We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 28 South

28 South
28 South Potomac Street, Hagerstown, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 199 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had heard mixed reviews of 28 South. After trying, I was impressed. Our server Brittany was really friendly and knowledgeable. We were very impressed with the pizza and panini. The chef even approached our table to check on how we were which was a nice finishing touch. The atmosphere is also very pleasant. Definitely worth it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Simple dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I wasn't impressed by their food. It was good but not great. The atmosphere was boring though . nice beer selection. Spacious. Has an upper level that looks cool

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last minute decision to drive down and have lunch. Antietam Panini was very good and hubby had a pizza. Love the pizzas here, hand crafted and delicious. I forget the name of his, but the Andouille sausage on it was great. Beer selection was good and the waiter had no problem letting us look over the list--he came back in a few minutes, as soon as he saw we had decided. Love the booths...very private with tall backs so you almost feel alone! Didn't realize they had an upstairs private party space. We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I go to 28 South semi regularly. The bartender Dustin is phenomenal, and very helpful and fast paced.

Beer selection is good but can be slightly overwhelming, I will usually get a domestic while I decide on my craft.

Food can be very good and sometimes just mediocre. It depends on the day.

Overall, a good place with a great front of house staff. Owner is very involved and is usually seen each time I am there. Always quick to rectify any issues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have eaten at 28 South several times and continue to be impressed. The service is always great, the beer list is phenomenal and the food is always good. There are a few recipes that could use just a little tweaking, but we have never been disappointed. The casual food goes well with the casual dinner crowd we usually find. The owner seems to really care about the success of the restaurant and usually greets each table at some point in time. The ginger martini has quickly become my new favorite adult beverage. Even our normally picky sixteen year old enjoyed her dinner, which is always a plus in my book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 28 South also viewed

 

Been to 28 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 28 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.