We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel and great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure everything was okay. However we had a noisy fridge that we didn't notice until we were in bed with the TV off. Slept okay anyway, but the staff was very apologetic and I received an email back from the manager saying they are taking care of the problem. Breakfast had lots of choices and was attended to by helpful and attentive staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
We thank you for choosing The Country Inn & Suites for your stay in March and we hope to continue to serve you in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us with everything except the fridge being loud and we have took care of that issue for you. Customers like you are the key to our success and the foundation of our business and we want you to be satisfied at all times. We value your business and we hope to continue to serve you. Again, we thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    38
    19
    13
    5
See reviews for
53
40
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here traveling to ny.Hotel seems to be under some kind of renovation.Check in was quick and easy.Rooms are ok..nothing to get excited about.Furniture has stains on them and and fridgerator is noisy.Breakfast was ok.Some of the pastries seemed stale and the bread was so hard i didnt even have to put it in the toaster.Linda the breakfast lady was rude and spent most of her time talking at the front desk.Was also disappointed that they didnt have any waffles!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
We deeply apologize for the experience you encounter during your stay with us and we have addressed the issues reguarding the concerns you had with your stay. We do apologize deeply for the renovation's and we are almost finished, so we can have our beautiful property back in order. We had a major pipe bust and it caused a lot of damage and we are working through it and almost complete. We value your business and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future
We hope to have another opportunity to serve you so you can see how we have improved on the feedback that you had given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

nicest place and great price everyone was so nice great breakfast too

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
It was our pleasure to had the opportunity to have served you and we hope you will continue to stay with us when your travels bring you back to the area. Customers like you are key to our success and the foundation of our business and we value your business very much. We thank you for your stay and we can't wait to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel. Really deserves a 4.5 rating, the only thing less than perfect was the comfort of the bed, which of course is rather subjective. The reservations were accurate, and our room was quite spacious and very clean. The limited interactions that we had with the staff were always pleasant, and the breakfast buffet was very good and offered a nice variety. An over all very good experience. This is the fist time that we stayed at this chain; if this hotel is an accurate reflection, we will always consider Country Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Understand this hotel is at the edge of a mall parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for selecting The Country Inn & Suites for your stay and it was our pleasure to had the opportunity to had served you and we hope we may serve you again in the near future. So pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff we have on board, we love offering our guest our great customer service skills. We thank you so much for your stay and we can't wait to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, L.I., NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed for one night on Sept. 17th. Upon arrival was informed of renovations in progress due to broken sprinkler pipe. We stayed in a clean, comfortable room with a quality breakfast in the morning. There was an odor in the hallway more than likely due to the renovations but in no way did that enter into our room. The hotel was close to I-70 and I-81 and very convenient to our travels to Boonsboro. Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at The Country Inn & Suites and it was a real pleasure to had the opportunity to had served you and we hope to continue to serve you in the near future. We hope upon your next visit we will be completed our renovations and we can show the beauty of our facility. We would like to thank you for selecting Country Inn & Suites and we can't wait to see you again when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I stayed here for one night on Sept 13th in room 313. Renovations ARE in progress on 1/3 of the hotel. The foyer area is very nice but that is where it ends. Upon coming up the elevator in the renovation area, my room was just 500ft from the renovations. I did not hear any of the noise from the renovations but did hear the elephants walking around in the room above me until 11pm and then in the morning (I even had earplugs in). The first thing “wrong” with the room that I noticed was the musty smell. Went over to the air unit and noticed mold stains on the outlet blower panels. Both beds had issues. I did not find any bedbugs but both comforters had dirty spots. So I then checked the blankets underneath. The bed I would have preferred had some suspicious dried blood or something clumped on it, so I checked the other bed....and found old pink stains on the sheets. Knowing that the hotel was sold out, I chose the lesser of the two evils. Definitely removed the comforter and found what appeared to be a clean extra blanket in the closet. Sleeping went fine after dinner at a local restaurant. In the morning I hit the gym which is in the lobby with tons of glass windows for EVERYONE to look at you like an insect. Oh, the pool is behind the gym and it is rather small and looks in need of a makeover. After the gym I went to my room to stretch and put down a bath towel to lay on....glad I did, found a huge clump of hair on the floor that was not mine....apparently they do not vacuum the entire room. The breakfast is self serve with a variety of cold items, bacon, potatoes (I enjoyed these the most) and some kind of round omelet thing I didn't want to guess about. I used the waffle maker which does take a bit of smarts to figure out to spray it first, then get the right amount of batter in the little cup and then unless you want to burn it, take it out before the timer goes off. (NO DIRECTIONS WERE PROVIDED). So, in the end, if I had been paying for this stay myself, I would have run the other way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We apologize deeply for the experience you encountered during your stay with us at The Country Inn & Suites and we wish the front desk would have known of the issues so we could have addressed them quickly for you, like moving you to another room or upgrade you to a suite room. After reviewing our front desk log book we did not see any issues on this date, so we were unaware of any problems for that evening. Customers like you are the key to our success and the foundation of our business and we value your business very much, we want to keep all of our guests satisfied at all times. We truly hope upon your next visit we can meet or exceed your expectations of our award winning facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Such a nice hotel, we've stayed in Marriotts that weren't this nice. It looks like they are adding on to the hotel, there is a little dust in the hallways but no noise. We stayed in a king suite and the room and beds were immaculate, our daughter stayed on the sofa bed and she was comfortable. It was nice to have our own bedroom and a big TV in there. The pool was nice and had long open hours, and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend the suite option even for couples because of the huge bed. The hotel is next to a huge mall and about 10 minutes or less from an outlet center. There are restaurants everywhere, Golden Corral is across the parking lot and Chuck E. Cheese is literally steps from the front door. Price was great, we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgtn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
It was such a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you at our hotel and we hope to continue to serve you in the near future. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to have you stay again. Customers like you are the key to our success and the foundation of our business and we want to keep you as a satisfied customer because we value your business so much. We thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again real soon.



Dale Wireman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown

Address: 17612 Valley Mall Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#9 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Country Inn And Suites/Hagerstown
Country Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites/Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.