We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740-2601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
46
47
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very friendly, accommodating staff. Clean, spacious room. This looks to be an older hotel; very conveniently located close to downtown and various local businesses. I would definitely stay again! No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your feedback. I will pass along your kind words to the staff. It's always nice when you are welcomed with a smile. There are many choices when traveling and we are glad you choose our hotel. We can’t wait to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is very nice, however the first room we had the heat did not work. The seond room did. Rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast was great. My only complaints are the shower needs a bar (for holding onto to get in and out). I have gad a stroke but not so much as I would take someone away from a handicapped room. Also a bathtub mat would be helpful also. My other concern was the lobby is very cold and the young men at the desk couldn't wear a coat. A sports coat/sweater with the hotel logo would be nice for them. We have been there three times in three years.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the first room you were given. I’ll pass along the great suggestions for the shower. We know you have many choices when traveling and we are glad you selected our Best Western property the past three times you have been in Hagerstown. And another great suggestion is the sweater for the front desk. We have been looking into those for our staff. Safe travels and we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here on my way back from FL to NY. Some reviews were negative. I don't know why. Large rooms, good breakfast, warm water, LCD TV, crib delivered to room as requested. Sure, the hotel and rooms look a little dated, but personnel is very nice and friendly, rooms are clean and large, heat works well and breakfast is good. Oh, and the beds were especially comfortable. Especially for the price, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. We know you have many choices when traveling and we are glad you selected our Best Western property. Our rooms are a great size for relaxing and enjoying your stay. We can’t wait to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The first night we arrived after 9:00 PM and no one was at the front desk. So, I rang the bell and waited and waited. Then I rang the bell again several times and it appeared I woke the guy up who came out from the back. He greeted us and checked us in and handed us the room cards. Up to the room we went which was located all the way at the end of the hallway. We get there and the cards don't work for either card. We check to make sure we have the correct room which was written on the envelope and sure enough, it was correct. However, the person who was checked into that room was not happy we were outside their door trying to get in. So, back all the way down the hallway to the elevator to the front desk again and no sorry, it must have been a computer error. So, back up the elevator and again all the way down that hallway to now a room where the card worked. The room was spacious, the bed comfy. After an exhaustive day of driving and visiting family, we were ready for bed. As soon as we get to bed the fire alarm goes off. Again, out of bed to find out what is going on. We were told there is another glitch with the alarm and not to worry. It goes off again another six times during the night. So much for sleep. The second night, again we are exhausted from visiting friends/family and ready for sleep. We have a very long day of driving ahead of us in the afternoon and want a good nights sleep. Of course, that didn't happen. On the floor we were staying a lot of people were drinking and carrying on. They then decided to start yelling and screaming and running up and down the hallway banging on doors (ours included). After we complained, it took the front desk over a hour to get these people under control. We used this place just to sleep. We picked it because it was close to our family/friends and the price was right. We had no idea our stay would be so bad because the reviews on TA were not bad. Next Christmas we will pay more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
First, I would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback and apologize for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.

I understand the frustration of traveling all day and just wanting to get to your room only to find the key doesn’t work. The issue has been addressed with the new front desk person and they have received additional training.

We did have a company come out to look at the fire alarm system that same night and the issue has been fixed.

Again, I apologize for your less than satisfactory experience. We are always striving to improve our property and hope that if you find yourself in the Hagerstown area, you’ll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Was in the area for work... and heard this hotel was nice from co-workers. The staff was great! Great lobby. The room was large, clean and had a nice HDTV. Was nice to have a fitness room to work out in ... and even free breakfast. I'm not sure when I will be back in the area for work -- but I will stay there again when I do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to send us your comments. We do have a wonderful staff and it shows to our guests. We know you have many choices when traveling and we are glad you selected our Best Western property. Our rooms are a great size for relaxing and enjoying your stay. We can’t wait to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The building seems to be well maintained and clean. The breakfast was fine for a continental breakfast, basic cereal, bagels and pastries and watered-down juice from a machine. My room was at least $25 - $30 per night less than any other place in Hagerstown. I think that's because it is in town and away from the interstates where all the shopping centers and newer lodging is. The neighborhood isn't bad but declining so that probably discourages people from staying there. But I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venicegrand, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sending us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you saw the value in our prices. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center

Address: 431 Dual Highway, Hagerstown, MD 21740-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hagerstown
Hagerstown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grand Venice Hotel Wedding & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.