We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a restaurant should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rik's Cafe

Rik's Cafe
1065 Maryland Avenue, Hagerstown, MD
(301) 302-7541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 198 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Have been there a few times and have never been disappointed. Great food with reasonable prices. On most recent visit, I had the mahi mahi Reuben and it was one of the best sandwiches I have ever had. They are the true definition of a non-chain, local find.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    22
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality gourmet dinner, excellent friendly service, will do again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Starting with the cream of crab soup my wife and I were genuinely pleased with our meal at Rik's Café. She had the Blackened Mahi-Mahi tacos while I enjoyed the Café Seafood Broil; both were simply delicious. The scallops were juicy, light, and cut-with-a-fork tender. We completed our dining with a deep-fried cheese cake with caramel/chocolate sauce and cinnamon sugar. Our plates were completely cleaned.
Thanks for a very nice dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were extremely impressed with the bar tender. Not only did he make excellent drinks but made a fig martini for our group to try and let me sample a beer they had on tap for free. I ordered the chicken Chesapeake and it was just ok but the rest of my family said there food was really good. They had the land and sea burger, pulled pork sandwich, seafood medley, and the blackened chicken pasta. I wish I would have ordered one of those dishes instead. All wait staff and what I think was the owner were very friendly. Definitely will go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been to the area many times.. And had never even heard of this restaurant.. Until Trip Advisor. What a pleasant surprise! Its very unassuming in a strip shopping center. I went on a Wednesday and they had half off a bottle of wine.. We had muscles for an appetizer. For my dinner I had the smoked salmon cakes.. These were okay, a little on the salty side. However, I keep thinking about those muscles with chorizo. Quantity was plenty.. Great experience.. Will definately be back next time I am in town!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Visited from out of town. A delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our family from the area took us here for dinner and what a treat. The food was yummy and the service was top notch. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rik's Cafe also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Rik's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rik's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.