We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep, Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18216 Col Henry K Douglas Dr, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Michael
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good sleep, Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Was looking forward to my stay as we had been there several years ago and it was better than I had remembered. My room was clean, roomy and quiet. The breakfast which included waffles and eggs with bacon or sausage was a great start to the day. I didn't need a password to get onto the wifi and enjoyed using the treadmill in the fitness center. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Since this is away from the Interstate, I suspect all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
Green Features: I am always glad to have my linens changed only when I think it is necessary.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am very happy to read the comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and amenities of our hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Best Regards,
Kathy Vrcic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
27
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Over the years, when in the area, this is my "go to" hotel as it fits my needs perfectly. The staff is always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable although slightly outdated. The rate is very good. The pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are inviting and well-equipped. The breakfast area is decent size and the breakfast is typical of Choice Hotels (not to fancy but filling). Definitely will stay again when in area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for the comments and hope to see you return soon to the Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown. I am happy to inform you that we have recently completed our renovations, and you will find fresh updated rooms on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best Regards,
Kathy Vrcic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Knew we were in trouble from the minute we arrived. Had made a reservation 2 months prior and they didn't have the reserved room for us. Now we have to try to get a refund for the difference from Expedia. Handicapped room was the one FARTHEST from the entrance and the pool. Lady taking care of the breakfast didn't speak to anyone and never smiled. Did not start the day off very pleasant. Air conditioner sounded like running water. Found out when we left that was defective. If you had it on 76 it was freezing, on 78 the heat was pouring out. 3 very large bugs in the bathroom when we arrived. Never could get the wifi to connect. Did not get any sorry, compensation or anything. Would never stay there or any Sleep Inn again. Had been on the road 11 nights and it was the most expensive and the worst hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We would like to let you know that we have completed a renovation in all of our rooms. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Best Regards,
Kathy Vrcic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The upside: This is one of the few pet friendly hotels in the area, and they don't charge a fortune in fees. (we paid 10.00 per pet). Everything was clean and smelled good. Bed was pretty comfy. We were on the back side of the building, and it was very quiet. AC unit was new and fairly quiet.

The downside: the "free wifi" did not work. The decor is dated. There was no extra blanket. The shower pressure was weak. The tv takes a long time when switching channels. This sounds like a very small problem, but try it! Pretty annoying. Very flimsy pocket door on the bathroom so not a lot of privacy sound wise!

All in all, we would stay here again but mainly because they allow pets.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I want to personally thank you for sharing your stay with us. I understand guest room presentation was a concern. I am happy to tell you that we recently renovated our guestrooms this year. I do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Hagerstown you will stay with us and provide feedback about our new guestroom experience; we would love to have you. Thank you!

Best Regards,
Kathy Vrcic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 9 pm and there were several people ahead of us to check in and there was only one desk clerk. Need less to say, we had a short wait to check in. The desk clerk was very friendly, professional and efficient, so the wait wasn't as long as I had expected. The facilities were clean and comfortable and recently remodeled. The comlimentary breakfast was good with adequate seating. The dinning area was a little cluttered with boxes from a shipment of kitchen supplies. The location was close to the interstate and to the outlet mall for shopping. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you had such a wonderful trip and stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Best Regards,

Kathy Vrcic
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay at this hotel location several times and each stay has been consistently peaceful and restful. I know that this is a chain property but the friendliness of the staff makes it stand out. They have the softest bath towels of any hotel I've stayed in. They bathrooms are well appointed with a nice big shower. The rooms are always spotless and the beds are soft yet supportive.

If you can request a room across the back of the hotel; it faces away from the highway and overlooks a farmers' pasture full of grazing sheep. As a hobby farmer it made being away from home a little easier to take.

One somewhat negative that is beyond their control; every time I check in here there is an older guest checking in that takes forever to complete the process and asks an endless list of questions about the free breakfast, the hours of operation of the pool, where they should park, etc.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel. It's not only further from the road but it overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments! You would be surprised by the number of guests who just walk in and say they are only here because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review and let our future guests know about our hotel. I am glad that you made our hotel your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit!

Best Regards,
Kathy Vrcic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent the night here last week. Excellent location, in the same parking lot as Cracker Barrel and Waffle House. Very safe and quiet. Our room was so clean and comfortable . I kept thinking that perhaps we were the first people to spend the night in this from. Bathroom was SPOTLESS!!!!!!! The staff was wonderful! Bedding and pillows were very comfortable. Very safe parking lot. A complementary breakfast is served in a very clean dining area and way very good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sismd133, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It means so much to us that you took the time out of your day to write a very nice review for our hotel. We thank you so much. I will share your kind words with the staff. They work very hard, and love to hear the positive feedback! Thanks again!

Best Regards,
Kathy Vrcic
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown

Address: 18216 Col Henry K Douglas Dr, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hagerstown
#4 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
#8 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Hagerstown
Sleep Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.