor pool. Free Internet. Business Center. Want comfort and Luxury -as well as friendly and hospitable service - then come stay with us. New Photos will be posted as renovation proceeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Hagerstown
Clarion Hagerstown
Hagerstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.