We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and inexpensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EL RANCHERO

EL RANCHERO
1481 Wesel Blvd, Hagerstown, MD 21740
+1 240-420-2842
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 200 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Best Mexican food of hagerstown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good and inexpensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my fourth time here and I love the shredded chicken taco salad! I kids menu is good. Service was good. Price was great. All of our food came out jot and seemed fresh. No complaints from us, just get there early because the place was packed by 5:30pm on a Saturday night

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for girls' night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

$1.99 margaritas on Monday make a great way to start the week! Typical Mexican menu, flavorful food and good service. Plus free chips and salsa to munch on while you wait.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Downhill since the move”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This use to be by far for me family and friends the best Mexican food around for the money. Since they moved to their new location on Wesel Blvd. the quality and quantity of the food has dropped drastically. The salsa is not consistent, now it tastes like plain tomato sauce with no spice, three different visits, three different tastes. Other friends agree. Trust me, I know Mexican food and it does change each time you make salsa but this is not normal for them. All the years of enjoying a consistent menu is gone. One visit the fajitas came out sizzling on the plate burnt and dried up (the manager caught it as they were serving it to me and took it back before I said a thing) to the next visit with barely cooked peppers and onions and ZERO flavor.on the skillet all watered down. My husband loves the carnitas, well now the dinner portion is barely as big as the lunch used to be AND half the meat was fat! I can't understand unless because of the move that they lost their good cooks but it's a shame. Sounds like most people we talk to say the same thing. It's so sad. We all think twice about going here unlike before it was nothing to go twice a week or every week with friends for lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and marguritas... And staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The marguritas here are THE BEST in Maryland! The food is awesome, from chimichanga to sizzliing fajitas. Its all good. The staff are friendly smiling Mexicans. Very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

El Ranchero is a great place for Mexican food. They are very consistent and always try to appease the customer. The best part is the food is always hot when it reaches the table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL RANCHERO also viewed

 
Hagerstown, MD
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to EL RANCHERO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EL RANCHERO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.