We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as good as Mom's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant

Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant
58 S Potomac St, Hagerstown, MD 21740-5513
301-797-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Pomfret Center, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Almost as good as Mom's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Very good experience. Attentive staff and good food. A great fit for a beautiful small city with German heritage.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    61
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Weiner Schnitzel to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having been to Germany several times, and being a member of a couple of German American organizations, I know that German food is more than sauerkraut and bratwurst. The Schmankerl Stube does it better than any German restaurant I've been to in the states, and that includes a couple in DC that have been around a long time. The food here is authentic, the décor is very Bavarian, great selection of German beers. I recommend anything with a cream sauce, which the chef does beautifully, and anything accompanied by spaetzle. Desserts are beautiful, and my dinner companions raved about the strudel, but as I'm not a fan of sweets, can't vouch for how they tasted - but they looked wonderful. Only shortcoming is on-street parking which can be difficult. There is a public lot but it is a block and a half away and you have to walk up a hill to get back to the street where the restaurant is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What's a wonderful treat! We haven't had German food for ages, and this place did not disappointment. The good was delicious. We had the sample platter for two. Definitely the way to go if you aren't quite sure what you want to have. Great food. Well spiced. Delicious beer.
Our server was very kind and very knowledgable about the beers. A great meal at a reasonable price for the very high quality food. Will definitely come here again next time we're in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First time eating German”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time hubby and I had authentic German food. We were impressed. The atmosphere of the restaurant was warm and inviting. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The food, what can I say? I wasn't sure what to expect, but the plates looked attractive, and were full. You got your money's worth. The flavor of the food was fantastic. It was hearty and full of flavor. I really wish I would have paid more attention in my German language class in high school. Hubby and I traveled to Hagerstown from the Baltimore area to try this place, and we would do it again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Like being in Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cute Bavarian decor. Excellent German food. Friendly and attentive staff in German traditional dress. Good prices

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmankerl Stube Bavarian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.