We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandkids LOVED Cowboy Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antietam Recreation

Antietam Recreation
9745 Garis Shop Road, Hagerstown, MD 21740
301.797.7999
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antietam Recreation is a family-owned and operated facility that specializes in providing family fun in a Christian atmosphere. Attended by over 8,000 people each year, our dinner shows offer a wide array of evening entertainment. Whether it be the daring stunts of Cowboy Andy Rotz, fabulous fifties-style fun, a patriotic extravaganza, or a romantic evening accompanied by Elvis favorites, there's always somthing for everyone! Our summer day camp for children ages 5-13 provides an unparalleled outdoor experience and remains one of the most sought after summer childcare venues in the tri-state area.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Grandkids LOVED Cowboy Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Wow, great place for family dinner and show with a Christian atmosphere. On entry they pose you with the live horse, provide you with toy guns, bags of pretend cash and take your picture.On arrival you received hot cider, coffee or coca for the kids.and a bag of popcorn. You then could visit the gift shop and where the children can roast marshmallows over an open fire. We were so surprised at the petting zoo, the animals were so tame and friendly, the kids even held the chickens! They then were given rides around the park on horses. It was raining some so we couldn't take the stage coach ride. The dinner was very good and also had a special kids meal with chicken nugget, cheese and macaroni and also tiny pizzas, of course perfect for kids. The show was very entertaining even for the adults. Unfortunately, many kids are not familiar with cowboys and westerns anymore, it would be good for them to see a couple TV shows ie; Roy Rogers or Bonanza prior to going. One cowboy is in the Guinness Book of World Records for the fastest drawl and rope tricks.... great show even on on a rainy night! We will definitely take our grandchildren there again next year!! Well worth a visit! You will thoroughly enjoy it!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antietam_Recreation, Front Office Manager at Antietam Recreation, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience! We're pleased to hear it was an enjoyable night for your family. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hancock, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Christmas With A BANG!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Had a wonderful time with my family and friends! The food was delicious, entertainment was outstanding, and overall atmosphere was genuine. I loved the cowboy theme, but also loved that they added the real reason for the season: Christ. I highly recommend this show to families and others alike. I can guarantee it won't be my last time visiting Antietam Recreation!!!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antietam_Recreation, Front Office Manager at Antietam Recreation, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
We're so pleased to hear that you had a fun night Ashton. Thanks for taking the time to share. Merry Christmas and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Line, Maryland
1 review
“Great Show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Well worth every dime spent! Can't wait until our son is old enough to go. He will absolutely love it. Food is great, the show and people are even better! Definitely going back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antietam_Recreation, Front Office Manager at Antietam Recreation, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to share with us. Merry Christmas and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cowboy Christmas Show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Went on group bus trip to this show. Knew nothing about it before, not even sure where it was.
We were offered outdoor activities, but it was cold, so our group went inside. We stood in line, outdoors, to wait for photos with the horse. When we finally got in, we could go get hot cider, coffee, or hot cocoa. We eventually found the place to roast marshmallows, in the basement, next to the gift shop.
Food was served but mediocre in quality, canned veggies, grilled chicken, luckily, barbecue sauce on table.
Show was very disjointed. Those of us in the back could not see many of the cowboy tricks, dance steps, etc.
The little girl doing the singing was very good and a high point. The main emcee, very pretty, and nice dresses, wore some kind of black leggings with feet cut out?
Story line cut in middle for dessert. When they came back did lots of nonsensical jokes, and more cowboy roping, stunts, etc. They finally got back to the story line, but, not over yet.
Show went on and on, ending around 10:30. It started at 6 pm. I would think children would be asleep by now or very bored.
Horse looked like it was on his last legs, though he did some clever stunts. I felt sorry for him.
Cowboy Andy is a world acclaimed cowboy with roping, shooting, knife throwing, etc. He should just do the show, not mix with so many other things.
This would have been better with more Direction, start earlier to see outside activities, better everything.
I did hear the day camp is wonderful.
Price was very high for this type event - $38.
This production reminded me of Jr High play, with no teacher input.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antietam_Recreation, Front Office Manager at Antietam Recreation, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate feedback whether positive or negative. Despite thousands of satisfied customers in our 40 years of history, it has remained important to us whether one individual’s experience is not enjoyable.

You can be assured that your comments will be carefully considered. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Illusion Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We went with family and friends to see the illusion show....AWESOME we were all impressed and WOWED. Definitely recommend for kids and adults! ! You wont be disappointed! !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antietam Recreation also viewed

 

Been to Antietam Recreation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antietam Recreation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.