We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the condition of the room. Didn't want to walk on floor!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the condition of the room. Didn't want to walk on floor!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Disappointed in the condition of the room. Found large toenail clipping between the beds, food on the floor, ripped bedding and an odd smell in the room. Bathroom was dark and the bath towels hung down behind the toilet lid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were on the road traveling and had driven about 9 hours and we were exhausted. We called and Jean at the front desk was very nice. We drove off the highway and checked in. The room was comfortable and clean. I really can't complain about the price! A good place to hang for the night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff was extremely helpful. Good location. The room looked clean and had nice decor. The bed was fabulous and the shower felt great. So why the bad review??

The thermostat on our AC didn't work, so it was either freeze to death or unplug it - which was also unwelcomed since it was over 95 degrees out during our stay.

Our room was located right across from the elevators, so it was really noisy. You either heard the people or the elevators themselves running all night. The first morning, we headed out to start our adventures and found someone's underwear hanging on our door knob. Thoughtful as that was, we brought plenty so we didn't need to share.

That morning we also found little ants in the bathroom and the counter in the bedroom. The room seemed really clean, so this was a surprise.

During our last night, I awoke to some sort of bug that fell from the heavens and hit me in the face (I even heard a ricochet noise as it bounced off). I jumped up flinging sheets, pillows, arms... Thinking I launched said mystery bug somewhere off into the night a safe distance from myself and the bed, I laid back down. Not yet asleep, I felt something crawling by my elbow and proceeded to beat at the sheets and finally woke my boyfriend who thought I was dreaming...until he started flailing about and swatting at his head too. We finally had to get up, turn on the lights, and shake out the sheets.

Breakfast for either of the two mornings wasn't that great either. The hard boiled eggs were unnaturally rubbery and tasted as much. The mixed fruit had a near-spoiled taste. The sausage and potatoes were good though.

The indoor pool is small and usually filled with kids. But it was nice for a quick cool down.

We didn't bother complaining about the other stuff because we were rarely in our room and the hotel was booked up so we had no other room options anyways. (And it was the weekend of the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg, so everywhere was booked.)

The hotel had so many positives but the negatives were enough that we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oysterbaby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was a good value. Accomodations were lovely and clean. Exercise room was well equipped. Upon check-in on a Friday night the woman at the desk was extremely helpful. The only thing negative I have to say is about the woman working the front desk on Saturday and Sunday morning. She started yelling at the poor woman prepping the breakfast because she was putting out the food too early. (Obviously she was unaware that this had been prearranged due to early sporting events for the majority of the guests.) Yelling at another employee in front of guests is unacceptable. The only flaw at the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for work purposes. Clean, friendly, comfortable stay, fairly decent gym that was better equipped than others. Fairly large room with couch. Good for longer stay. Decent breakfast selection Nothing negative to say.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctraveler6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband says, "that was a nice hotel." The room was very big, clean and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable, which we really appreciated. This hotel is very attractive. The breakfast is very good with meat and eggs and everything else. You can eat outside on the covered porch if you like. We did not use the pool, but saw kids in it having fun. I like the fact that you get name brand shampoo and hand cream. The staff were friendly and efficient. Glad we stopped here on our way home. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, Ohio
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Second time at this hotel. It is convenient to 81 and 70, as well as shopping and restaurants.

The hotel is in excellent condition, the staff is friendly, the entire property is nice and clean. Breakfast hours are until 10am, which is great for late sleepers. Pool is open 6am-midnight which is awesome when you roll in at 10pm, when most hotels pool would be closed. Pool facility is very nice and clean and has an accessible bathroom and a shower poolside to rinse off before heading back to your room.

Breakfast was coffee/tea/juice/milk, toaster with bagels, english muffins, and toast. Mini muffins and pastries, oatmeal, waffle maker, as well as scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon. Everything was fresh and tasty, and everything was good quality.

Very comfortable bed with nice flatscreen TV in room, fridge and microwave, and a nice clean bathroom with comfortable tub.

I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Hagerstown and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patgizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#7 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hagerstown
Courtyard Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown

Address: 17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Carlson, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Country Inn And Suites/Hagerstown
Country Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing