We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to eat.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown

Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown
1705 Massey Blvd., Hagerstown, MD 21740
+1 301-302-8050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 198 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Description: Family friendly restaurant. Famous for our chilis: Texas, Terlingua, Cincinnati, and Vegetarian. The Texas grilled wings were voted best wings by WTOP listeners. Fresh 1/2 lb burgers with fresh cut fries. Steaks and slow cooked ribs too. Many salad selections. Something for everyone. Sports bar showing all the games all the time. Play billiards on any of the Brunswick billiard tables. Free billiards every day from 11am-5pm with minimum purchase. Live entertainment in the Cue every Friday and Saturday night. Large stage and viewing area.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok place to eat.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went after finding a nearby restaurant had closed for business. Hard Times was almost empty so had a quiet dinner. Food was ok.......nothing to rave about. But am not knocking it either. I had Chili Bubba (corn bread, chili, onions, & sour cream) and I thought it was good. 4 different chili's to choose from. GF had salmon dinner and she was pleased with it. Good place if you like chili. Is mainly a burgers, chili, beer & pool place. Would have probably been better on a weekend night as I know Hard Times can get packed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great people and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have visited this establishment a few times now and have been very satisfied every time! The staff are all very nice and quick to answer any questions! We really enjoy coming here! I have tried several different items and have liked each one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best burgers ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel staff recommended this restaurant, and from the outside, it doesn't look fancy - it has a very plain front and is in a shopping center, so easily missed. If you are in the area and love a big, home cooked burger and an exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, this is the place to eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't bother if you are really hungry!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant and waited several minutes for the server. When the server arrived we had already decided on drink and food orders so we told her what we wanted. After 20 minutes our appetizer arrived. At 45 minutes I started to ask where our food was, especially the entree for the 9 year old in our party. Meanwhile the table next to us had eaten their appetizers and were well in to their entrees - and they arrived 15 minutes after us! I think the most disturbing part was that the manager said that since we ordered a burger, that the food took longer to cook. Instead of sympathizing with the paying customers, the manager was quick to turn the tables making it seem that their actions were completely normal and in a way, our fault. Really? Don't go to this restaurant if you are really hungry or if you have children, unless you plan on waiting. No discount, no sympathy for the customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnmd, Owner at Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback as it helps us to continually improve. The variety of our menu is such that chili entrees are ready in 5 minutes but well done hamburgers take much longer. With regard to your concern, we investigated and did find a timing error with your entree order. We have addressed the error with the staff.
Again, thank you for pointing out our mistake. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Place for Burgers and Chili”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

One of the better places in Hagerstown to get a good burger and a cup of chili. They have a great game room with lots of pool tables in the rear. Staff is very friendly and the quality is excellent. Give them a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnmd, Owner at Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. My husband and I are the local owners and we are so glad that you enjoy yourself at Hard Times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown also viewed

 

Been to Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Times Cafe - Hagerstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.