We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Friendly's
12814-A Shank Farm Way, Hagerstown, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 200 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We visit Friendly's frequently and always are served good food with good service. Our son loves the fact that he can have dessert with his meal which encourages him to eat his supper, something no mother can complain about. The Build Your Own Burger can be pricey depending on what you want on it, but is a great value as it's huge and very, very tasty. The steak sandwich is always tasty as well. Breakfast is also a good value and never disappoints. Ice cream selection is awesome and the vast array of toppings you can add make sure you never get the same thing twice, unless comfort is your goal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

So we went to Friendly's and as always food was very good. I was impressed with the variety of selections; seems like they have revamped the menu.
I really enjoyed the Fisherman's Platter which has scallops, shrimp and flounder and also comes with two sides. The waiter was very gracious and allowed me to change the original side of cole slaw with applesauce.
My daughter ordered a side of corn on the cob. She didn't realize it had butter on it and so the waiter quickly took it back. He came back saying unfortunately that side automatically comes with butter so instead they gave her a side dish of just corn, which both my daughter and I greatly appreciated.
The only negative is my soda costs $2.49 which seems a bit expensive as far as I'm concerned. This however will not deter us from a return visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food that is addictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I can walk to Friendly's and walking is the only way we can justify eating there as the food is so good but oh so high in calories. We usually order one of the senior offerings and of course it comes with a sundae. They quality is very good and the servers are very friendly. We really do enjoy their food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Frendly Frendly's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

the food, ice cream the people that work there how we are treated there. We can go there at any time and are treated very well

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try the Clams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's well beyond my diet but the Senior Clams and a cup of Clam Chowder hits the spot on o cold day. It's entertaining for these old folks to watch the little kids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.