We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived by 6:00 p.m. and were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was very large compared to other hotels we've stayed in at similar price range. Room was clean too. Lots of food choices at free breakfast buffet including specialty items such as soy milk. Buffalo Wild Wings and Outback Steakhouse were super close walking distance. Other restaurants such as Olive Garden were a little farther walk. It was a quiet hotel. I prefer a higher thread count on sheets, but my son prefers a lower thread count so he was happy! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests. Thank you for mentioning the restaurants close by and for sharing your thoughts. We all hope you will choose to stay with us should you visit the area again.
Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
25
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had great service from everyone at the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is in a very convenient location. I would definitely stay here again whether I am in town for business or passing through on a family trip. All in all a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and the best of amenities.
Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Satisfied! Rooms were clean, comfortable beds and furniture. Plenty of room to move and spread out in bedroom. Love the fridge, microwave and bar sink in the room. Breakfast selection was good, warm/cold appropriate and well stocked. Pool was clean, hot tub was nice & hot. Well maintained location. Friendly service. Would definitely stay again here. Several restaurants within walking distance. Department/Drug stores conveniently around the corner from hotel. One thing to change in the room was the closed curtains did not close out the parking lot lighting at night, so the room was lit up while sleeping. Would like the option for full darkening curtains on the windows.

Room Tip: Join the IHG program to receive free night stays. If you want to sleep in, request the west side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again soon and if there is anything I can do personally to assist with a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us and Trip Advisor!
Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was surprised when I was walking down the hallway to be greeted by 2 pitbulls with heads bigger than basketballs. I was not thrilled not matter how well behaved they may have been. The smell of animals are throughout the hotel. I especially did not like how the animals were in the breakfast area when everyone was eating. There was a sign stating NO DOGS during breakfast but none of the staff enforced it. The pool and hot tub was nice. The rooms were clean and the beds were soft. The hotel was loud with parents due to having a softball game in town.

Room Tip: Ask for odd rooms they are not next to highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the dogs that were in our hotel and apologize if they were brought into the breakfast bar area. We are a pet friendly hotel however but we do not allow and will address the situation if dogs do show up in our breakfast area. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figeac, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Not much to fault about this apart from the cheap feel to the buffet breakfast. That said, it is a Holiday Inn Express? I didn't like the plastic cutlery and the polystyrene bowls for cereal. The room was comfortable, clean and huge. The bed was extremely comfortable to the point that you could choose the firmness of pillows!

Room Tip: Not too close to the ice maker ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express in Hagerstown, Md. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Travis k Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was on a trip with a group of veterans and had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn in Hagerstown MD. The hotel staff greeted our group of 60+ people and helped in delivering all of the luggage to the rooms. In addition they set up a hospitality room in the basement where the veterans could meet, talk and play cards. When we were ready to depart they brought in extra staff to collect the luggage and put it on the buses. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The rooms were good sized. Very clean and comfortable. Thanks again to the staff for making us feel so welcomed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests. We all hope you will choose to stay with us should you visit the area again.
Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here one night while traveling from Maine to Georgia with three dogs. We were pleasantly surprised to find such a nice hotel that was willing to accept dogs. The extra charge was reasonable as well - just $25. They keep all of the guests with pets in one area so they don't disturb other guests, which is nice. There's ample space around the property to walk the dogs but we didn't see a fenced area.

Room was up to date, clean, and very comfortable. We got a great night's sleep on a comfy king bed. Hot breakfast included with room was good but not outstanding. We'd recommend to anyone traveling with pets or those who want a comfortable, convenient stopping point on a road trip

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your most recent stay at our hotel and our pet friendly Hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.
Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.