We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740 (Formerly Days Inn Hagerstown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Brooklin, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has been nicely renovated and would be quite comfortable under normal circumstances. Unfortunately, we stayed durinf a winter cold alert and they did not have the heat on. Checking in at refrigerator temperatures, we cranked the heat to high and went to supper. On return, there was very little difference. The heater was not up to the challenge. We requested another room and I tested that one out - same story as with the next one. So,having already had no heat at home, we toughed it out even though the clerk offered to check us out at no charge. It was getting late and we didnt feel like changing hotels. The heater caught up around 2 am. We coplained the nest day and were told housekeeping was to leave heat on in rooms already booked while they were still there. I guess they didn't listen. Breakfast was adequate - the usual comfort inn style, with egg patties, sausage patties, corned beef hash and potatoes. It would be one orf the more comfortable hotels in the area at the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of the Comfort Inn on Tripadvisor. We appreciate that you mentioned the positive aspects of your stay along with the negative. We are so sorry that we failed to provide you with a pre-heated room. It is true that our staff is supposed to turn the heat on in reserved rooms before they leave for the day. I'm not sure what happened in this case. I spoke to the staff and stressed the importance of heating the rooms, especially since we have been experiencing extreme temperatures.
We appreciate your business and regret that your stay with us was less than perfect. We hope that we get another opportunity to provide you with the quality stay you deserve.

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
45
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LaVale, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I work in a hotel with slightly different rules, but I can get past the things like the credit card authorization that takes place when you make a reservation. I do understand that they are just trying to run a business and that every hotel is different. There was a smell in the hotel that was kind of funny, maybe a little mothbally, but again, it really could have been so much worse. The room was clean (which is really the main thing) and I would give the amenities a 4 out o 5 in most cases. The gym was really small and only had four pieces of equipment, but no one was there so it wasn't a big deal. They had great channel selections on the TV. Really, if I was just rating the room, the hotel is pretty nice. However, nothing ruins a good experience like someone being unnecessarily rude to you. They require shoes in the breakfast area (which, yeah, bare feet would be gross) but we were wearing socks and missed the sign. It's in an awkward place from the direction we came. How often do you look up at the wall? The woman that was apparently running the breakfast was so mean. From no where we hear this "You need to go put shoes on. There is a sign around the corner." Her tone was eviscerating. Excuse me, I'd gladly do so, but there is no reason for you to be insanely rude. Ruined the rest of our morning. A simple "I'm sorry, but we require shoes here" would have sufficed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
On behalf of everyone at the Comfort Inn & Suites, I would like to apologize for your less-than-perfect stay with us. You are absolutely right when you said nothing ruins an experience quicker than rudeness! I am so sorry that the lady handling the breakfast was so negative towards you. While shoes are required in the breakfast area, she definitely could have stated this in a much nicer way. Rest assured she has been instructed on the proper way to address our valued guests!
Thank you for mentioning some of the positive aspects of your stay in your review. Most people (myself included) would have difficulty saying something nice after being treated so poorly. We really appreciate your sense of fairness. I hope that some day we get the opportunity to regain your trust in our property. Thank you for your review. It will be used as part of our service re-training program.

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you're looking for the Ritz, this is not it! But, if you just want a bargain place to sleep for the night, this is your spot. Clean, quiet, cheap, not fancy, very nice staff! Free breakfast is another money saver. Only complaint came from my teenage daughters: no Verizon cell service! Free WiFi made up for the lack of cell service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn on Tripadvisor. We are so sorry that you had a problem with your cell phone service. We spoke to someone at Verizon and they told us that their tower does not support 3 or 4 g cell service (?). Anything below 3 g is supported. I'm glad that you were able to use the wi-fi instead. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again some time. Happy 2014!

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft mitchell, ky
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I haven't been on Rt. 40 in Hagerstown since before I-70 was built, maybe 45+ years ago. My how it has changed. 2 miles from the interstate , the road was lined with neon but shortly our destination was clearly viable on the right. I had an extremely efficient check-in from a woman who knew the area and gave a quick rundown on nearby restaurants. We selected a non-chain restaurant which happened to be directly across from the hotel. Arriving on a Wednesday the restaurant had a special for a Prime Rib dinner for $10.99. Not only was the meat perfectly cooked to order and flavorful, I almost wasn't able to eat the whole meal, but I struggled and did.

We were on a 10 hour trip from Kentucky and this time of the year the last 2 hours are in fading light or dark. We decided to shorten our trip. So glad we did. We awoke early enough for the complimentary breakfast which fresh waffles , eggs and sausage as well as cereals,baked goods and pastries. The attendant provided good instruction on the waffle maker and I was a happy camper.

We ate a leisurely breakfast and returned to our room, passing the cleaning staff who were both cordial and friendly.

We checked out around 1030 and left relaxed and so happy that we had decided to eliminate the last 2 hours the day before. We may make this a regular stop on our trips to Maryland and Virginia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Hagerstown. Things certainly have changed around here, even in the last 5 years! We appreciate all the nice comments, and are happy that your stay was such a pleasant one. The staff here is working very hard to make everyone's experience a great one. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvisburg, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

When looking at some of the reviews I was hesitant but family member gave me the number and I'm glad she did.Very clean and comfortable and the best part they allow fur babies. I would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for deciding to stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites. We are delighted that your experience with us was such a positive one! We look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you a safe, healthy and happy 2014!

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Don't let the closed restaurant adjacent to this Comfort Inn deter you. They only share a parking lot. This hotel is wonderful and our stay was perfect. The property appears to be recently renovated and it is neat, clean, and quiet inside and out. Our room and bathroom were clean, clean, clean, no odors in the room, the HVAC unit on the wall was quiet and warmed the room up quickly on a cold, rainy night, plenty of hot water and water pressure was great (with an adjustable shower head that worked!). The bed was comfy, and the bedding fresh and cozy. The pillows were clean and fresh. (Have I mentioned the word "CLEAN" enough times?) The front desk people were very nice, the breakfast (complete, not just continental, including waffles, eggs and sausage) was presented well and closely attended. This attention to detail should be the norm everywhere we stay, not "a nice surpise" when you find it. And all for $77/night! Can't beat it. We had never stayed in a Comfort Inn before this one, and we stayed in this location because of the Trip Advisor reviews. After our enjoyable stay, we were pointing out other Comfort Inns on the remainder of our trip. We never really took note of them before, but we plan to consider Comfort Inn first on other road trips in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review on the Comfort Inn & Suites. Housekeeping was delighted to hear that you found the room so clean and comfortable. Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We hope to see you again some time. Have a great holiday!

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stopped here on our way from Tenn to NY. VERY tired & VERY pleased with our room! Clean, quiet, & comfy beds & great price! The staff was very personable. It was a bit off the main hwy but it was easy to get back to it. Definitely worth the short detour & would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for all your glowing comments about your stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites. We are delighted to hear that your experience here was so positive, and that you would stay here again. We really appreciate you sharing this on Tripadvisor! Thanks again. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Hagerstown area.

Sincerely,
Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 920 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740 (Formerly Days Inn Hagerstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that due change in the franchise affiliation, the Days Inn property has been converted to and opened as COMFORT INN & SUITES with ALL NEW ROOMS as of July 22, 2011 after extensive interior and exterior renovations and address change. ALL OLD CUSTOMER REVIEWS & COMMENTS (from previous name Days Inn) SHALL BE DELETED COMPLETELY FOR THE FRESH START. Property Description: Free Deluxe Breakfast, 32" Flat Panel TV with free HBO, Free Wireless Internet, Business Center, Fitness Center and Microwave & Refrigerator, Iron & Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, in-room coffee maker in all Rooms and Suites. Points Of Interest include several restaurants within 2 Mi. , Premium Outlet Mall 5 Mi., Antietam Battlefield 12 Mi., City Park 2 Mi., Washington, DC and Baltimore, MD 70 Mi., Whitetail Ski Resort 20 Mi. Gettysburg, PA 35 Mi., Harper's Ferry 25 Mi., Wash. Co. Regional Airport 7 Mi. I-70 (Exit 32B) 2 Mi. & I-81 (Exit 6A) 3 Mi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.