We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just all right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just all right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Room was ice cold with heater off when first walked in. The room was just all right. toilet was running and maintenance fixed it. Long hair in the sink. Ft desk did not give me password to log in free internet. When the heater fan is on, the drape catches the wind and looks like a billowing sail on the high seas. Old 4:3 TV does not pull out away from cabinet so when sitting at desk, cannot view ful screen. Desk chair squeeks when rocking back. Additional charge not mentioned at the desk was a $1.50 Safe w/ltd warranty charge. Nice indoor pool full of kids. Door was about 1/2" above the floor. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    17
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
32
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here at the last minute due to blizzard conditions. Rate was $49 including tax. For the price, it's perfectly fine. The breakfast is the worst breakfast I have seen at a hotel. Ever. "Fruit" was canned fruit cocktail dumped in a plastic bowl. "Waffle station" is a lone waffle iron with instructions and no batter. I talked to the staff and they did not care. Toast is a bag of sunbeam next to a toaster and no butter. The only acceptable food was small cruddy bagels and small, unrefrigerated containers of cream cheese. The breakfast is clearly there to make you leave faster. The room was perfectly fine and comfortable. The cable was out due to the storm, but it wasn't their fault. Also, the room had a coffeemaker and tea but no coffee! Would I stay there again? Sure. It is cheap and I am poor, and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Our tour made a quick stop due to a blizzard up ahead. We got very quick check in. Our room was clean, not modern but everything that was needed. My roommate noted dirt on door and heater in bathroom. Did not matter to me. Heater was not working. Plenty of towels. Free wifi. Very nice pool area, heated. Very nice lobby area, beautiful, I took pictures. It was connected by an indoor walkway to a eating place Barefoot Bernies,it had fantastic food. We had a very good breakfast included in the morning, biscuits and gravy, homemade waffles, fruit, cereals, juices, rolls. It was good and fresh. Can not do better than this for the price.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here on Wednesday, Dec. 5th, 2012. Although we didnt have reservations we had no problem getting a room. The staff we encountered were very, very friendly and helpful, we thank them very much for that. The public/shared areas of the property are super nice, well maintained and decorated. The pool and breakfast areas are very, very nice and would be great for the kids, an extended stay or to spend a little time with a book. The ability to walk to the sports bar (awesome food!) without going outside is a big plus. We requested and were given a King room next to the pool area. The room was clean and decorated as expected for an $80 room. Our 1st complaint is the very small size of the bathroom, the 2nd would be the noise from the pool area, which is to be expected if you get a room looking out into that area. The 3rd (does not effect overall rating) would be the complimentary breakfast, not very good but we cant complain too much about free stuff. We would probably stay here again ONLY because of the positive things mentioned above, and hope for a better room.

Room Tip: If you want absolute quiet, chose a room away from the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn Heights, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The stay was enjoyable and I can’t thank the management & the staff enough for the great service you extended.
We liked he availability of walking to the sports bar without having to go outside.
We’re looking forward to a return visit to your location in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Our room (253) was directly across from stairs-not a good location as we could hear people as they entered the floor. Room was clean but dated. Bathroom was more updated than the rest of room so this was a plus in my book.I HATE tubs and tile. None found here Very clean. Front desk was helpful. Conference facility is dated. Ive never been other facilities in the area, so I cannot compare, I have a feeling they may be similar. Nice that a restaurant is physically connected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELKTON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The Room needs updating. The bedspread had a hole in it. Room smelled musty but was fairly clean. If you have a meeting be prepared to walk, walk, walk to get from your room to the meeting rooms. No vending machine for snacks. They did have a pleasant staff and the breakfast was very nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown

Address: 901 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel under $3 million renovation to be completed end June 2008. Located on the edge of downtown historic Hagerstown, MD. Off I-70. Minutes from I-81 Complimentary Deluxe Continental breakfast. Pool Bar. Landscaped gardens with rare water features. Beautiful new meeting rooms. Executive Business Suite and Board Room. Many choices available for meetings of all sizes and types. Full food and Beverage service. Perfect for Weddings, Receptions, Reunions, Business Meetings or just relaxing with the family and swimming in our heated indoor pool. Private Parking. Beautiful tropical atrium with heated indoor pool. Free Internet. Business Center. Want comfort and Luxury -as well as friendly and hospitable service - then come stay with us. New Photos will be posted as renovation proceeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Hagerstown
Clarion Hagerstown
Hagerstown Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.