We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise for Hagerstown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LJ's and the Kat Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
LJ's and the Kat Lounge
1130 Conrad Court, Hagerstown, MD 21740
301.739.7990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LJ's and the Kat Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 200 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Eastern Blvd.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise for Hagerstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There isn't a lot of choice in the area (at time of writing, a donut shop holds number 1 spot on TA...), so let's just say that expectations weren't too high. I had a delightful dinner at LJ's. Insat in the lounge side, which is very comfortable, and serves the full menu in addition to daily 'lounge specials'. As others have said, they regularly change menu themes. During early October, they had a French theme. I chose a lovely rainbow trout with French beans and almonds. It was hot, fresh and delicious. The bread served with truffle butter was worth the calories. All dinners come with a house salad, which is not your common-or-garden iceberg variety. Wine choices were decent. All in all, would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    37
    17
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent food with vegetarian and vegan options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the 2nd time we've been to LJ's and have been pleased with the meal we were served. I am vegan and the chef has been able to adapt standard menu items with delicious results both times we've eaten at LJs. The wait staff is exceptional - helpful and solicitous without being overly solicitous. Our only recommendations for improvement would be to (1) use less oil for pan searing and sautéing, and (2) modify the wine "list" so that it's easier to see and compare available selections at a glance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This food is exceptional as is the service. The kitchen is open and you can watch them cook. They have a great selection of cocktails too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt like a short order cook reataurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to LJ's on a Saturday night. It wasn't that busy. We shared the dining room with the kitchen which was horrible. Sitting there listening to the head chef yell out orders etc. not very quiet and romantic. My drink from the bar was good. Menu was ok not very expansive though. Salad was boring! Just some greens thrown on a plate no tomato or anything along with it. Our meals were ok. My husband got the New York strip which was just Sub standard. Not a lot of flavor. I got the crab cakes and they were good. Got some scalloped potatoes with them but they were just ok. Needed salt. We decided to skip dessert and get out of there ASAP. The ambiance was not good at all noisy and like I said sharing the doing room with the kitchen was not good at all. Not for a "fine dining" restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, MD
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The restaurant keeps their menu exciting by having themed menus for several months at a time. The night we were there was the last night of their Mediterranean menu. We had several small dishes, all of which had good flavor and were interesting. Not a dud in the lot.

We ate in the lounge which was a little noisy but fun. The wait staff was attentive and helpful. We will be back to try their next menu

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LJ's and the Kat Lounge also viewed

 
Hagerstown, MD
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to LJ's and the Kat Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LJ's and the Kat Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.