We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Kobe

House of Kobe
757 Dual Hwy, Hagerstown, MD 21740-5908
301-797-6979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 207 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Description: Email: info@thehouseofkobe.com Phone: (301)797-6979
Restaurant details
Description: Email: info@thehouseofkobe.com Phone: (301)797-6979
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The HOUSE OF KOBE provides an entertaining dining experience. First thing to realize is that your conversation will be limited to those next to you since you are seated around a grill.

1) Food was of high quality as was evidenced when the chef brought it to the grill. The steak, shrimp, salmon, and tuna were perfect. Likewise the vegetables were fresh and cut ready for the grill.
2) The fried rice was prepared first with a display of theatrics as the chef used his cooking utensils to toss one of the eggs in his hat
3) The vegetables were next and they were plentiful and delicious
4) The various entrees followed with the steak and tuna prepared as ordered and my shrimp were perfect
5) Sushi portions were plentiful and flavorful

Overall the experience is worth the trip to the HOUSE OF KOBE though some redecorating hopefully will be in the future to spruce the atmosphere up

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food but dated interior. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I ate here for last weekend and had a great time. The food was well done and the chef was very entertaining. We had a party of 7 and all enjoyed there meal. The prices were reasonable and the staff prompt and friendly. The only down side was that the room was dated but I would rather have that then poor food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Among the best Hagerstown can offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

When I lived in nearby,I ate at Kobe every month. Now I always make a point of eating here every time I return. I feel like I raised my kids in this restaurant. I developed into a more adventuresome eater because of The House of Kobe- right after it opened. In order to get Hagertownians to know and love sushi, the Harai Family offered a platter to anyone not already a fan. That hooked me.
To this day, I have not been served a better Asian salad than their standard Japanaese salad with cabbage and rice noodles and a ginger dressing. The tonkatsu is crisp and juicy and perfect. Various teriaki offerings are great. Thehabachi table chefs are the usual comic, adept masters of flashing knives and flying shrimp. Give it a try, please.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Collossal portions, less than average quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This must be the most disappointing japanese restaurant we have ever dined. We have been dining japanese in Japan, HK, Australia, New Zealand, Paris, London, Amsterdam, Dusseldorf and others but this one did not match at all.
Sushi and sashimi starter quite tasteless. Chefs behind sushi counter were watching tv !
Shrimp and vegetable tempura platter enough to feed an elephant. We left more than half to return to the kitchen. Very banal decor and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super Fresh Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff is great and the sushi is always extremely fresh. The hibachi table is fun too if you go with a group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Kobe also viewed

 

Been to House of Kobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Kobe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.