We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the train at 12:35 AM - lasts about 20 minutes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Watch out for the train at 12:35 AM - lasts about 20 minutes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

While I agree with most of what everyone else's comments I find it so hard to believe that I am the only one to mention the LOUD Train noises. All was well, clean, good area, lots of restaurant choices, clean indoor pool for my 6 year old to enjoy. Free Wi-Fi, clean/large room w/ fridge etc. THEN, at 12:35 AM - the train whistle began to blow, over and over again for 23 minutes. NOT a welcome noise after traveling a long distance. Despite the train, the hotel was actually a nice change. We usually stay at the Hampton Inn one exit up - they didnt' have an indoor pool so we opted to come here.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    46
    22
    14
    7
See reviews for
66
44
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Had to come to town for a funeral with other family members, during a huge ice storm! Can't say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff was. They helped us chisel out our cars, they helped us navigate around town, they put up with our shenanigans, they were just superb! The rooms were excellent and clean. I am very picky and I can recommend this hotel to anyone! Next time you need to stay in the Hagerstown area please give this a try. They are in the middle of the parking lot of the Valley Mall but don't let that scare you. There is food and everything within walking distance. (However, I can't recommend the Golden Corral) Please reserve this hotel with confidence.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing to note here
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at this hotel and we would highly recommend it to any traveler after a long day on the road. Last year we stopped here on our way home (Upstate, NY) from N. Myrtle Beach, SC. This year we stopped here on our way home from the Outer Banks, NC. The hotel is situated off I-81(away from traffic noise) and is located at the rear perimeter of Valley Mall (a great mall for shopping and dining). The hotel room we stayed in on our latest visit was very neat, clean, quiet and roomy. The beds (2 Queens) were extremely comfortable. The check-in & check-out was very fast /efficient and all of the hotel staff were very friendly.
NOTE: There is a large building being constructed near the hotel on the rear (mall) side of the building so if you schedule your visit for a week day there may be some noise during the day. We arrived early afternoon on a Saturday, and there was no construction going on.
One improvement we noticed over last year was the addition of an expanded Continental breakfast. There were pancake wrapped sausages and omelet wraps which were delicious. There was also quite a variety of fresh fruit and pastries. Kudos to the nice lady with the pleasant personality who runs the breakfast all by herself.
Again, we would highly recommend this hotel for all travelers. It has become one of our favorites.

  • Liked — room quality and location to shopping/dining
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night as a layover during a long car trip. It is not far off the highway, but a little tricky to find because it is in the back of a mall. The location is totally retail - there is little ambience, but there are lots of stores and chain restaurants nearby. You don't even need a car to get to them if you don't mind walking through parking lots and access roads without sidewalks. Warning to parents with young kids - there is a Chuck E. Cheese only steps from the hotel. This may be good if you want your kids to let off steam, but if you are trying to avoid them seeing it, you're out of luck.

The hotel itself is very comfortable. The desk staff was pleasant, the rooms are clean and well-equipped, and the pool is small but well-maintained. The small lobby has a homey feel. The continental breakfast was very good - fresh cut fruit, cereal, muffins, bagels, etc. with all the accoutrements. The breakfast area was nice and the food was constantly replenished. They have an outside eating area as well that was actually quite pleasant even though it overlooked construction in the mall parking lot. The breakfast area is small, however, and I imagine if the hotel was hosting a meeting or event where many people ended up at breakfast at the same time it would get quite crowded.

The only problem we had was the lack of knowledge of one of the front desk staff. We thought we had seen a Shoney's on the way in, which would meet our need for a quick, cheap, close meal late in the evening. The front desk staff didn't know where one was, and didn't look it up for us. Once we got in our car we found it right away - it was basically on the other side of the giant mall parking lot. The same person also didn't know where the Hagerstown Speedway was when another guest asked. I've never heard of the Speedway, but I'd guess it's a fairly big attraction in this relatively small town. I did note this in a post-stay survey I filled out, and I received an immediate response stating that they would provide a more formal orientation to new front desk staff, so maybe the problem has been rectified.

We had a very quiet stay, but noted that several lots near the hotel looked as though they were getting prepared for building, so you may want to check this site or ask at the hotel about construction noise before you book a room.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonka1234
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

While the location is not ideal if that is your criteria, it is in a mall parking lot....once your inside you think it is a much more expensive hotel. Very clean, very nice material throughout, marble floors in bathrooms, slate around pool, nice but small workout room overlooking pool. Decent breaksfast included. Very nice staff, comfortable beds and great shower.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We stayed here for a half-way stop on a drive to Ocean City, MD.

We were really impressed - it was a great room and an excellent value. It was such a comfortable room with nice decor - great to come to after hours in the car. We had a toddler with us who was barely over a year old and still drinking a couple of bottles a day - the kitchenette with fridge and microwave were perfect for preparing the bottles with ease!

Check in was easy and front desk friendly. Even though there was a convention or large meeting at the hotel, once we left the lobby, we never heard another guest the whole time we were in our room, which I thought was pretty amazing given the large number of people staying there.

Would recommend and would stay here again!

  • Liked — value, room size and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

What a pleasant place to stay after travelling for many hours!

I had picked up my adult children and we had been in relatively heavy traffic by the time we arrived at this hotel. The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly. He provided us with a roll away bed which was really needed.

The room was large and comfortable. The place was very clean and the breakfast was great. Also, it is in a nice location where there are plenty of nice restaurants for dinner.

Whenever I am driving south, I will plan to stop off at this hotel. Great value and great service!!!

  • Liked — Nice Rooms, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown

Address: 17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites/Hagerstown
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Country Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.