We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As what you would expect from an HIE - well-kept, nice amenities, clean. It's kind of tucked away in an office park area -- my GPS routed me in a crazy way -- so don't be scared if yours seems to be sending you through a lot of parking lots! There are plenty of restaurants and other shops nearby and even though it's just off of 70 and 81, my room was quite quiet. If I was headed back through, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank You for the nice review and we would love to have you back again soon.
We love the feedback.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
20
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hagerstown Holiday Inn Express is a standard HIE place. It's close to the interstate but quiet. Several restaurants and other stores are within walking distance. Check-in was super fast, maybe two minutes. The entire hotel is very clean. The room was large enough so that the four of us didn't feel too cramped. No issues during our overnight stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our property and what we are close to and what we have to offer. I am so happy that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and that we provided a quick check-in and clean stay. Please come back and visit us again real soon.



Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stay at this hotel about two to three times a year while traveling on business. It is clean, comfortable, reasonablly priced, and within walking distance to a couple breakfast, lunch and dinner spots.
I was not at all pleased to see they changed to a pet friendly hotel a few years ago, but they mangage to keep it quiet.
My biggest complaint is the pool. They have no control over the pool. This is the second time staying here, that we went to relax in the pool, and kids were acting like out of control animals. This time was the worst. We were there at the pool on Friday night, Aug. 9, 2013, and there were several adults sitting around a couple tables having a birthday party, and their 12 & 13 yr. old kids were running, diving, splashing, throwing balls, and shooting water guns in and around the pool and Jacuzzi, out of control, and with no respect to others or any of the parents paying attention or caring about their behavior. Two elderly people entered the pool and were sadly bullied out by the ignorant and disrespectful actions of the kids, and their ignorant parents for just letting them act like animals and do nothing.
Very nice hotel, but they need to monitor the pool more, and stop all the craziness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for the feed back on our property and would like to offer you a sincere apology for the inappropriate use of our pool area. This has been addressed with my front desk team to ensure we monitor and control the misuse when the pool is being used. Our main goal is providing the best customer service possible and every guest should be able to enjoy the pool and relax with out kids running everywhere causing problems. Again apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and your family.I hope to have you all back again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, easy to get to and many stores and restaurants near by.
Has a very good free hot breakfast, friendly staff, nice pool and a great hot tub. Pillows where comfortable but the beds mattress was a little to hard for me. Also free Internet but was kind of slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about our property. We hope to have you all back again soon,

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My stay was good. It was located near shopping, gas stations and restaurants and it was easy to get back on 81. The people at the desk were very nice. They offer refreshments before you check in and breakfast before you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for the nice review, we strive excellence and love to hear feed back. We hope to have you back again soon.


Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Drive on...as in, drive to another exit and find a different hotel. We stopped at this hotel based mainly on the location being about halfway between our home and our destination. We found it using the HI Express mobile app, and did not have a reservation upon arrival.

First, the desk clerk at check-in was inattentive and inefficient to say the least. He acted almost put out to have to deal with a customer, and further bothered when asked to look up our priority points member number. To top it off, my wife had to ask him if we would get cookies and water because we were members, despite having just watched the other clerk freely offer those items to the customer checking in next to us.

Second, and even worse, the air conditioning in our room was terrible. Unfortunately we did not realize the problem until very late at night. When my wife mentioned the problem to the manager at the desk in the morning, he offered only a weak apology and a reply about replacing all of the units in the next few weeks.

We have stayed in HI Express hotels across the country over the past ten years, generally with good results. In all that time, we've never seen such poor service from front desk personnel on both ends of a visit. We will not stay at this one again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear RB94,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at Hagerstown, MD, on our way home to Upstate New York from a visit to North Carolina. Our traveling group include myself, my husband, his mother and our teen daughter.

Check in was quick and smooth. The clerk even worked to get us a discount that I had not noted when I made the reservation. Our room was easy to find, with good directions from the clerk. The room was very clean when we arrived. There is an Outback Steakhouse right next door, which was very convenient for supper.

The pool and hot tub area is very nice. The night we were there, there were over a dozen unattended teenage girls in the pool. Most were well behaved, and the few that were not -- well, that was not the fault of the hotel. Even with the large number of people using the pool, they kept the towels stocked. The water was a nice temp in both the pool and the hot tub.

Even though the hotel was fairly full/busy, we never did hear any noise once in our room. All of us were able to get a good night's sleep.

The breakfast area was busy, but food was plentiful and fresh with a nice selection.

Overall, a nice hotel at a decent price. We plan to stay here again on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I just wanted to take a brief moment to thank you for the wonderful feed back that you have provided which helps (not only) us get better but other guests who are looking for a place to stay know we work hard to provide a clean comforting hotel that guests need after a long day. We at the Express hope to have you and your family back again real soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.