We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious crab nachos and sangria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Del Sol

Cafe Del Sol
1481 Salem Ave, Ste 1, Hagerstown, MD 21740-3571
301-790-0952
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 195 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious crab nachos and sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been looking to try more local restaurants instead of chain restaurants, so I visited Cafe del Sol with a friend after looking up the top restaurants here on Trip Advisor. Thanks everyone because we were not disappointed! The white sangria at this place is some of the best I have ever had. We also had wonderful crab nachos - they weren't really "nachos," per se, but they were fantastic. I had a 10" pizza and it was great - the crust was very fresh - and I had plenty leftover to bring home for another day! I am looking forward to going back and trying something else from the menu, which had so many options that sounded delicious. Our service was also great - our waitress seemed a little tired but she was very attentive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Nachos Weren't Nachos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Oh my is this place good. My wife and I visited on our way back from Ocean City to West Virginia and looked up top places to eat on Trip Advisor that weren't far from the highway. It was difficult to find at first, but goodness was it worth the extra minutes figuring out its location. It's set back from the road in a small strip mall-like building. Not what I think of when I want great food, but the edifice does no justice to the interior. It's modern setting is casual and inviting and the food....the food was really good. We ordered crap nachos as an appetizer, but the nachos were actually homemade potato chips. We had just come back from the beach and this was the best seafood we had on the trip. I had a portobello mushroom salad that was awesome and my wife's Cabo sandwich was so large she could barely fit it in her mouth. Great food and we'd definitely stop here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty Food off of an Extensive Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Early Sunday evening dinner with my wife and a few relatives. The restaurant sits in a very unassuming storefront which borders a mostly residential neighborhood. The menu covers everything from pasta to pizza to paninis to Mexican to seafood. We had a crab nachos appetizer that was very good. Our entrees included an excellent turkey wrap, a really nice panini, and two huge calzones. Very reasonably priced and above average service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint and Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stopped at the Cafe del Sole on our way back from Florida. I had chose the place from the reviews on Tripadvisor.

We arrived there at lunch time. It was packed. Good indication? Maybe.

We had to wait to order because it was so busy. We ordered a pizza along with a salad (our time was limited because we were on the road). The pizza took a looooooooong time. We waited and waited. If you are in a rush, pick another restaurant.
When we got our salad it was delicious. When we got our pizza it was likewise delicious.
If you have the time, try this restaurant. It is worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Barely more than fast food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It felt like fast food with table service. Food was fast food quality, drinks watered down service barley standard and plastic feeling. Would never go back

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Sol also viewed

Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Cafe Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.