We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Holy Grail of great hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Hagerstown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Pullman Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save Big
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maiden, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The Holy Grail of great hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I have to admit, I am a very picky hotel guest, mostly because I was a resort manager for 10 years. I tend to look at everything with a magnifying glass because I know what to look for. The Homewood Suites in Hagerstown would have been my pride and joy.....I kept waiting for the other shoe to fall and it never did. First of all, the front desk clerk was very pleasant, checked me in in about 1 minute flat, and gave me a free upgrade (having the Hilton Honors membership card helps). The suite was big, immaculate, very well appointed, and comfortable. A/C was in top working order, kitchen had granite counters and full size refrigerator-freezer, and cabinets were fully stocked with dishes, utensils, pots and pans. The appliances looked brand new. The internet was free. The bathroom was also granite, spotless, and had a great shower with quality bath amenities, even a night light on the hair dryer stand. The bed was a dream - very comfortable, with a down quilt and feather pillows. The mirrored closet contained a full ironing board and iron. There was an HD TV in both the bedroom and the living room.
We were delighted to find a free dinner buffet and complimentary beer/wine in the lobby area (I understand this is Monday - Thursday only) and there was a free hot and cold breakfast buffet also (every day but weekend is slightly fancier).
There is an exercise room, and the nicest indoor pool and hot tub I've ever seen in a hotel. Again, immaculate, and after a long drive it felt great. There is a courtyard outside the pool with a small basketball court, putting green, shuffleboard, and lounge chairs and tables. The landscaping is pretty and well tended.
I found all of the employees to be very courteous (thank you, Marilyn, for your personable attention during dinner).
All in all, it was the cleanest, most pleasant hotel I've ever been in, and the rate was much lower than what I would have expected. Homewood Suites, you're doin' it right! Next time we do the long trek to CT, we will be sure to stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    65
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
126
90
22
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Have to agree with the other reviewers - top notch hotel and an excellent choice in Hagerstown. Can't beat the free evening meal and drinks. Slept well, shower nice, amenities great.

Only issue, if you can call it one, was that the temperature between the outer living area and bedroom was off by, I'd assess, 3-4 degrees. Made it hard to adjust to make our infants comfy.

All in all, we'd go back if we're back in the area. Excellent stop ...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Hands down - the nicest, off the highway, overnight choice. The suite was PERFECT. Conveniently off Hwy 81, easy in and out. Why all hotels can't live up to their standards is a mystery. Professional, clean, nearly brand new, comfortable bed, excellent shower. Great job and thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Just returned from a 4 day stay at this hotel.Great location near all attractions ,and many restaraunts.You can drive to Harpers Ferry from here,highly recomended.This hotel serves a free hot breakfast,and dinner,good value for the money.Bed very comfortable,room very clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We reserved both a one-bedroom and a two-bedroom suite for our large group of scouts for a Saturday evening stay, since we were skiing the next day at Whitetail and wanted to get a good head-start on Sunday morning. Rooms were spacious and nicely appointed and we especially enjoyed cooking in the kitchen, which was well-stocked with dishes, silverware, plates, glasses, pots, dishwasher and detergent, etc. Front desk staff was super-friendly and helpful (gave us good directions to the local outlets, the grocery store and to Whitetail). We enjoyed the pool from 9-10 p.m. -- clean and well-stocked with towels. Only oddity was that there seemed to be a lot of chlorine in the air (non-swimmer adult eyes started burning a bit after a while...not sure what that was about). We didn't play basketball but the court looked nice. We also enjoyed the hot breakfast (oatmeal, eggs, cereal, what I think was creamed-chipped-beef, bagels, waffles-you- make-yourself, etc.). Everything there was fresh and continuously replenished. Though we did not stay on a weekday, could see from the menu posted on the fridge that they serve what almost sounded like free, light dinner fare during the early evening (tacos, etc.).
A couple of my girls ended up leaving their bathing suits in the room and we called the next day and were told that they had found them and would be happy to mail them back to us, which they did promptly and at no cost!
Super experience. If you don't mind spending a few extra dollars for nice accommodations and service, this Homewood Suites is A+!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in June of this year and my husband and I both were very impressed with the decor. And the sofabed in our 1 bedroom suite was so comfy. The sofa itself was not only attractive, but comfortable to sit on. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast area is large and very nice. The breakfast was very good, with everything that you could want. Also, we were surprised to find out that they had a complimentary dinner for us when we arrived. They served Salsbury steak, potatoes, veggies, bread, cookies, salad. What a wonderful and welcome surprise. It is not easy to impress my husband when it comes to hotels, but this one absolutely was impressive to both of us. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel during a quick little get away with my mother. My sister was supposed to go but something came up at the last minute. Once my sister couldn't join us I tried to change our room from the two bedroom suite to a one bedroom with two beds. Unfortunately this hotel does not have have this type room, only one bed, the two bedroom suites and three bedroom suites. We kept the two bedroom suite it was a very pleasant surprise. The room was so spacious. The room was nicely appointed. There were flat screen TVs with DVD players in both bedrooms and the living area. The kitchen was a little small but sufficient. the bathrooms were nicely appointed. The furniture and decor in the rooms was very nice. It was a nice little place for a get away to do a little shopping and hanging out for us. Not to far from home but it seemed a world away. Nothing fancy about the area but if you are looking for a quick little get away especially if you live in the Washington metropolitian area its not a bad idea. Especially if you want to do a little shopping. We plan on going back again for another girls get away before my sister has had surgery in November.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Hagerstown

Address: 1650 Pullman Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#2 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Hagerstown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Homewood Hagerstown
Hagerstown Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.