We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, price and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Underpass Way, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, price and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stopped in without reservations at about 7 pm after a long day of driving. The service was wonderful--the gentleman at the front desk was very accomodating and helped us get the best price between AAA and AARP discounts even though we were late arrivals. The Hotel and Restaurant are older, but very well kept. The room was comfortable and very clean. The Restaurant had super service and wonderful food. All the staff were very friendly, kind and helpful. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. In a place where there are tons of new hotels around, I would choose to stay at the Plaza and was glad to see an older hotel holding their own and offering the exceptional service one would expect from higher end hotels. Great value and great service!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    158
    52
    24
    13
See reviews for
183
111
28
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

In a world of chain hotels and businesses, my husband and I look for great independents. The Plaza in Hagerstown, MD is an excellent independently owned hotel. It is a classic mid-rise hotel with an interior corridor. What we liked: Super clean. Well appointed. Spacious lobby and room. Loaded with amenities. Big flat screen TV. Easy parking. Free WiFi. In-Hotel restaurant. Breakfast included. Responsive staff (ask for Jeanie).

And all of this for the same price as you would pay for one of those chain hotels across the street. Why send your money to giant conglomerates when you can stay at a hotel owned by someone you might actually meet in the lobby!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Booked a room at this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. Had never heard of Plaza Hotels before - not sure if it is a chain or not. Very, very nice hotel that is kind of secluded. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of places to eat in the area, but that's about it. Couldn't find any shopping or outdoor activities nearby on a Sunday night. For a clean, quiet, comfortable room at a great price, this is the place to stay in Hagerstown. Staying here again in October for races at the Hagerstown Speedway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

The decor of Plaza Hotel's lobby, hallways, and guestroom was dated: emerald green carpets with burgundy upholstery gave me an 80s flashback. I wouldn't recommend Plaza Hotel for a business trip if you're trying to impress coworkers. My room had all the necessities (iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, mini frig, flat-screen TV), so I had a comfortable stay. However, the room rate was a bit overpriced ($95 before taxes), considering that I've stayed in nicer hotels in more urban locales for $100/night before. I wondered whether better deals are to be had at the Holiday Inn Express next door.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Overall, I'd agree with the majority of recent posts--don't pass the hotel by merely becauase it doesn't have a chain name associated with it nor accrue "points" for you.

I recently stayed at the hotel for 5 days for a hobby function where we've been meeting at the hotel for nearly 20 years (although this was my first time at the event). The hotel is well kept up, well lit and has all that you'd expect in a hotel. Staff was very pleasant and our room at least was quickly made up. A very solid choice for business or a stop over. I'd probably say its lacking for kids or families in terms of amenities, "fun", or asethetics, and certainly not a romantic setting.

the breakfast (at least that was offered as a buffet style one for our large group) was the minimum to get you going. A nicer offering would have been appreciated, but they did comp it for our group each day we were there, so that might have dictated the quality.

The pool was fine. It is a deep pool in a quiet room. There is an adequate exercise room on the 2nd floor that takes a bit to find.

The hotel is walking distance to a few restaurants (an Outback and a Wild Wings 3 and a really nice Bob Evans) and as someone said a "stone's throw" to a mall and several other shopping areas. Its access off the highway is not intiutive, but look for and follow the signs and you'll get there. Even after 5 days, I couldn't quite get my bearings in relation to the mall, but really the destinations are close.

Nothing more to add--I will just affirm what our fellow travelers before me have said about the Plaza Hotel- it's worth the stop if you're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Plaza may be a bit tricky to get to, but honestly it's not much of an issue. Located perfectly for anyone travelling either I-70 or I-81, this property is located at an interchange that features almost every conceivable luxury for which a traveller might have need. Featuring an excellent restuarant and lounge, a friendly staff and very nice rooms to boot (at reasonable rates I might add) , don't make the mistake of dismissing this property solely because it is unbranded. The Plaza is certainly a very welcome suprise and we look forward to a return visit the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I recently stayed at the Plaza as a second choice, but from now on it will be my first choice. Just because it doesn't have a chain logo attached by no means detracts from the quality, cleanliness and service. I've stayed at pricier hotels and was not as impressed as I was with the Plaza. The location is excellent for travelers on Interstates 81 and 70. The Hagerstown Mall is a "stone's throw" away. I can't wait until this winter when I can stay there again and spend time skiing at nearby Whitetail Ski Resort. Nearby Black Rock Golf Course was on my agenda but bad weather prevailed. Finally, the food at the Fireside restaurant was as good as I've eaten in the finer New York and Chicago restaurants. The Plaza is a fantastic place to stay if you're in the Hagerstown area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Hagerstown

Address: 1718 Underpass Way, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#6 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#6 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Hagerstown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.