We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Family Friendly Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18216 Col Henry K Douglas Dr, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Always a Family Friendly Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years and have never had a bad stay. The staff is always friendly and helpful and check-in and check-out could not be easier. We meet family for long weekends of fun and shopping and just hanging about. We have reserved rooms with suites, as well as, connecting rooms that are perfect for multiple families and have never had a problem with the mechanics of the room or enough space to keep everyone happy. Being we live in an electronic world, finding enough outlets to charge everything means a scramble around the room, but no different than most hotels. The AC has always worked great; albeit some rooms louder than others, but it comes with the territory. Our rooms have always been very clean and well stocked, but as is usual with hotels that have a lot of traffic, they age and it begins to show first in the carpet. The beds are more comfortable than comparable type hotels and there are always extra pillows and blankets on the shelf. Each room has an in-room safe and you will be automatically charged for this service ... look for it on your bill. I believe it was a dollar or two, but if you tell them at check-out you did not use the safe and want the fee removed, they will kindly do so. Can't speak much on the television or cable services or such as we don't have time for television when we travel. We have never had a problem with hot water or plumbing issues. The rooms include mini fridges, microwaves and coffee pots for your convenience. We love having a fridge for keeping drinks chilled, and our last time, for storing ice cream cups for a birthday we were celebrating. While we "partied" in our connecting rooms, there is a large banquet room available for use on the first floor as we have witnessed baby showers, birthday parties, and church services taking place over the course of our stays. The continental breakfast which is included in the stay, is typical but is very well maintained here with a lady or two continually keeping the area tidy and re-stocked. Offerings include: make your own waffles, bagels, toast, muffins and danishes, fresh cut fruit, cereal, yogurt, jellies, cream cheese spreads, coffee and hot tea, and a selection of fresh fruit juices. The dining area is adequate compared to some hotels and the staff continually wipe down the tables and keep it nice. Outside the large windows you can watch goats in the adjacent field, or the television that somehow always finds its way on. If a served breakfast is more to your liking you won't mind at all walking across the parking lot to the Cracker Barrel. We have done so more than once ... not for breakfast, but for a late night meal or snack. But for us the best part of this hotel is the heated indoor pool and connecting hot tub. So many times we have had the entire pool to ourselves for hours at a time and it remains open until 10 or so making it extra nice. The hot tub last visit was way too hot and could not be enjoyed, but that was a first. Ample towels and bins to place them are always available. The pool area also looks into a large fitness room that offers a good selection of equipment and while visitors do use the facility, we have never seen it overly crowded. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, clean place to stay while in the area. Would advise calling ahead for reservations as it does stay busy. Nearby enjoy the shopping outlets, local mall, and a large open space shopping area just a short drive down I-81.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead when possible as they stay quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    59
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
34
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel has a friendly, courteous staff. The free breakfast was reall good. The swiming pool was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I am a travel nurse and have had the opportunity to stay in many different motels apartments and extended stays all over the states and the V.I.
I could not have been treated better at this motel from Kathy the GM to Carla in sales down to Julie the housekeeper and all the wonderful girls at the desk.
As for the room ,, clean, bed is comfortable, quiet, great place for a good nights sleep. Lots of pillows just to make you comfy. They allow your best four legged friends and have a nice area to walk them.
The breakfast is very generous and a nice area to eat.
The only thing I could ask for is a little more room since its a longer stay and Carla is working on that. So I hope soon to move to a larger room.
I would definately recommend this motel to others. For one night or for longer it meets all your needs. If there are any traveling nurses coming to this area I hope you will give Carla a call and enjoy your stay!!!!
Oh and another good thing it is close but away from the hussle and bussle and there is a Craker Barrel and several restraunts close by. And swimming pool and workout room :) :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

A small group of friends were riding from PIttsburgh, PA to Washington, DC and selected the Sleep Inn and Suites as our central location for the last 3 days of our trip. There is not much at this exit of the interstate and the hotel is located far enough off the exit that we were not bother by road noise. The staff were nice and the rooms were clean. The free breakfast was average but there is Cracker Barrel next door if you want a bigger breakfast. One of our group had a crazy TV that automatically turned on early in the morning but other than that there were no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

***** 5 stars all the way for this great hotel!! very clean and quiet stayed here with my brother he loved it. very close to resturants, the heated pool and spa is the best! staff here very friendly and professional, went out of their way to help us. the breakfast had lots of variety, the room was nice and clean fast internet tv got plenty of channels. normally it takes me a while to get to sleep but not here the beds are very comfortable with many pillows had no problem sleeping. I urge you to please stay at this hotel it topps the rest!

Room Tip: book a non smoking room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Sleep Inn. The first time was five years ago. The hotel does show some sign of wear in those five years.

Check-in was a breeze with Kathy at the front desk.

The rooms are adequate and typical for this brand. The sink area is a bit cramped with the wall-mounted hair dryer, toiletries, coffee maker etc. As in all hotels these days, there are never enough outlets for all our electronic gadgets to charge overnight, but we managed.

The room was clean except there were obvious dark-colored stains on the carpet and some tings that loooked like crumbs.

The bed was very comfortable. I usually have a hard time adjusting to a strange bed and sleeping well. Not here. The A/C was not noisy, which is a common problem at some places.

The hotel upgraded to flat screen Phillips HDTVs. However, the channel listings in the rather soiled information packet was woefully out of dtate. The front desk said new lineup cards were on order, and until they came I would have to watch the slow scroll TV guide channel. The other part of that is they actually have HD channels available on the higher channels but the front desk didn't seem to know that. The hotel also offers free WI-FI that was easy to use.

Back to the room, there is adequate area to hang clothes and the toilet/shower room is separated by a pocket door from the rest of the room.

The shower was certainly ample as was the water pressure and ease of use of the faucet, which allowed you to preset the temperature when you turnbed it on.

The hotel has a fitness room, indoor pool and hot tub, none of which we used, so I offer no comment on those amenities.

The continental breakfast has the typical morning fare, cereal, bagels, waffles and danish, plus coffee and juice.

The hotel is adjacent to the Cracker Barrell parking lot and Waffle House. The hotel is also very convenient to Antietam Battlefield and the Prime Outlet Mall with its assorted stores and restaurants.

Finally, checking out was just as easy with Keita.

Overall, this is a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We arrived at the Sleep inn and the reception was excellent. The accommodation was clean and very neat. The location was handy for nearby shops and the pool was an added bonus. The breakfast was good and there was a wide variety. I would recommend this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown

Address: 18216 Col Henry K Douglas Dr, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hagerstown
#4 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Hagerstown
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hagerstown
Hagerstown Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.