We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reliably good and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stay here when go skiing at Whitetail resorts in Pa. The ski slopes are a little more than 20 minutes away, but the hotel is clean and has a welcoming feeling to it. As. Prime member, free to join, cookies and bottled water are free when picking up your keys.
The location is good and popular restaurants are within walking distance. The front staff is friendly and even called our room once we settled in to see if we needed anything. The pool area was clean and after driving or skiing, is nice to unwind in. The hot tub however, had a greenish yellow tint to it, no,.. Not what you're thinking. We called the front desk and they say they've drained and replaced the water several times.. It was malodorous, so we just kept our head/face out of it... As is common practice with all community hot tubs.
We'll stay again.

Room Tip: Join the prime club, points add up over time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for a for taking the time to share your experience with our Hotel. We love to hear the wonderful feed back and comments not only helping us to get better but also to our future guests who are looking for a nice family vacation away from home. We hope to have you and your family back again soon.

Best wishes,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
24
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I are over the road truck drivers leased to FedEx Ground out of Hartford, Ct, we are on the road over 250 days a year. We also travel with two German Shepherds, so when we need a hotel to stay at, it needs to be not only clean, with truck parking but, most important, pet friendly. On March 5th, 2013, FedEx Ground had no work for us in Hagerstown and with the incoming storm, we decided to stay in a hotel. I called the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Candy Owens was very professional and polite on the phone and also at the front desk. Our two day stay here was above expectations, the gym was an added bonus along with the discount at the Buffalo Wild Wings restaurant adjacent to the facility, which Candy explained to us. I recommend the establishment to anyone traveling to the Hagerstown area,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank You so much for the feed back it is our goal to provide the best possible customer service ensuring our guests feel at home away from home. It makes me extremely happy to read customer reviews that shows we are doing things right.
As the GM I cant wait to have you and your family back again real soon and I will definitely give Candy at the front desk Kudos for taking such good care of you and your family.

Take Care,
Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for the first time last Friday en route to Florida. Weather forecast caused us to make last minute plans and we feel fortunate to have spent our first night here. The hotel was very conveniently located to the Interstate. Room was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. Our first floor location near the side exit made walking our dog very easy and the grounds were great for that, too. Staff was helpful and courteous. Nearby Outback Steakhouse was perfect on a cold, wintery night. And breakfast buffet was nicely stocked and well managed. A top notch experience in all ways.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are convenient for those traveling with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review, it wonderful to hear we made your stay a great experience and as the GM I couldn't be happier seeing your comments. We love to make our guests feel right at home and give them a comforting stay. We hope to have you back again soon and thank you for a wonderful/ helpful review for all to see.

Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in January with my fiance on a business trip. I tried Homewood Suites on my last trip and thought I'd try Holiday Inn this time because I prefer Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean and spacious. Compared to Homewood, the room was smaller. It is a single room suite. Homewood is a two room suite. The kitchen at Holiday Inn is a small refridge and a few plates with a coffee maker. Homewood is a full kitchen. The breakfast is ok especially to be free. I liked Homewood's better. The price was comparable to Homewood. The gym is one of the better I have seen at a hotel. I would recommend asking for a room not on the 1st floor. We were room 124, which is right across from the gym and right by the lobby where breakfast is served. Needless to say, it is pretty noisy. I am not giving Holiday Inn a bad review. It was a nice hotel (notice the 4 star rating I gave). I would stay here again. But I prefer Homewood, which is right next door. Either one will do though.

Room Tip: Pick a room not on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a nice response about our hotel. We appreciate the feedback which helps our future guests know what we have to offer and to show that the team here at the Holiday Inn Express care deeply and work hard to make our guest feel welcome.
We hope to have you and your fiance back again soon.

Take Care,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our room was clean, and the front desk service was friendly and efficient. We stayed in the whirlpool suite, and it was great. The breakfast was one of the best complementary hotel breakfasts that we've ever had - lots of variety and well-staffed. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank You for the wonderful feedback about our Hotel. We appreciate the feedback letting our future guests know how clean our rooms are and how nice our compementary breakfast is. Our staff works hard and puts great pride in their efforts daily to ensure our guests are comfortable and feel right at home. We would love to have you and your family back again soon and look forward to seeing you again.

Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great facilities. Big rooms, good pool, small but nice jacuzzi/hot tube and great common room for breakfast and lounging. Small gym nice too. Staff friendly. In the middle of running malls. Especially good for pooch toting travelers. Note: the booking sites are listing pets allowed at hotels that wont have them. This one will! Reasonable 25. fee. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank You for the the comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor... We appreciate the great feedback which allow our guests to see that we are a pet friendly hotel and that we aim to please and make our guests feel welcomed and right at home. We cant wait to have you back again soon.

Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nearing the end of our journey from LA to NY with dog, we chose this Holiday Inn because the nearby Best Western, the chain we thought was 100% pet friendly, wasn't pet friendly in this location. The switch to Holiday Inn worked well. The room was comfortable and well-outfitted with fluffy pillows, good mattress and clean white bedding. There was also free wi-fi and a big desk and desk chair. The parking lot abutted a number of food chains and that was very welcome on a rainy blustery night. Breakfast was a buffet with a wide selection to satisfy all proclivities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We at the Holiday Inn Express are grateful for your comments and would love to have your family and pets back anyday. Best wishes through the Holiday Season.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.