We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Only I Could Pronounce the Name Correctly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant

Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant
58 S Potomac St, Hagerstown, MD 21740-5513
301-797-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 198 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“If Only I Could Pronounce the Name Correctly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We took a Harley ride to Hagerstown on the 4th of July because it was a beautiful day in Maryland, which we don't often have during our humid summers. Most of the restaurants in mid-town were closed for the holiday but this restaurant was open. We sat in the back beer garden and got wonderfully attentive service from our server, dressed in Bavarian garb. We got the Wurst sampler and it was great to try all the different wursts. Our lunch was traditional and the bratwurst my husband had was Fab! The beer was cold and good. What a nice lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    59
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“More food than we could eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Wow! The quantity of food on our dinner plates was more than ample and absolutely wonderful! My friend and I both ordered the cheese soup and the Ulmer Metzger Platte. The cheese soup was delicious - very flavorful with croutons. The platter was authentic German and was a wonderful reminder of a recent trip to Germany. After reviewing the website online after our trip, I wish we had been 30 minutes earlier in order to have had the opportunity to order off of the lunch menu as it seems the sizes and the prices are more reasonable. The dinner menu is pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

The staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic German food - einfach Klasse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This restaurant offers the best German food i have had in the U.S. (I am originally from Germany). I can confirm the many previous reviews about the quality of food and staff - and as well the prices, which are not at the low end ... But then you have to consider the quality you are getting!
We are planning to come back often - definitely worth the hour drive we have from home!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must try in Hagerstown ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The food is phenomenal service is friendly. I have been several times and have never been disappointed. Authentic great German food. A little pricey but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“All ages come to this German spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It is a little bit of Germany on a side street in Hagerstown. Because of wider sidewalks it is not easy to find a parking place but we did at 4:30 on a Sunday afternoon. If it had not been hot, the sidewalk café would have been very inviting. European style chairs behind boxes of flowers under an awning could make a relaxing spot for food or drink. Because of the heat we went inside to a very Bavarian set of rooms. With German music playing we were welcomed by our Ukranian waitress. The food was very good-the best sauerkraut that I have ever eaten. The sunflower bread was a disappointment. At the end of the meal I checked out the beer garden behind the building. At 6 P.M. it was full with many young diners enjoying the cooler spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.