We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE WAY STATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81 to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18300 Peak Circle, Hagerstown, MD 21742   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Westminster, United States
1 review
“VERY NICE WAY STATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We needed a place to stay after a family wedding nearby. This was perfect. The staff was very helpful. They tolerated our family's mild partying in the lobby until quite late---nearly 2 AM! It was a most enjoyable experience! Were we in the area again anytime soon, we would not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs. We are happy to know that you and your family had a good stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    71
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
97
61
13
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed there twice. I liked it. Nice clean. Easy check out and check in. Close to highway. Great value for your points. I would be glad to stay another time. When I was there they were remodeling their lobby so I would expect it to be even better next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you had a great stay and we hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you are traveling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great Hampton Inn. Sets the bar/standard for others to follow. Clean room. FRESH Duvet cover (which I love about Hampton). Well appointed room. Easy Check In and Out. Good Value and right off of I-81 just north of Hagerstown and just south of the PA border. This hotel is good for travelers going any direction.
I don’t like Hampton's breakfast, but I don't like any buffet breakfasts, anyway. It’s gross to hover over food, jockeying for position in line, touching serving handles that have been touched by countless other people only to eat some food product that was microwaved/heated up. I much prefer a sit down breakfast with servers and cooked-to-order, BUT that’s just me. However, plenty of people took advantage of the breakfast and they seemed to be totally satisfied, but I wasn’t one of them.
Overall A+ experience here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for staying with us, and for taking time to write a review. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay, but sad to know that you don't enjoy eating the Hampton breakfast. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again the next time you are in the Hagerstown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at this Hampton Inn. A friend and I meet in Hagerstown twice a year with our daughters for a little reunion, and we decided to try this hotel for the first time. While it was good enough, I feel like the hotel could do a few small changes to make things so much better.

First, the good things: The place is very clean, check-in and check-out are as easy as can be, and the front desk staff were very helpful when we inquired about places to eat. They even provided us with a list of local restaurants, including directions to each place. Also, there is an indoor pool that our daughters thoroughly enjoyed. The beds were extremely comfortable, as I've come to expect from Hampton Inn.

Now the things they need to improve upon:

1) Something went very wrong at breakfast on our only morning there. They serve until 10:00, and we got down there about 9:15. They serve the normal things that a Hampton does, which I think is fine. However, they were running out of EVERYTHING and seemed unable to replenish. While it was busy with guests, it wasn't over-run with them - we were easily able to find a place to sit - so I don't know why they had so much trouble keeping the place supplied. They ran out of eggs, bacon, coffee, pastries, and FORKS, among other things. Families, including the friends I was with, were having to share one plastic fork between them. This is unacceptable in my opinion. Eventually, a manager-type person showed up and was able to get the breakfast area running smoothly again. She replenished everthing that the people running the breakfast area weren't able to: more food appeared, coffee was made, and she put out more forks and other plastic-ware. I heard her apologizing to people, saying that this never happens.

2) There are three floors and two elevators, but only one elevator seemed to be working both days that we were there. It wasn't a big deal, but it did make for longer waits and more full elevators.

3) We looked at the pool when we first got there, and there were plenty of towels in the pool area for guests to use. However, when we went to go swimming there at 9:00 that evening, there were no towels left. As I headed back up to our room to get some room towels, I decided to check the fitness room right next door first. Fortunately, there were towels there and I didn't have to go all the way back upstairs.

4) When we were walking down the hall on our floor the next morning, the cleaning people were already cleaning some of the rooms. The problem with this was that they had a vacuum plugged in on one side of the hallway, but they were vacuuming a room on the OTHER side of the hall. The cord was stretched across the hallway and was about 3 inches off the floor. I almost tripped over it. This is a safety hazard that I think they should avoid.

While I generally love Hampton Inns, this one did not measure up for me. I think they could make some small adjustments, though, and it could be as good as all the others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face I-81 if you want to avoid traffic noise. Not all rooms have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you found the facility clean, the Front Desk Staff helpful, and that you enjoyed the comfy beds and pool. We're not pleased however to know that you had issues with breakfast and housekeeping. We are taking steps to make sure these issues don't happen again. We appreciate your business and welcome all comments. If you are ever in the Hagerstown area again, I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arrived at 1:30 am, the front desk clerk was quick to do the registration process. Easy to get to the room. Very clean and well lit parking. The breakfast area is very nice but the breakfast was not as good as expected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your business and welcome all feedbacks. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean and cosy. Very good bedroom size. Perfect wi-fi. Breakfast although with not many options, tasty and well-done. Checkout was one of the fastest I have ever seen. Everything needed is there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that you had a great stay and we hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you re traveling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is our 4th stay here and although I've reviewed it before, I feel the need to post another one. This is still one of the best Hamptons I have ever stayed in, great breakfast, friendly and courteous staff, and the hotel is spotless! Rooms are quiet and recently renovated with flatscreen TVs. The beds are super comfortable. We were spending the day outlet shopping and while there are other hotels slightly closer to the Premium Outlets, this is the only place I will stay while here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VELROSE S, Manager at Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest thank you for your review of our hotel and making us your home away from home we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81

Address: 18300 Peak Circle, Hagerstown, MD 21742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hagerstown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
#5 Business Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than two miles from the Hagerstown Regional Airport and just off of I-81, the convenient location of the Hampton Inn Hagerstown I-81 hotel makes travel a breeze. Enjoy nearby shopping and dining, check out the local area attractions or head to town for a business meeting. Grab a free, hot breakfast each morning of your stay, enjoy the indoor pool, free WiFi, fitness center and more. Don't have time to sit and eat? Grab an On the Run Breakfast Bag before hitting the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - i-81 Hotel Hagerstown
Hagerstown Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hagerstown Maugansville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.