We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...slow delivery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nick's Airport Inn

Nick's Airport Inn
Pennsylvannia Avenue, Hagerstown, MD 21742
301.733.8560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 201 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food...slow delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went to The Airport Inn last night for our anniversary. We had a reservation and arrived a few minutes early. It's a large restaurant with a number of different rooms so hard to tell how many people were inside but the parking lot was not all that full. The food was really, really good. I had tilapia a la Francis and it was one of the best tilapia dishes that I think I ever had. My husband had the crab cakes and really enjoyed them as we'll. my only issues were with the chair which was too high for my feet to rest comfortably on the floor and the amount of time it took to get our entree. I am not tall but at 5' 3", I usually don't have a problem with my feet reaching the floor comfortably. Our waiter was pleasant and accommodating. He did come and apologize for the slow service and said that their were two large groups that had come in and it was taking the kitchen awhile to prepare our food. The restaurant had a great many empty seats and I think they should have been able to accommodate all the people who were there without any degradation of service. I would hate to see what service would be like it they were full. The only thing keeping me from rating service as poor, is the fact that the waiter did a really nice job despite the slow service from the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    8
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The menu selection is excellent, food very good and atmosphere is pleasant. Service is usually good except when they are exceptionally busy. We usually avoid weekends.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Run, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“expecting much better but had a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Anticipating a wonderful meal based on this restaurant’s general reputation and reviews we read here, and lovers of good seafood, we decided to celebrate our 51st wedding anniversary with dinner at Nick’s. We had 2 good lunch experiences there in the past year but had never been there for dinner. The dinner and dining experience was terrible. The major problem was that the main course took over an hour to get to our table, and was way overcooked (lobster savanah with very tough, almost inedible, lobster pieces ) or undercooked (lobster ravioli which contained large pieces of lobster shell – sloppy preparation). When asked why it took so long, her first answer was “I don’t know”, that later changed to “the kitchen is very busy” (we arrived when the restaurant opened at 4:30pm so there weren't many patrons when we got there; people around us who arrived much later were getting served while we sat and waited). But there were other problems: first, In taking the drink order, the waitress led us to believe the only choices were wine or water. Then she had difficulty describing the “lobster savanah” on the menu. She didn’t tell us that the sides she was pushing and we initially chose were priced “a la carte”. We learned that only after hearing another waitress explain the complete sides choices to the next table. So we changed our sides order when we next saw our waitress. She offered a free cheesecake desert but we left as quickly as we could and will not go back. $80 tuition to the school of hard knocks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Owner at Nick's Airport Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear dadb321,

I want to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant incident you had at our restaurant on June 16, 2014. Your comments were most troubling but I want to unequivocally thank you for bringing this to my attention. Without your feedback I might never have known of it. I know that I can't change the past, however I would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Please email me at paul@nicksairportinn.com

Thank You,

Paul Giannaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This was just how I remember.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

It's been 15 years since I've been back having moved out of state. We came back on vacation to find the food quality and service was as good as we remembered it to be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner. Great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Had the crab cakes and they were very tasty, all lump meat and no filler. Others in our party ordered vegetarian pasta, lamp chops, salmon, and waygu ribeye. Each entree came with a salad and a side, were well prepared, and did not disappoint. The coconut cream pie with its giant peak of merengue and sprinkles of toasted coconut was a mountain of dessert goodness. The warm apple tart with carmel sauce and vanilla ice cream was Mmmm Mmmm good. The good food combined with the excellent service made for a great dining experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Airport Inn also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nick's Airport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.