We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute downtown spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhubarb House

Rhubarb House
12 Public Sq, Hagerstown, MD 21740-5511
301-733-4399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 197 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
venice
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute downtown spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Popped in for late lunch after courthouse business, we were greeted immediately and given a table. Waitress was efficient and attentive and still fabulous after my son spilled his water and she had to clean it up. We tried special of day and something off the regular menu, both good. Nice comfortable décor.I'd give this a go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food & Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My mother and I decided to try our this restaurant for dinner (Saturday night) because of the excellent ratings we read about this place....needless to say, glad we did! When we arrived for our 7:45 reservation, we were happily greeted by our waitress who already had a table prepared and set for us (great first impression). We both agreed the atmosphere is very welcoming and not too overwhelming. We ordered two entrees, which were the grilled vegetable vegetable salad and pecan encrusted salmon. She throughly enjoyed her salad. The salmon was superb! Can honestly admit was one of the best pieces of salmon I've had. The food presentation was very nice too. The desserts looked amazing but was too full to try!

The owner, Shelly (sorry if I misspelled), personally came to our table to ask how our meal was. This is something I love to see in restaurants, especially ones that are locally owned. The owner is a very hard working lady who has owned this restaurant for a numerous amount of years. If you are in the Hagerstown area, I would certainly recommend it for lunch and dinner. If I recall, dinner is only served on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great non-chain option in downtown Hagerstown. Homemade menu options, delicious food & amazing service. Open for lunch during the week and dinner on the weekends, be sure to check it out- you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Salmon Dinner Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The pecan encrusted salmon was the best salmon I've ever eaten! The pecans were finely chopped and a perfect complement to the salmon. The grilled vegetables were perfectly cooked. My friend got the chocolate cake with peanut butter icing...to die for! Attentive service; very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super luncheon with my friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lunched here recently with 4 friends. Everything was excellent--food, service, atmosphere!!. Very good Turkey Reuben--but my friend's Chicken Caesar looked awesome! The winter decorations added to the delightful vibe of this very friendly restaurant. We all want to return to sample the other yummy selections! Ps -the wine was a generous pour and quite delicious for the small price!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb House also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Rhubarb House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhubarb House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.