We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the foreigners brought in from Hungary to clean your rooms.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beware of the foreigners brought in from Hungary to clean your rooms.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were there last weekend. Couldn't even take our children into the pool area and outdoor porch area, because of all the Hungarian men who are employees of the hotel brought in to clean rooms and hotel maintenance and are housed in the hotel. There was a large group of them chain smoking, blaring their music, and jumping in the pool with their clothes on, and then proceeding to get out of the pool and disrobe down to their underware. Even when we kindly asked them to put their clothes back on around our children, they continued to party it up and monopolize the entire pool and porch area with their never ending smoking, drinking and yelling and running around wearing a plastic bag. We went to the front desk to ask for some assistance from a young woman clerk, but she said she was working by herself and could do nothing about it. The next morning when we spoke to the GM, (Eugenia and Ambrish (sp), they said it must have been some other Hungarians, not their employees..., Do you want lyers in your room with your belongings? I don't think so....... .

Room Tip: Look for another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    72
    32
    19
    11
See reviews for
98
60
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel was conveniently located for our trip. The room was quite spacious, and the best part was the hot breakfast the following morning. It had to be one of the best free breakfast offered by any hotel that we have stayed at. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through this area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGTN, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! Country Inn & Suites has the best Continental Breakfast Programs among its competitors. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to the Hagerstown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just an overnight stop on our way back from Florida. Looked nice from the outside. The lobby was very clean, but the room had an odor...
We had a problem with the room key. Kelly, the clerk was VERY helpful.

Room Tip: Just stay away from 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I'm not sure how to put this...The hotel was very nice- breakfast was good, the room was clean and comfortable. There was not a hot tub (disappointing), but the pool was very nice and the temp was good. The walls however, must be made out of cardboard. I'm glad my kids were in the other room on the pull out couch because I didn't have to explain what was happening in the next room...if you catch my drift.

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom suite which was adequate for us and our 3 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGTN, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Amy, first I'd like to sincerely apologize for the guests next door to you during your stay. Unfortunately not all guests are kind and respectful of others around them. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay as far as the location, cleanliness and service. Several years ago we did expand our fitness center which took out our pool area hot tub. On the other hand maybe you'd like to try out one of our Jacuzzi room suites on your next visit to Hagerstown! GO CUSE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here on a drive from NC to CT... this is a good stop a little more than half-way. We arrived late, close to midnight. The staff person was welcoming, the hotel was clean and inviting, the bedroom and bathroom were both very clean, the beds comfortable. We had ordered a roll-away bed for the room, but this was somehow translated to a shower chair, which is what we found waiting in the shower instead of a cot in the room. The night concierge quickly and cheerfully brought the cot and took the chair. The breakfast buffet was quite nice the next morning... good variety, fresh foods.
The hotel is tucked in behind a shopping mall, so it's far enough away from the the highway that we didn't hear any traffic noise. And one of the nicest things: the windows actually opened and we were able to enjoy fresh cool air at night. The refrigerator was rather noisy, which is my only complaint. I would stay here again on our trips north.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGTN, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
RRMM thank you for your feedback, we are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our staff in regards to the cot and housekeeping service. We work hard to make sure our guests are well taken care of. We believe that by providing a great service adds much more value to your stay. Thank you once again and we hope to see you on your next trip heading north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanoch, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The good news is that this hotel is pet friendly. So if you're traveling with Fido or Fifi, you'll be welcomed here. The bad news? Well, let's begin with the telephone system. We could get an outside dial tone, but all those buttons for instant access--marked "desk" or "housekeeping" or "emergency"--didn't work at all. That's right, even the "emergency" phone button was dead. We had wanted to call the desk (using that malfunctioning phone) to ask why half the TV stations listed on the room's information sheet bought in nothing but static. It seems management here started cutting costs by reducing services, like all those extra TV stations...but then why list them in the room info sheet? We ended up reading books instead. Next morning, there were signs of even more cost-cutting at breakfast (if that's what it was). Available was a truly skimpy fruit salad...a few slices of bread...the ubiquitous do-it-yourself waffles...some coffee (which was good enough to be the highlight of the visit). The room itself was oddly laid out, with an oversized shower that bumped strangely into the sleeping area, and a sink situated not in a separate bathroom, but in the bedroom itself. Two lovely pictures were hung over the bed, but one was badly off-kilter; when we tried to straighten it, we learned both had been permanently mounted to the wall and couldn't be altered. Fortunately, the mattress itself was unexpectedly comfortable. Back to that good news, then...your cat or dog probably won't mind the many defects of this facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We made a mystery" reservation on Hotwire for a very low price, so our expectations were not high. We were pleasantly surprised. The desk clerk was accommodating and gave us our preferred room type. The room was huge and so quiet that we didn't even know until we were checking out that the boisterous family of four we had seen around the place was staying next door! Good beds, nice marble bath, and exceptionally good lighting. Good coffee and tea available 24/7. (Minor quibble: get rid of the styrofoam.) We had brunch plans so didn't take advantage of the free breakfast, but it looked good. Little book-lending library was a nice touch. Located at a shopping mall, so handy if not scenic. Small indoor pool, laundramat, exercise room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGTN, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Booking hotels can be a mystery at times so we are certainly glad that we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. Many of guests enjoy the book selection in our library and the 24/7 coffee stand! We are in the process of changing out coffee provider so we hope we can do away with the styrofoam cups. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Hagerstown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hagerstown hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#2 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
Ramada Plaza Hagerstown
#7 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hagerstown
Courtyard Hagerstown
#4 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown

Address: 17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#9 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites/Hagerstown
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Country Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.