We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as good as Mom's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant

Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant
58 S Potomac St, Hagerstown, MD 21740-5513
301-797-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 228 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Pomfret, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Almost as good as Mom's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Very good experience. Attentive staff and good food. A great fit for a beautiful small city with German heritage.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tborner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Weiner Schnitzel to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having been to Germany several times, and being a member of a couple of German American organizations, I know that German food is more than sauerkraut and bratwurst. The Schmankerl Stube does it better than any German restaurant I've been to in the states, and that includes a couple in DC that have been around a long time. The food here is authentic, the décor is very Bavarian, great selection of German beers. I recommend anything with a cream sauce, which the chef does beautifully, and anything accompanied by spaetzle. Desserts are beautiful, and my dinner companions raved about the strudel, but as I'm not a fan of sweets, can't vouch for how they tasted - but they looked wonderful. Only shortcoming is on-street parking which can be difficult. There is a public lot but it is a block and a half away and you have to walk up a hill to get back to the street where the restaurant is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbhammonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

What's a wonderful treat! We haven't had German food for ages, and this place did not disappointment. The good was delicious. We had the sample platter for two. Definitely the way to go if you aren't quite sure what you want to have. Great food. Well spiced. Delicious beer.
Our server was very kind and very knowledgable about the beers. A great meal at a reasonable price for the very high quality food. Will definitely come here again next time we're in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rpbp4_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First time eating German”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time hubby and I had authentic German food. We were impressed. The atmosphere of the restaurant was warm and inviting. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The food, what can I say? I wasn't sure what to expect, but the plates looked attractive, and were full. You got your money's worth. The flavor of the food was fantastic. It was hearty and full of flavor. I really wish I would have paid more attention in my German language class in high school. Hubby and I traveled to Hagerstown from the Baltimore area to try this place, and we would do it again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Like being in Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cute Bavarian decor. Excellent German food. Friendly and attentive staff in German traditional dress. Good prices

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing