We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of port city java

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
port city java
1551 Potomac Avenue, Hagerstown, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 201 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Independent coffee house- the coffee is far superior to places like Starbucks- my favorite is the mocha shake- delicious! There is a drive through in the back of the shopping center, if you don't want to go in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Coffee in unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great brewed coffee, but also offer many specail coffee drinks. Large selection of desserts and gift items too. The atmosphere is unique and hip. A neat place to hang out and visit with friends or take a much needed break from a busy day. Always receive great service and yummy coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm by no means a coffee freak but I do enjoy a nice cup of coffee, especially on a cold winter day. We can walk to Port City Java from our house and it is a nice place to have a cup of coffee or hot chocolate and a snack as they also serve light fare. We were somewhat surprised that this coffee shop has been able to make it in today's economy but they seem to be doing fine. They also host open mike nights on a regular basis. They younger crowd seems to really enjoy the place as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Comfy cafe, inside and out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've only been to Port City Java once so, this is more a first-impression type of review. The environment was laid back and casual with sort of a hipstery younger crowd vibe with folks chatting in small groups or in singles on laptops. The barista was very friendly and forthcoming when I asked her for some recommendations for something to drink; I went with a grande Snickers ($4.60) which indeed had all of the sweet-tooth-satisfying elements of caramel, peanuts and chocolate. While I was waiting for my candy bar in a cup, I enjoyed looking at their community stand which has small stacks of business cards for local reflexologists, independent consultants, etc. There are also shelves of artisan mugs that are for sale.

The location of the cafe is wonderful for many reasons: parking is a snap and they have a lovely courtyard for fresh-air-breathing and tasty-beverage-sipping when the weather is nice as it usually is in mid-to-late April. Suffice it to say that I am looking forward to returning and I'm thankful it's conveniently located in between my home and my work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Tunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great coffee and live mostly acoustic tunes. The pastries are good to. The tables outside are great too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed port city java also viewed

 

Been to port city java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage port city java, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.