We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good times!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 28 South

28 South
28 South Potomac Street, Hagerstown, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 201 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have eaten at 28 South several times and continue to be impressed. The service is always great, the beer list is phenomenal and the food is always good. There are a few recipes that could use just a little tweaking, but we have never been disappointed. The casual food goes well with the casual dinner crowd we usually find. The owner seems to really care about the success of the restaurant and usually greets each table at some point in time. The ginger martini has quickly become my new favorite adult beverage. Even our normally picky sixteen year old enjoyed her dinner, which is always a plus in my book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining in downtown Hagerstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Downtown Hagerstown is a trip. Several very interesting venues in a two block area. We chose 28 South. It turned out to be an excellent choice. We arrived and left before the music started at 9, but the menu and service were outstanding. Being this close to the Chesapeake Bay, one expects, no demands, good and fresh seafood. We were not disappointed. Three of us had the salmon special and the less venturous had the cod. All were excellent. Give this place a shot. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was here almost a year ago when the place had been reopened. My experience then was just the same as my most recent! First, last October, I was dining with a few friends. We had crab wontons, which were really nice, but everything else, just did not hit the mark. Food was cold, service was slow, and drinks were not made as they were advertised. Very disappointing.

My next trip, August 2013, was as bad or worse than my first experience here. In fact, everything was so bad I received a $10 gift card for a future visit, NO THANKS! Again food not only cold, but bland. Female bartender paying more attention to staff then her 8 dining guests, making drinks wrong again. (If you offer a nice beer selection, make sure your bartenders know which beers to pour) I was very disappointed in my experiences here. Recommend next door or down the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, MD
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“They try but don't hit the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Both the cooks and waitstaff try hard but they are not quite there yet. The chicken fondu is an interesting idea but it didn't taste like chicken or fondue. Wonderfully cooked cod in the fish and chips but the fries were thin cut and had been held in a warmer, tough not crisp. The crab pizza my wife had had a nice crust but didn't make it to our table piping hot. The topping looked unattractive when it cooled?
.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place in the Arts/Entertainment area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate dinner at 28 South while passing through Hagerstown in early August. We had eaten at a restaurant in the same location 3 years ago and had a great meal and wanted to try it again. That restaurant is gone and 28 South is now there and what a nice find the new place is. We ate on the outside patio and as mentioned in another review it can be loud but it is worth being outside. Another caution about being outside is that smoking is allowed and can be pretty powerful when trying to enjoy a nice meal. The inside seating is great also with a large bar and 2 levels of seating. The food is great here. We shared blue crab dumplings that were very flavorful and huge. I had the blue crab cakes which are 2 very large cakes full of crab, sauteed spinach, a special of fingerling potatoes-all excellent. My wife had the fish tacos which consisted of 3 tacos with fresh fish and great toppings. Her meal was so large she could not finish even 2 of the tacos. There is a very large selection of craft beers to try and nightly specials on many. The wine list is limited but we got a bottle of the house chard for a great price. Service is very good with our waiter very knowledgeable about the food served and the beer selection. I would highly recommend this restaurant for dinner. The customers are a nice mix of ages and mainly locals who know they have a good place to eat. We met the owner/chef and complimented him on the food and service. We also mentioned the smoking and how some of his staff were taking breaks in the dining area to smoke with friends (a guy rode up on a bike and asked for a smoke leaning across the fence to get it then staying there to smoke). He was very apologetic and appreciated being told of this as he was not aware. When we drive south again, 28 South will definitely be in our travel plans.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 28 South also viewed

 

Been to 28 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 28 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.