We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740 (Formerly Days Inn Hagerstown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We lived in Hagerstown for several years before recently moving away. In my years in Hagerstown, I have seen this property go through a lot of changes. Most of the times it seemed like a dump and driving by I would think to myself "who would lie here?"

But recently we were visiting town again and were looking for weekend accomodations. We saw this hotel had good reviews and decided to go with it. We chose to live in one their only suite - two bedrooms ,three queen beds. To my surprise, we were not disappointed. This hotel has been recently renovated. So everything is spanking new. The rooms are clean, the decor is modern. It no longer is the shabby, run down motel that gave a sore eye driving by.

The staff is extremely friendly.The front desk lady is very nice and helpful.Hot breakfast is fresh and hote- waffles,sausage, omlette, boiled eggs, muffins, breads, coffee,juice, yogurt, cereal. So much variety.There is something for everyone. The lady in charge of breakfast area actually comes up to you and asks if you need help making a waffle and fixes one for you.

The suite had a microwave and refrigerator which is great when you are a family with baby.

Most rooms are located on the back side, away from the main road, so traffic noise is not a problem. anyways, Dual highway is dead on a weekend night!! Rooms are quiet. the entire hotel is no smoking which we always love.

All in all a great experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    51
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
37
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spur of the moment trip, didn't make reservations, holiday week-end. My husband decided to stop in Hagerstown for the night. I feel lucky we found the Comfort Inn and Suites. The room was extremely clean, nicely decorated ,the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Next time we go to the outlet mall in Hagerstown, will definately be staying at Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July on short notice as we had changed our trip. I used points and since the number of points needed were relative low, compared to other Comfort Inns in the area, I was ready for an older property, which the pictures on the website also promised.

And it was an older property, but the rooms were recently completely renovated and they did a great job. Large flat-screen TV, even had some HD channels; nice furnishings and contrary to what I have found in other newer properties, the sink in the bathroom was relatively low. I really don't understand what the deal is with these high sinks these days. They can't be easily used by kids and shorter people, I would think.

We had reserved a 'suite' and these are on the second floor only and the hotel does not have an elevator. Something to keep in mind.

The hotel is between I-81 and I-40, about halfway between these roads. Coming from I-81 you go through the city, there are some lights, but it's a short trip – about 4 miles. Lots of shopping and restaurants in the area.

Internet speed was very good and welcome since we had just stayed in a Marriott where it was not working. Breakfast was good too – more or less the standard Comfort Inn selection. I'm a cereal guy so I am not hard to please :-).

If you don't mind staying a little further from the main highway, this is a good buy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Motel was nice and clean. It was a one night on our way home. We had a suite because all the other rooms were taken. For a suite it was $82, well worth it, the room was spacious and well decorated. It had microwave, fridge, sofa and coffee table. Bed was comfortable. The area (Hagerstown) is run down and a little seedy. Breakfast was well stocked with the usual fare for a Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don't be put off by the vacant restaurant in the front of this hotel. It is not a part of the Comfort Inn & Suites. We actually booked this hotel by mistake, thinking we were booking the Comfort Suites on the same road closer to the interstate. We did not have high expectations as this hotel was not listed in our AAA book. However, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. It was by far the best Comfort Inn & Suites we have stayed at in months. It has been nicely remodeled and our room was attractive, neat, clean and very quiet. The beds are wonderfully comfortable. The breakfast area was kept totally clean and well stocked. All staff we encountered were helpful and courteous. We will definitely stay here again when we are passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We drove all the way from Massachusetts to the Grand Canyon and this was our first night stopover. Throughout our trip we stayed at a variety of hotels, some cheaper but most more expensive. On our way back to Massachusetts we were looking for one last night to stop on the way home and this place came to mind. On the outside it doesn't look like much but the rooms inside are clean and spacious. Although it doesn't have all the fancy amenities like other places, this one is quiet and cozy. The staff is very friendly. The continental breakfast was also nice and well stocked. Like I said during our trip we have paid more than double at times for our room but this little place actually made us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Comfort Inn & Suites of Hagerstown. We are so pleased that your experience with us was such a positive one. We hope you are having a great summer, and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you in the future. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The vsit was everything we hoped for. Neat, Clean & Convienent. We stayed here for one night as we were passing through. The room was large with a king bed. Hotel looks and feels older but it was neat and clean. We were not there for to long but the beds were fine and it was quiet. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Internet worked fine. There was no road noise even though we were near a highway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD013, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always happy to hear words like "clean" and "comfortable" being used to describe us. There are so many hotels to choose from in Hagerstown, and we really appreciate you staying with us. Thanks again for your business. We hope to see you again some time.

Barb Estrada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 920 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740 (Formerly Days Inn Hagerstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that due change in the franchise affiliation, the Days Inn property has been converted to and opened as COMFORT INN & SUITES with ALL NEW ROOMS as of July 22, 2011 after extensive interior and exterior renovations and address change. ALL OLD CUSTOMER REVIEWS & COMMENTS (from previous name Days Inn) SHALL BE DELETED COMPLETELY FOR THE FRESH START. Property Description: Free Deluxe Breakfast, 32" Flat Panel TV with free HBO, Free Wireless Internet, Business Center, Fitness Center and Microwave & Refrigerator, Iron & Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, in-room coffee maker in all Rooms and Suites. Points Of Interest include several restaurants within 2 Mi. , Premium Outlet Mall 5 Mi., Antietam Battlefield 12 Mi., City Park 2 Mi., Washington, DC and Baltimore, MD 70 Mi., Whitetail Ski Resort 20 Mi. Gettysburg, PA 35 Mi., Harper's Ferry 25 Mi., Wash. Co. Regional Airport 7 Mi. I-70 (Exit 32B) 2 Mi. & I-81 (Exit 6A) 3 Mi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.