We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than you'd expect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
102 Railway Ln, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6912
301-393-8680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 194 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Been in Hagerstown for over 8-9 years now, can't believe its not listed.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Better than you'd expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I just relocated from LA and let's face it, aside from NYC and Japan itself, you probably aren't going to find better sushi on the planet. So let's just say my standards are very high. I've been sampling places in the Hagerstown/Frederick area and while none can live up to Little Tokyo in Los Angeles, Sakura presents some wonderful combinations of flavors at reasonable prices for the area. It doesn't taste like cheap sushi but doesn't break your bank either! My first visit to them was a little disappointing, got my standard Rainbow Roll and it was a bit skimpy and the fish wasn't as fresh I would've hoped. Decided to give it a second chance a month later and went for two rolls of their own creating - that's when the wow factor kicked in. They have a roll on their appetizer menu wrapped in cucumber in a light broth that is utterly refreshing. Take the risk and order one of their unique rolls if you want to get all you can out of Sakura.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great food and sushi was fresh and delightful. The service was great and the location was easily accessible.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family and I have been going to Sakura's for years. We started when they were a few buildings down in a smaller place.

My family like the sushi and I prefer the habachi. No matter what we order, the food is always both visually appealing and excellent tasting. They periodically add or delete some of the items to keep it fresh. The prices are reasonable for a Japanese Steak house and definitely worth the price.

The habachi side of the restaurant is entertaining and has plenty of seating for couples or families. The other side of the restaurant is typical, tables and booths. The decor is nice and fits the restaurant well. Everything is in excellent condition.

The waitstaff is always courteous and come by the table often to check on things.

We go about once a month and for special occassions. It is definitely worth the time and money to go!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The service was good and fast. The food was great for the price, both the noodles and the sushi. If you're in the mood for Japanese, especially if you don't just want sushi, you can't go wrong here!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good sushi and shrimp tempura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good location in Hagerstown, open for lunch with good sushi and shrimp tempura. Service was fast, waitress was nice and the food tasted good. I learned that each Sakura has sushi prepared per locale because my local has one called Baltimore which they didn't have. Lunch prices was average for sushi.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.