We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13726 Oliver Drive, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“ok for a night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have come to like the Microtel chain for nice rooms and very cheap prices. This Microtel however made me realize they are not all up to the same standards. The staff was ok, very matter of fact, the bed was comfortable (pillow top) and the room was clean and cheap so for the 14 hours overnight on our travels we needed it, it served its purpose. It had free wifi but no business computer? if you need to print anything or look something up to do in the area you're SOL but luckily I could get basics on the Iphone. I noticed that the halls were hot as they didn't have the air on a just opened the windows letting in the humidity. I think they were trying to cut down on the electric bill as I also noticed that they never turned on the lights behind the front desk. We came in after a dinner and movie and thought they had left the desk unmanned,but then out of the darkness someone appeared. The floors and walls were some of the thinnest I've experienced and the continental breakfast was pretty lacking. I was reluctant when I saw that the bagels were being kept in Tupperware which to me means they are trying to get a lot of life from them. Tip: spend a little $$ and add a few extras, and personality sometimes it's the small things that bring people back, and please provide a small business area , desktop computer it's a pretty basic item nowadays.

Room Tip: Ask for a AAA price, under $60
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HagerstownMicrotel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. As you mentioned, we do offer free high-speed wireless internet, but we do not have a business center. Most people travel with laptops and tablets these days and hotel business centers usually end up becoming babysitters for kids who shouldn't be left alone. Our staff is always glad to print a document for you at the front desk or check you in for your next flight online. We don't always keep our back office lights on since the front office lights are plenty bright -- our staff can determine what they need in the evenings. I am seriously surprised our back office lighting and even our breakfast storage choices are being analyzed -- Tupperware is simply a storage container for keeping food overnight. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    62
    22
    36
See reviews for
109
74
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

When I made the reservation I was told $62.95 for my wife and kids. When I showed up at 11:15pm I was told that I never mentioned the kids. I was held hostage and was told that the cost would be $79 if I still wanted the room. I should have left but it was late. The guy at the front desk said there were too many people for the room and it violated the fire code. in order to "overcome" the fire code, it would cost me more. Are you kidding me?!? The front desk clerk was a scumbag and I should have left and punched him in the face. I wouldn't go here again if they gave me the room and a $100 bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HagerstownMicrotel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Let's just say that you can't put four people into a one-queen bed room. Nobody held you "hostage" -- you could have left if you didn't want to pay for a room that was large enough to accomodate your family. We want your stay to be comfortable as well as affordable. And you didn't pay to "overcome" the fire code -- you paid for a room that satisfied the requirements for safe occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was independence weekend so hotel rooms were all booked. They offered the last room which was a Jacuzzi room for $260+. We were tired so we bit the bullet.

IT was the most expensive room we've been so far but it also was the worst! The sheets had some bath salts which meant it wasn't replaced. The Jacuzzi sidings were peeling and the handles were falling apart.

For $260, I'd expect to at least have a very clean room, clean sheets and a working jacuzzi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HagerstownMicrotel, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I'm sorry that you feel like you overpaid but room rates are higher on holidays and the jacuzzi suite is usually the last room to sell. We ALWAYS replace the sheets, and if you would have asked us to change them again for you, we gladly would have promptly changed them. We are looking into your concerns about the jacuzzi handles. Thanks for your review and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown

Address: 13726 Oliver Drive, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hagerstown
#11 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel Hagerstown
Microtel Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.