We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EL RANCHERO

EL RANCHERO
1481 Wesel Blvd, Hagerstown, MD 21740
+1 240-420-2842
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 195 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good but not unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

El Ranchero is a nice place. The staff is friendly and the menu is exensive and affordably priced. I had the chicken taco salad and it was delicious - everyone in the group of four that I was with enjoyed their meal and who doesn't love free tortilla chips, really. There isn't anything that sets this restaurant apart as unique, but there isn't anything that makes it bad. We would have dinner here again!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“UMMMM!!! GOOD!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great Mexican lunch. Only complaint was the salsa was just so-so. Service was wonderful and lunch specials were excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A must visit if you like Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been wanting to try here ever since it opened and boy were we not disappointed. Pretty extensive menu with lots of options. Really appreciate that the prices are very reasonable as well.
If you like seafood that highly recommend the shrimp and crabmeat chimichanga, just fantastic! Of course gotta love the endless chips and salsa that is on the table.
Service was very good; friendly and always made sure our drinks were never left empty for long. Also restaurant is spacious, bright and has a family friendly atmosphere.
Jus wish we were so full from dinner that we could have tried dessert but great excuse to make a return visit...which will be in the very near future.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Suprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Moving to a new town, finding a decent Mexican spot was a must. After finding El Ranchero, I was not disappointed. The service was quick and polite and the food was better than expected. For the price, I could not ask for much more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We've been coming to this restaurant for years and have never had a bad experience. The food is always good, fresh and served hot. The prices are very reasonable. If you like mexican food, you really cannot go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL RANCHERO also viewed

 
 

Been to EL RANCHERO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EL RANCHERO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.