We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendly's
12814-A Shank Farm Way, Hagerstown, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 228 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visit Friendly's frequently and always are served good food with good service. Our son loves the fact that he can have dessert with his meal which encourages him to eat his supper, something no mother can complain about. The Build Your Own Burger can be pricey depending on what you want on it, but is a great value as it's huge and very, very tasty. The steak sandwich is always tasty as well. Breakfast is also a good value and never disappoints. Ice cream selection is awesome and the vast array of toppings you can add make sure you never get the same thing twice, unless comfort is your goal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sanetoolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
165 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

So we went to Friendly's and as always food was very good. I was impressed with the variety of selections; seems like they have revamped the menu.
I really enjoyed the Fisherman's Platter which has scallops, shrimp and flounder and also comes with two sides. The waiter was very gracious and allowed me to change the original side of cole slaw with applesauce.
My daughter ordered a side of corn on the cob. She didn't realize it had butter on it and so the waiter quickly took it back. He came back saying unfortunately that side automatically comes with butter so instead they gave her a side dish of just corn, which both my daughter and I greatly appreciated.
The only negative is my soda costs $2.49 which seems a bit expensive as far as I'm concerned. This however will not deter us from a return visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdtinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Food that is addictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I can walk to Friendly's and walking is the only way we can justify eating there as the food is so good but oh so high in calories. We usually order one of the senior offerings and of course it comes with a sundae. They quality is very good and the servers are very friendly. We really do enjoy their food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmorin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Frendly Frendly's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

the food, ice cream the people that work there how we are treated there. We can go there at any time and are treated very well

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the Clams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's well beyond my diet but the Senior Clams and a cup of Clam Chowder hits the spot on o cold day. It's entertaining for these old folks to watch the little kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Popcorn-Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing