We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, lazy and indifferent” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Underpass Way, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rude, lazy and indifferent”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I walked in the door and kindly asked for a luggage rack to bring my family's bags in from the curb and was told "you'll have to go find one." No "thank you for choosing Ramada and giving me a job," just rude indifference. Then they screwed us by putting us in a 2 double bed room when we booked two queens... because there are four of us and we knew we wouldn't fit in two double beds. I will never stay here again, or any Ramada for that matter.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underpass, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. I hope after speaking with our Hotel Manager that we were able to resolve some of the problems you encountered. We would be thrilled if you allowed us a second chance to show you our true hospitality. Please contact either Jeannie or myself if you are coming through the Hagerstown area in the future. We would love to have you as our guest again!

Sincerely,

Deborah Miller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    153
    49
    24
    13
See reviews for
179
109
26
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Just looking for an overnight stay on our way to Florida, made a last minute decision, and we are pleased with the choice. Room was standard size with standard amenities, but was very clean. Perfect in fact. There is a restaurant attached where we had dinner using a discount coupon we received at check in; and that's where the complimentary breakfast was served (actually a buffet). Noticed nearby shopping mall, restaurants, and other hotels but we never left the property until we headed back out on the road to FL the next day. I recommend this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underpass, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting a review about your recent experience at our hotel! We are so glad you decided to stay with us. Hope you have a nice trip to Florida and will be back to see us again in the future!

Sincerely,

Deborah Miller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ramada in Hagerstown, MD when we visited Antietam National Battlefield. We selected the hotel based on it's location, close to the battlefield and other area sites we wanted to take in. Another factor was the included breakfast and free Wi-Fi in the room.

This hotel was located in what I can best describe as a business park so it was a bit confusing on how to actually get to it. We could see the building from the hi-way but needed to navigate a bit to actually find the entrance which was behind and office building and a car dealership. But it was right off he hi-way, great for our daily adventures.

We were pleasantly surprised to find that we were surrounded by dining options, grocery stores etc. Finding something to eat would NOT be a problem since we found a Shoney's, Friday's and other nationally known chains as well as local spots within a few mins drive of our hotel.

Check in was quick and efficient and our room was spacious and clean and most importantly, ready when we got there. We did not find that there was anything we needed from the front desk staff but they seemed courteous and ready to help if need be. At check in we were given a stack of discount coupons we could use in the properties restaurant. This is also where the breakfast was served each morning that was included with the room.
Breakfast the first morning was probably the best of the week as they had a large group of bike riders in to do a benefit ride and it seems they made it a bit special for that. The rest of the week it was good but the menu never varied and some of the things we looked for where gone, never to be seen again. A shame but it was still tasty and free. Nice way to start the day.
The second day we opted to try the restaurant for dinner. Food was well prepared and tasty then too. A little pricy but the 15% off coupon took care of that.
SUGGESTION: One of the things, in addition to some variety for breakfast, they should consider is the availability to get a cup of coffee any time. Hampton Inn keeps freshly brewed coffee available 24/7 and it's definitely a welcome treat after a day out and about. Missed that here.

A very nice hotel and one I would use again if I were in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underpass, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We greatly appreciate all your feedback and have shared your comments with the rest of our staff. We continually strive to meet and exceed our guests exxpectations. We hope to see you again soon!

Please contact me if I can be of assistance to you in your future travels. I can be reached at 301-797-2500 x122.

Sincerely,

Deborah Miller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on a business trip with my wife. Everyone from the front desk to maintenance to the restaurnant staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a very nice and comfortable stay with no issues. The bed was just right, the interent was free and the room was quiet. The location was excellent just off of 70 on Interstate 81 there were plenty of places to eat and a mall less than a mile away. As an added bonus, the restauant in the hotel was exceptional. If the occasion arises again, we would definately stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underpass, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff! We try very hard to provide a clean, comfortable room and exceptional service. And cannot tell you how appreciative we are that you recognized our efforts and let other travelers know about your experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Deborah Miller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Saw all the great reviews and thought this would be a good place to stop for one night. First room we were taken to was not cleaned, second had feces on the toilet, third had even more feces on the toilet. We left and went to a lovely Hampton Inn. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underpass, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry for not being able to meet your expectations. We take great pride in providing a clean, comfortable room. Thus, we promptly inspected each room you checked into after hearing of the problems that you experienced. Cleanliness issues are taken very seriously and we determine training, compensation and disciplinary actions based on our guest's valuable feedback. However, in this situation we were very puzzled since we found no evidence of such conditions. Any additional information you could provide us would be greatly appreciated. It saddens us that you had to locate alternate accommodations, but are happy you found something suitable nearby.

Please contact me if you have a monent to discuss this unfortunate situation further. I can be reached at 301-797-2500 x122. Thank you in advance for your time.

Sincerely,

Deborah Miller
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hagerstown
Courtyard Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Hagerstown

Address: 1718 Underpass Way, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#6 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#7 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Hagerstown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Plaza Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.