We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, comfy beds, good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Bath
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, comfy beds, good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at Hagerstown, MD, on our way home to Upstate New York from a visit to North Carolina. Our traveling group include myself, my husband, his mother and our teen daughter.

Check in was quick and smooth. The clerk even worked to get us a discount that I had not noted when I made the reservation. Our room was easy to find, with good directions from the clerk. The room was very clean when we arrived. There is an Outback Steakhouse right next door, which was very convenient for supper.

The pool and hot tub area is very nice. The night we were there, there were over a dozen unattended teenage girls in the pool. Most were well behaved, and the few that were not -- well, that was not the fault of the hotel. Even with the large number of people using the pool, they kept the towels stocked. The water was a nice temp in both the pool and the hot tub.

Even though the hotel was fairly full/busy, we never did hear any noise once in our room. All of us were able to get a good night's sleep.

The breakfast area was busy, but food was plentiful and fresh with a nice selection.

Overall, a nice hotel at a decent price. We plan to stay here again on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I just wanted to take a brief moment to thank you for the wonderful feed back that you have provided which helps (not only) us get better but other guests who are looking for a place to stay know we work hard to provide a clean comforting hotel that guests need after a long day. We at the Express hope to have you and your family back again real soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
20
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgely, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for my daughters state gymnastics meet. Our Room was clean & comfortable. Fridge & microwave were nice. Pool area was great. Outback next door. Breakfast was yummy with many options. It was extremely busy with many other gymnastics families & the staff kept everything stocked.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the awesome feed back our goal here at the Holiday Inn Express in Hagerstown, Maryland is to ensure our guests feel welcome and at home. We strive for perfection and I hope to have you all back again soon.

Take Care,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago. The room rug was so dirty that (despite my best efforts to keep my children's shoes ON) when my littles had their shoes off before bed for a half hour, their feet were NASTY. We had to bathe them before we'd let them get in bed. Totally gross.

Breakfast was just ok. Most hotels we stay in have far superior breakfasts. We stayed at a Holiday Inn Express a couple of years ago and it was much nicer.

I will say guest svcs customer svc was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review, as the GM I take everything to heart and ensure you we make every effort to provide the cleanest room possible for our guests. I sincerely apologize if we fell short of your expectations during your visit with us. We hope you will consider visiting us again so we can provide a much better experience.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights - friendly staff - clean rooms and most important to me - Pet friendly.
The morning breakfast was much fuller than just continental, so great stay for the money.
Nice indoor pool too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Sara,

Thanks for taking the time for your feedback, we enjoy having pets as they are family too. We hope to have you back and your furry little friend too.


Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family and I travel from Atlanta to Syracue each year to visit family. We seem to enjoy driving 10 hours first day then 6 the next (it makes day 2 relatively "easy"). Stayed at this property two years ago. Clean, good service, & loved walking to dinner next door. Checked in earlier today and upon walking into room my wife and I were overwhelmed with the smell of urine odor particularly in the bathroom. Of course we asked for another room and Joni was super nice to help us move to a new room. When we walked into the new room my daughter found a few "stink" bugs in the bathroom. I'm no scientist but am guessing they are attracted to moist atmospheres. Not wanting to go 0 for 3 I went to the front desk and told them what happened. They were super nice and tried to accommodate by trying to move us to another floor. However, we just didn't feel like it was bug safe and also clean. The staff (Joni) gave us no trouble at all when we asked to cancel our stay and were sincere in apologizing. Felt a little bad in reaching that point but my family and I just didn't want to stay there after driving 10 hours and experiencing these unfortunate events. We checked into a nearby hotel and got a clean, bug free room where I am typing this from. There's probably someone out there who has a complaint about the veey same hotel I am sleeping in but for an extra $15 a night it's worth the peace of mind knowing it's clean and bug free. HIE is usually a safe bet but it wasn't tonight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear AtlantaPatrick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with the rooms. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel on our way back to Upstate New York. The rooms were very clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We had a flat screen t.v., mini fridge and microwave in the room. The free breakfast was pretty good. There were both hot and cold items and there were several different types of creamers for your coffee or tea. There is also an Outback and Buffalo Wild Wings within a 2 minute walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review we cant wait to have you back soon. Our surveys not only give insight to our guests on what we have to offer but also helps us run a better operation.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needed a decent place to stay that would allow our small dog, also. This looked good and was exactly halfway for both my friend and me. The hotel was clean and the room was very comfortable. Very convenient - right off the freeway and great restaurants within walking distance. The dog walking area was great. We even made a trip to a nearby casino! Totally enjoyable stay! We will be returning to this hotel any time we decide to meet halfway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at our hotel. As the GM it is my top priority to ensure all guests feel at home. We love having pets and glad to here you enjoyed our walking area and over all stay.

We cant wait to have you back again real soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.