We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a good location in Hagerstown off I70” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
St Charles, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a good location in Hagerstown off I70”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location in Hagerstown, stayed there while in town on business. Room was ready when I arrived and upgraded because of my Platinum Priority Club level. I always appreciate when I am given a bottle of water when I arrive especially after a long drive from northern PA. Room was clean and on higher floor as I prefer with microwave, small refrig and coffee maker. Desk clerk, Candy was very professional and helpful with recommendation of local eateries and discount coupon. Hotel is located next to Outback Steak House and Buffalo Wild Wings (walking distance) or you can go a little more down the street for a Sakura's and other restaurants. Surrounded by shopping centers and other places to eat on a short drive. Hotel offers nice breakfast with some variety and fresh fruit. Also has pool and fitness center. Would definitely stay there next time I'm in Hagerstown but would prefer a room in front and not over the room heating system but did not effect my sleep. Good choice on business trip this week and convenient to work location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank You so much for the wonderful review and pointing out all the great places to eat with in our area and giving sone good feedback about our facility. As the GM it's my goal to ensure that all guest's are able to relax and feel right at home. Your review will help other travelers get a better idea of what we have to offer and that we aim to please. On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express I thank you again and would love to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
25
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a very attractive HIE with a superb breakfast area. The room was very clean and attractive. The staff was courteous and helpful. After a long day of travels, this was a great place for our stop-over before heading back on the road the next morning. The breakfast spread had a multitude of hot and cold choices - and it was a great way to start the day. The walking convenience to the Outback Steakhouse and Buffalo Wild Wings was appreciated after a long day in the car. You won't go wrong staying here - I would rate it as much nicer than a typical Holiday Inn Express but also a little pricier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Ms. Cindy Collie,

Thank You for the comments on Trip Advisor. The team at the Holiday Inn Express appreciate your feedback so we can continue to aim for excellence ensuring our guests are right at home and are relaxed and rested for their stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast bar and we would love to have you and your family back again soon.

Sincerely,
Travis K Swatsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect for anyone staying in the Hagerstown area. The hotel was clean and the service friendly. I was welcomed as a Platinum member. The breakfast was good and was all that I needed to start my day. There is an Outback Steak House and a Buffalo Wild Wings next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steelers90, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Mr Akron,

Thank You for being a Platinum member and thank you for the wonderful review from your stay at our hotel. We hope to have you back again soon and appreciate the feed back on how pleasant your stay was. We at the hotel strive for comfort and relaxation for our guests and positive feed back is a huge morale booster for all. Thanks again and hope to have you back soon.

Travis K Swatsworth,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at the HI Express in Hagerstown in July and absolutely could not have been happier with the service. Unlike most chains - and we've experienced them all - who advertise a complementary breakfast, this one truly delivers a meal that gets your day started right!
The staff was courteous and competent and you could just tell the culture of the hotel was one of professionalism that comes from the manager(s) of the hotel. This is truly what a travel hotel should be like!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steelers90, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You for the wonderful feed back for our hotel, this review is helpful to our guests and very important to my staff in which I shared with them and myself as the GM am very pleased knowing that we made a difference in your stay. We strive for guest satisfaction and hope that you stop in again soon when you are in the area.

Travis K Swatsworth
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was like other HIEs, efficient, clean and convenient. We travelled through with our dog and could not fine one restaurant with a patio that allowed dogs. NOT ONE! Even the Bullalo Wild Wings next door( which under normal circumstances couldn't attract me even with a free meal) said no to a dog on their outside accessed patio. We called a dozen places with outdoor eating and all were a negative. Find a town with a more progressive attitude when sailing through Md.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steelers90, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You for your review and I too have pets and as part of the family love to take them with us on trips. That's why we openly accept pets and love to have them at the Holiday Inn Express in Hagerstown, Md. It's a little dissappointing as the GM when we strive for 5 star ratings and try to give the best customer satisfaction to all our guests and to recieve a 3 star rating do to outside forces. We hope to have your family back soon along woth your pets and I will research on which restaurants are pet friendly.

Travis K Swatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel was clean, located in a safe area, and had a pretty good breakfast offering. The lobby area was very nice as it was adjacent to the breakfast area. We were there for a softball tournament, and it was nice to have a place where the team could meet that was spacious and comfortable. The decor was very nice also. The breakfast buffet was good except for the make-it-yourself pancakes.....definitely NOT worth the wait. What was good was the fruit cups, coffee, bagels, eggs, and yogurt. Many of the families took advantage of the pool and fitness room. I would recommend this hotel. The staff were friendly, the place was clean, the food was good, and it was located near many restaurants that you could walk to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steelers90, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Mrs. Shelly D,

Thank You so much for the wonderful review this was very helpful to not only our guests but to our staff as well. We aim for guest satisfaction to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all and cant wait to have you all back next year.

Travis K Swatsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a shame that we could not stay here with our friends who had checked in earlier. Unfortunately, by the time we checked in, all that was left were moldy smelling rooms. We are not sure what the source of the odor was,(maybe a faulty AC and venting unit?) but it was intolerable. We were moved to another hotel, which I might add was beautiful, Homewood Suites (across the street). I wouldn't rule out this hotel completely, but would check the room before handing over your credit card.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear beachmama57,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the fouls smell on the room. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown

Address: 241 Railway Lane, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Hagerstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hagerstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers all the modern comforts at our affordable hotel exuding luxury through beautifully decorated rooms. Each spacious, moderately priced room and suite offer ample amenities, including whirlpool spa suites, a fitness room, complimentary HSIA, indoor pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast and an executive meeting center. Seeing is believing! We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 at exit 5A, just 1/2 mile north of Interstate 70 and close to three major airports (IAD, BWI, DCA). We are just 1 hour to Baltimore and 1.5 hours to Washington DC, and major companies such as Citicorp, First Data, JLG/Oshkosh, Staples, Volvo (Mack), Manitowoc/Grove, Washington County Hospital are just minutes away. You'll enjoy easy access to restaurants, Prime Outlets and Valley Mall shopping, and attractions such as Maryland Theater, Antietam National Battlefield, C&O National Historic Park, Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown Suns, Charlestown Raceway, Whitetail Ski Resort and much more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the perfect hotel for tour groups, wedding groups, small business conferences, or a just weekend getaway. You will love our AAA Three Diamond Award-winning hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown Hotel Hagerstown
Holiday Inn Hagerstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.