We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHOKING from the cigarette smoke!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Hagerstown

Motel 6 Hagerstown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Hagerstown to your Saves list
Motel 6 Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   11321 Massey Boulevard, I-81 at Exit #5/Halfway Boulevard, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHOKING from the cigarette smoke!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Most smoke odor filled room ever imagined. It was a "nonsmoking" room.

Horrible smell!!

Cleanliness was acceptable.

appears there are "long term" guests, as there was a cat in one window.

We will not chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
7
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edenton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here on a spur-of-the-moment decision; it was dark and raining on the interstate and we decided we'd had enough driving for the night. Google directed us to an area where several hotels were located, and this Motel 6 was the first one we saw. The staff was quite friendly and helpful, despite no reservation- she even directed us to restaurants that were still open. The motel itself is probably quite old- the style is in the old single-story, park-in-front-of-your-door type buildings, so unloading baggage and dog was quick and easy. But the room itself was clean- we had the parquet floor (no carpets to complain about), fresh linens and towels, and the a/c worked at just the right volume for sleeping. Admittedly, we did hear the early risers leaving the next morning out in the parking lot, but such is life when you stay 10 feet from your car. All in all a good experience & wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed one night there, when returning from Toledo, OH, to Washington D.C. international airport for returning to Europe. Very standard road side motel, with clean rooms, clean and fresh linen, and a properly working air conditioning system.
You may spend more money in other areas.

Room Tip: Stay away from the reception side in building 1. This might get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from South Carolina. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the last 13 years and this was the worst. The carpet was stained, the beds were like bricks and stained as well. It smelled horrible. Car alarms were going off in the middle of the night and we could hear other guests arguing and doors slamming all night. Our door would not shut and instead of moving us to another room we were told how to hit the handle just right to get it to close. The staff was nice enough but they had people there doing work and we could not tell if the workers from loiterers. The mall is nice and it is close but the other hotels are within walking distance. We stayed on a Friday night and payed $58.00 plus tax which was $50.00 too much. Nice area but we will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed overnight while traveling from TN to CT. Nothing fancy, but a nice, clean, comfortable room for the night. Check-in was smooth and easy and the lady working the front desk was very nice. I was quite fortunate that no one was in either of the rooms beside me that night...VERY nice sleeping!

I left my personal pillow by mistake in the room when I checked out; didn't realize I had left it behind it until I arrived at my CT destination. Almost a week later, when I was driving back through Hagerstown on my way home, I stopped by to see if they still had it. Not only was the pillow still there, but they washed the pillow case!

The next time I am through Hagerstown and need a place to stay, I will DEFINITELY look this Motel 6 up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have stayed many times at the Motel 6. The motel was just updated a few years ago, and the bedspreads are only a few years old. The place provides no-frills, but a safe, clean place to stay if you're in the area. Yes, you can spend more for more amenities like indoor pool, spa, breakfast buffet.... I personally find those things to be a waste of money. This Motel 6 has Ice, vending, coffee and pastries in the morning, parking in front of your room, allows dogs to stay for free and has a large grassy area for dogs to relieve themselves. The parking lot is well-lighted and as many times as I have stayed here (4, two of those times for a week each) I have never felt unsafe nor been disappointed in the service or price I payed for staying here. The area is quite safe, right across the street from a popular mall (Valley Mall) and next door to a Dollar store. Across the highway there are many, many places to eat and shop as well, and a great grocery store. I love this motel. If you want a fancy bed or more amenities, this place is NOT for you. But if you just want a bed, shower, coffee, a pool in season, quiet and convenience, this IS your place.

Room Tip: This place is across from a mall, and very near outlet mall, shopping, and lots of restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morganville NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

liked that it was one story outside corridors, tall fence separating from adjacent shopping center. Usual cups and soap only inside. Adequate, typical, for that I give 3 stars because nothing luxurious even if no problems.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hagerstown

Address: 11321 Massey Boulevard, I-81 at Exit #5/Halfway Boulevard, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hagerstown 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Hagerstown
Hagerstown Motel 6
Hagerstown Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.