We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 28 South

28 South
28 South Potomac Street, Hagerstown, MD
2821740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 228 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had heard mixed reviews of 28 South. After trying, I was impressed. Our server Brittany was really friendly and knowledgeable. We were very impressed with the pizza and panini. The chef even approached our table to check on how we were which was a nice finishing touch. The atmosphere is also very pleasant. Definitely worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't impressed by their food. It was good but not great. The atmosphere was boring though . nice beer selection. Spacious. Has an upper level that looks cool

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiereviewer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last minute decision to drive down and have lunch. Antietam Panini was very good and hubby had a pizza. Love the pizzas here, hand crafted and delicious. I forget the name of his, but the Andouille sausage on it was great. Beer selection was good and the waiter had no problem letting us look over the list--he came back in a few minutes, as soon as he saw we had decided. Love the booths...very private with tall backs so you almost feel alone! Didn't realize they had an upstairs private party space. We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SubaruTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I go to 28 South semi regularly. The bartender Dustin is phenomenal, and very helpful and fast paced.

Beer selection is good but can be slightly overwhelming, I will usually get a domestic while I decide on my craft.

Food can be very good and sometimes just mediocre. It depends on the day.

Overall, a good place with a great front of house staff. Owner is very involved and is usually seen each time I am there. Always quick to rectify any issues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chef8907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have eaten at 28 South several times and continue to be impressed. The service is always great, the beer list is phenomenal and the food is always good. There are a few recipes that could use just a little tweaking, but we have never been disappointed. The casual food goes well with the casual dinner crowd we usually find. The owner seems to really care about the success of the restaurant and usually greets each table at some point in time. The ginger martini has quickly become my new favorite adult beverage. Even our normally picky sixteen year old enjoyed her dinner, which is always a plus in my book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jandj1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 28 South also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to 28 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing