We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed beyond normal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed beyond normal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family and I travel from Atlanta to Syracue each year to visit family. We seem to enjoy driving 10 hours first day then 6 the next (it makes day 2 relatively "easy"). Stayed at this property two years ago. Clean, good service, & loved walking to dinner next door. Checked in earlier today and upon walking into room my wife and I were overwhelmed with the smell of urine odor particularly in the bathroom. Of course we asked for another room and Joni was super nice to help us move to a new room. When we walked into the new room my daughter found a few "stink" bugs in the bathroom. I'm no scientist but am guessing they are attracted to moist atmospheres. Not wanting to go 0 for 3 I went to the front desk and told them what happened. They were super nice and tried to accommodate by trying to move us to another floor. However, we just didn't feel like it was bug safe and also clean. The staff (Joni) gave us no trouble at all when we asked to cancel our stay and were sincere in apologizing. Felt a little bad in reaching that point but my family and I just didn't want to stay there after driving 10 hours and experiencing these unfortunate events. We checked into a nearby hotel and got a clean, bug free room where I am typing this from. There's probably someone out there who has a complaint about the veey same hotel I am sleeping in but for an extra $15 a night it's worth the peace of mind knowing it's clean and bug free. HIE is usually a safe bet but it wasn't tonight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear AtlantaPatrick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with the rooms. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Thank you again for your review and we hope to serve you in the future.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
20
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel on our way back to Upstate New York. The rooms were very clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. We had a flat screen t.v., mini fridge and microwave in the room. The free breakfast was pretty good. There were both hot and cold items and there were several different types of creamers for your coffee or tea. There is also an Outback and Buffalo Wild Wings within a 2 minute walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review we cant wait to have you back soon. Our surveys not only give insight to our guests on what we have to offer but also helps us run a better operation.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needed a decent place to stay that would allow our small dog, also. This looked good and was exactly halfway for both my friend and me. The hotel was clean and the room was very comfortable. Very convenient - right off the freeway and great restaurants within walking distance. The dog walking area was great. We even made a trip to a nearby casino! Totally enjoyable stay! We will be returning to this hotel any time we decide to meet halfway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at our hotel. As the GM it is my top priority to ensure all guests feel at home. We love having pets and glad to here you enjoyed our walking area and over all stay.

We cant wait to have you back again real soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here and enjoyed our visit. The rooms were clean. We enjoyed the pool. The shower was nice - very high pressure for a hotel. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn. Very convenient location - right off the interstate. It was also nice that there were good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank You for taking the time for sharing our hotel and what we have to offer. As the GM I love hearing the feed back as to which it helps us improve in all areas.

We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Take care,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stay here when go skiing at Whitetail resorts in Pa. The ski slopes are a little more than 20 minutes away, but the hotel is clean and has a welcoming feeling to it. As. Prime member, free to join, cookies and bottled water are free when picking up your keys.
The location is good and popular restaurants are within walking distance. The front staff is friendly and even called our room once we settled in to see if we needed anything. The pool area was clean and after driving or skiing, is nice to unwind in. The hot tub however, had a greenish yellow tint to it, no,.. Not what you're thinking. We called the front desk and they say they've drained and replaced the water several times.. It was malodorous, so we just kept our head/face out of it... As is common practice with all community hot tubs.
We'll stay again.

Room Tip: Join the prime club, points add up over time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for a for taking the time to share your experience with our Hotel. We love to hear the wonderful feed back and comments not only helping us to get better but also to our future guests who are looking for a nice family vacation away from home. We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Best wishes,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I are over the road truck drivers leased to FedEx Ground out of Hartford, Ct, we are on the road over 250 days a year. We also travel with two German Shepherds, so when we need a hotel to stay at, it needs to be not only clean, with truck parking but, most important, pet friendly. On March 5th, 2013, FedEx Ground had no work for us in Hagerstown and with the incoming storm, we decided to stay in a hotel. I called the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Candy Owens was very professional and polite on the phone and also at the front desk. Our two day stay here was above expectations, the gym was an added bonus along with the discount at the Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant adjacent to the facility, which Candy explained to us. I recommend the establishment to anyone traveling to the Hagerstown area,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank You so much for the feed back it is our goal to provide the best possible customer service ensuring our guests feel at home away from home. It makes me extremely happy to read customer reviews that shows we are doing things right.
As the GM I cant wait to have you and your family back again real soon and I will definitely give Candy at the front desk Kudos for taking such good care of you and your family.

Take Care,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for the first time last Friday en route to Florida. Weather forecast caused us to make last minute plans and we feel fortunate to have spent our first night here. The hotel was very conveniently located to the Interstate. Room was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Our first floor location near the side exit made walking our dog very easy and the grounds were great for that, too. Staff was helpful and courteous. Nearby Outback Steakhouse was perfect on a cold, wintery night. And breakfast buffet was nicely stocked and well managed. A top notch experience in all ways.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are convenient for those traveling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review, it wonderful to hear we made your stay a great experience and as the GM I couldn't be happier seeing your comments. We love to make our guests feel right at home and give them a comforting stay. We hope to have you back again soon and thank you for a wonderful/ helpful review for all to see.

Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.