We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Hagerstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Hagerstown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Pullman Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save Big
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashtabula, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The staff is great. The location is perfect, right down the street from the mall. We had dinner at Garfield's, a restaurant located at the mall. We read in our hotel room brochure that if you show your room key you receive a 15% discount. The room was clean and very quiet. My only disappointment is that I don't think there was a business center, at least I didn't see one. I chose this hotel because it was an easy off on from the freeway. We were headed to the Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    66
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
129
91
22
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights travelling on business. The suite is excellent. Very comfortable king bed
A full kitchen .Lovely breakfast in the morning and lunch in the evening. Staff very friendly and helpful
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a one bedroom suite for myself, husband and daughter. It was roomy and comfortable. The hotel offered complementary dinner on weekdays and breakfast everyday. The pool was nice and the entire facilty very clean. The staff was accomodating and we throughly enjoyed our visit. We visited the Amtietum battlefield (about 20 minutes away) and Hapers Ferry, WV. It is also close to Gettysburg, PA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

From January 2011 through September 2011, I stayed Sunday through Thursday almost every week for a project. I would say that for the business traveler that is on the road for long term projects, this Homewood suites should be satisfactory, The only major issue I had happened in my very last week.....82 BEDBUG BITES. I woke up 1:30 AM to itching. I was not sure what bedbugs looked like when I spotted a bug and caught it. I looked it up on the internet and sure enough it was one filled with my blood. What angered me the most is that the Frontdesk shrugged me off and said there were no more rooms available. As a platinum member she should have offered me a room in another hotel. I will never go back now.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, stay away from the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend that Hurricane Irene ravaged the eastern seaboard of the US. Through Expedia, we booked two suites online with another couple, and we chose this location because it was reasonably close to the factory outlet malls and had several food options very close by. Also, it was pet friendly and we had to bring our two cats and our aging dog.

The suites were a good size and nicely laid out, though we didn't get the larger 1bedroom requested (and paid for) for the other couple, who were travelling with a toddler and a dog. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy with good quality linens and abundant pillows. I appreciated the large leather ottoman placed in front of the pull out couch, and the very comfortable desk with free high speed Internet that was actually properly high speed. They provided also a full size ironing board and iron, and a hair dryer, amenities that can be lacking in some suite hotels in this price range. The fridge was full size, and the room also had a full ceramic flat top cooktop. a microwave, and a coffee maker. A full range of cooking and eating items were available, though we would have appreciated them including an actual corkscrew in each room. The one provided in our room was so dull and thick it broke our bottle's cork into a dozen pieces. The free microwave popcorn was a nice touch, as was the flat screen television viewable both from the couch and from the bed.

Note to families with small children: There are no tubs in these. Instead there is a large shower area with a single shower head. If your child doesn't like showers, you should perhaps find another place to stay. Also, the way the overly large (wheelchair accessible? ) door to the bathroom works, it ends up barely clearing the toilet. so be careful of children around this door.

The full breakfast in the morning was decent, though the potatoes were incredibly oily on the first morning (could have poured 1/4 of a cup of oil off of my spoonful) and on the Sunday, the weird sausage stuffing was a lumpen paste, even when the dish was fresh. The eggs were ok, but were obviously microwaved, and on the Sunday, they had runout of every single kind of breakfast bread, pastry and bagel by 8:30 am. Asking for more from the staff elicited a shrug, and a pursing of the lips, but nothing else. The coffee was pretty good though, with a mild, a strong and a decaf on offering, and they had to-go mugs with nice Starbux style lids.

On checkout we were interrogated about our dog (who hadn't issued a peep during our visit given she's blind and deaf) and informed huffily that we were supposed to pay a $50 "pet fee" upon checkin. We booked through Expedia and told them about our pets - it was our job to also once again inform the hotel? This was the first we heard about this and we dug our heels in, refusing to pay a fee after the fact. He pushed at us a bit then gave us a lecture about the fee before saying he'd wave it "this time only" and wagging a finger at us, with his nose in the air and his voice chilly and uppity the whole time, talking to us condescendingly and suspiciously as if we were simpleton criminals. This soured the stay.

Overall, it was a good place to stay, comfortable and well kept and stylish. While I might stay here again on a "ladies shopping spree", I wouldn't bring small children here though for long, and I wouldn't bring my dog back given the exorbitant fee and the staff attitude.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

A few years ago, we decided to give Homewood Suites a try. This was our first and it is still our favorite. Good location. Close to the Interstates, shopping, and other attractions, but also quiet. Our room was airy and clean, as usual. The full kitchen is an added plus. The suite we were given during this stay did not have an easy chair. However, we were provided with a chair within 30 minutes of our request. The staff couldn't have been nicer and willing to make our stay enjoyable. We recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgrhw, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Rose,

THANK YOU SO MUCH..for this wonderful review. We are always pleased to read a positive review but it means even more to us when coming from a returning guest. I am so pleased that our staff responded so quickly to your needs. It is my hope that you stop by and introduces yourself upon your return to Hagerstown. We look forward to seeing you again and Thanks a million for being a loyal Homewood customer.

Safe Travels,
Francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Staff here go out of thier way to help - even when under pressure such as breakfast serving. The desk too was cheerful and helpful with enquiries. Our roomwas cleaned t a high standard. The bathroom layout is unusual but not a major problem. Re-cycling however does not seem to be high on the management agenda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgrhw, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. We are so pleased that we have an opportunity to serve guests from around the world each day. It was also interesting that you noted the need for re-cycling. We are currently working with our Hilton brand affiliates on our "Green Certification" this program would incorporate re-cycling standards as well as several conservation standards so that we do our part in perserving our global community. It is my hope that you visit us again in the future so that you can see our progress in this area. Thanks a million for choosing the Homewood Suites in Hagerstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Hagerstown

Address: 1650 Pullman Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#1 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Hagerstown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Homewood Hagerstown
Hagerstown Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.