We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality as well as compassion at a very difficult time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Great hospitality as well as compassion at a very difficult time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful staff. Everyone (the front desk, the breakfast staff, the cleaning staff, etc) were very attentive. We stayed here 4 nights to attend a family funeral and be with those in mourning. Hotel was clean. Bed was comfortable. We stayed in a room that was handicapped accessible as we needed it. Found the room accessible, would have preferred a roll in shower as this is easier for transfers for the person who needed it, but the tub bench helped. Only problem was a slight problem with AC, but it was during the recent heat wave. For some reason our choice was either very hot or very cold, we choose very cold and they provided extra blankets. Free breakfast was wonderful - lots of choices. Good service.

Room Tip: Found higher floors to be quieter. If need roll in shower access suggest you ask if they have avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    55
    24
    16
    9
See reviews for
79
51
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in the condition of the room. Found large toenail clipping between the beds, food on the floor, ripped bedding and an odd smell in the room. Bathroom was dark and the bath towels hung down behind the toilet lid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were on the road traveling and had driven about 9 hours and we were exhausted. We called and Jean at the front desk was very nice. We drove off the highway and checked in. The room was comfortable and clean. I really can't complain about the price! A good place to hang for the night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely helpful. Good location. The room looked clean and had nice decor. The bed was fabulous and the shower felt great. So why the bad review??

The thermostat on our AC didn't work, so it was either freeze to death or unplug it - which was also unwelcomed since it was over 95 degrees out during our stay.

Our room was located right across from the elevators, so it was really noisy. You either heard the people or the elevators themselves running all night. The first morning, we headed out to start our adventures and found someone's underwear hanging on our door knob. Thoughtful as that was, we brought plenty so we didn't need to share.

That morning we also found little ants in the bathroom and the counter in the bedroom. The room seemed really clean, so this was a surprise.

During our last night, I awoke to some sort of bug that fell from the heavens and hit me in the face (I even heard a ricochet noise as it bounced off). I jumped up flinging sheets, pillows, arms... Thinking I launched said mystery bug somewhere off into the night a safe distance from myself and the bed, I laid back down. Not yet asleep, I felt something crawling by my elbow and proceeded to beat at the sheets and finally woke my boyfriend who thought I was dreaming...until he started flailing about and swatting at his head too. We finally had to get up, turn on the lights, and shake out the sheets.

Breakfast for either of the two mornings wasn't that great either. The hard boiled eggs were unnaturally rubbery and tasted as much. The mixed fruit had a near-spoiled taste. The sausage and potatoes were good though.

The indoor pool is small and usually filled with kids. But it was nice for a quick cool down.

We didn't bother complaining about the other stuff because we were rarely in our room and the hotel was booked up so we had no other room options anyways. (And it was the weekend of the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg, so everywhere was booked.)

The hotel had so many positives but the negatives were enough that we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was a good value. Accomodations were lovely and clean. Exercise room was well equipped. Upon check-in on a Friday night the woman at the desk was extremely helpful. The only thing negative I have to say is about the woman working the front desk on Saturday and Sunday morning. She started yelling at the poor woman prepping the breakfast because she was putting out the food too early. (Obviously she was unaware that this had been prearranged due to early sporting events for the majority of the guests.) Yelling at another employee in front of guests is unacceptable. The only flaw at the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for work purposes. Clean, friendly, comfortable stay, fairly decent gym that was better equipped than others. Fairly large room with couch. Good for longer stay. Decent breakfast selection Nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula OH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband says, "that was a nice hotel." The room was very big, clean and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable, which we really appreciated. This hotel is very attractive. The breakfast is very good with meat and eggs and everything else. You can eat outside on the covered porch if you like. We did not use the pool, but saw kids in it having fun. I like the fact that you get name brand shampoo and hand cream. The staff were friendly and efficient. Glad we stopped here on our way home. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD

Address: 17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#9 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#9 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites/Hagerstown
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Country Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, MD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.